Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive NDE Data !
EVIDENCE OF THE AFTERLIFE is a break-through book in the area of afterlife research in general and near-death studies in particular. Not only is Jeffrey Long a careful scholar, but he and Jody Long have amassed the largest collection of near-death experiences (NDEs) ever. Their collection also includes the largest group of non-English-speaking NDEs ever.

When...
Published on Feb. 3 2010 by K. R. Vincent

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read but..
I wish there were more content, the stories were fun to read, I wanted more! It would of been nice if it was a bit more scientific and philosophical. Perhaps interviews with people studying this phenomenon. I guess I will have to look elsewhere for more depth.
Published 12 months ago by Sci-fy lover.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive NDE Data !, Feb. 3 2010
By 
K. R. Vincent "Ken R. Vincent" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evidence Of The Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences (Hardcover)
EVIDENCE OF THE AFTERLIFE is a break-through book in the area of afterlife research in general and near-death studies in particular. Not only is Jeffrey Long a careful scholar, but he and Jody Long have amassed the largest collection of near-death experiences (NDEs) ever. Their collection also includes the largest group of non-English-speaking NDEs ever.

When it comes to research, there is no substitute for data! My own near-death book, VISIONS OF GOD FROM THE NEAR DEATH EXPERIENCE, is fairly typical with 75 of my own cases plus accounts from other sources. Near-death books generally range from one case study to a little over 100 cases, but Dr. Long's book is based on over 1,300 cases from the [...] website. His book especially focuses on 613 NDErs who completed the most current edition of the Near-Death Research Foundation survey, in addition to giving their personal account of their near-death experience. Dr. Long's scale included questions to detect fraudulent accounts, but over the past 10 years, he reported less than 10 false accounts.

Based on his research, Dr. Long concludes, "NDEs provide such powerful scientific evidence that it is reasonable to accept the existence of an afterlife." He goes on to offer nine "proofs" of afterlife, including 1) Lucid Death (NDErs report increased alertness and consciousness), 2) Out-of-Body Experiences (NDErs provide evidence from verifiable experiences), 3) Blind Sight (NDErs blind from birth report a form of "vision" during their NDEs), 4) Impossibly Conscious (NDErs report experiences while under anesthesia), 5) Perfect Play-back (NDErs report life reviews that include experiencing the feelings of others), 6) Family Reunion (NDErs report seeing dead relatives, including people unknown to them who were identified to them later by viewing family photographs), 7) From the Mouths of Babes (NDErs who are children have every NDE element of older NDErs, and this is true whether the account is told during childhood or from an adult who had the experience in childhood), 8) Worldwide Consistency (NDErs who are non-English-speakers from Dr. Long's database form the largest collection of cross-cultural NDEs and provide evidence that NDEs are the same all over the world), and 9) Changed Lives (NDErs report that their lives are changed as a result of their NDE, and the majority report a change for the better).

Dr. Long concludes that the evidence convinces him that afterlife exists. I think the general population will agree with him, but my personal opinion is that most skeptics will require proof from physics on how God communicates with us, how consciousness survives death, and where the dimension of reality that is afterlife is located. Nevertheless, the evidence for afterlife is much stronger because of Dr. Long's massive amount of data and his analysis of it. This book is a "must-read" for all who are interested in the scientific study of afterlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Aug. 9 2011
This book helped to assure me that my spouse is in a happy, loving and peaceful place with his family and friends that had gone on before. It delivered everything promised. I highly recommend it to anyone grieving for a loved one that has died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read but.., April 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wish there were more content, the stories were fun to read, I wanted more! It would of been nice if it was a bit more scientific and philosophical. Perhaps interviews with people studying this phenomenon. I guess I will have to look elsewhere for more depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, Dec 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Near death experiences in cardiac arrests survivors was an unknown subject to me
this books explains it very well and explains what happens when we die
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing !!!, Sept. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very Disappointing. The two biggest flaws/faults with this book is (a) the constant reference to statistics and (b) the same things said over and over and over again. It didn't convince me of anything which I had not already been convinced of before. There were a few small parts of the book that was interesting and added to my knowledge but for the most part, you can achieve just as much by doing a thorough search for NDEs on the Internet without wasting your money on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the skeptic, March 9 2010
By 
Amy VG (Southern Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Evidence Of The Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences (Hardcover)
I was a skeptic before reading Jeffrey Long and Paul Perry's book titled "Evidence of the Afterlife", but since we all have our eventual death in common, the book intrigued me enough to purchase it and read it front to back. I think the book definitely presents a strong case, with a lot of research and data behind it. Some of the presentation of the data was tiresome, but great for those who love to read all the facts. I thought it was written well, with a nice personal touch, Jeffrey Long come across like a very nice, intelligent man. I highly recommend for those interested in NDEs and want some well thought out proof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent summary of NDEs, Feb. 26 2010
By 
Ronald W. Maron "pilgrim" (Nova Scotia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evidence Of The Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences (Hardcover)
If you are only going to read one book that deals with near death experiences, this is the one to read. Having read numerous publications on this topic, while all of them were good in their own right, this one gives the best summarial statements and proofs of the existence of NDEs. Having had an NDE myself less than a year ago, I can personally verify that what the author writes about is absolutely true. This is a state of heightened awareness, is a completely surreal experience, it does change your life's outlook, your fear of death is lessened considerably and that there is a lack of words to describe the event itself.

But this author takes this process even one step further. Having created a website the allows persons to detail their personal NDEs, Jeffery Long MD is able to take the data from these surveys and conclude, from his studies, that there is life after death and that NDEs are merely one manner of showing that. He bases his conclusion on nine different parameters each of which would lead to the conclusion of a likelihood of the survival of consciousness after death. By adding the conclusions of all nine parameters together, however, the author feels that he is compelled to conclude that life after physical death is inevitable. While none of us can know this with 100% certainty until it occurs to us (myself included), it is encouraging to have this conclusion be reached by a man of science, where facts drive conclusions, and not merely by a religious figurehead who 'feels through faith' that this will occur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evidence of the Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences, Nov. 1 2011
Evidence Of The Afterlife: The Science Of Near-Death Experiences Very interesting and informative reading! I would buy other books from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Compelling Evidence, Dec 13 2010
By 
G. Poirier (Orleans, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Evidence Of The Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences (Hardcover)
As time goes on, it seems that more and more cases of near death experiences are recorded. This has resulted in a potential wealth of valuable data just waiting to be captured and studied in a careful and meticulous way. In this fascinating book, that is exactly what was done. The authors have used the scientific approach by adopting careful research techniques combined with statistical methods to sort through a vast amount of carefully collected data. They have weeded out cases that seem wanting for various reasons, set up criteria on which to base their analyses, performed various meaningful comparisons between selected groups of cases and came to some intriguing conclusions. The cases that are discussed include those from small children to adults to people from different cultures and religious beliefs. Arguments brought forth by sceptics are also carefully discussed.

As far as actual "proof" is concerned, that is something that readers can decide for themselves. In my opinion, the authors should have clearly defined what would constitute, by any standard, a truly concrete and unequivocal proof, and then compared their conclusions with that definition. Nevertheless, the evidence presented is indeed immensely compelling.

The writing style is very clear, accessible, friendly, inspiring, authoritative and quite captivating. The research techniques and analyses are very clearly explained. In fact, some passages read like parts of a scientific report. This is a book that should be of great interest to everyone - sceptics, believers and those who are not sure what to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2d89e94)

This product

Evidence Of The Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences
Evidence Of The Afterlife: The Science of Near-Death Experiences by Jeffrey Long (Hardcover - Jan. 11 2010)
CDN$ 31.99 CDN$ 20.05
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews