Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read
I personally thought that this was a good and interesting book. It is always hard to try and prove something when most of the evidence was burned but I don't think that the author has so much suggested that all unanswered questions about the exploration of the world have the answer - it was china (as suggested by reviewer above). I think that he has put forth a very...
Published on May 14 2004 by Chrystal Rae

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting speculations
I am of two minds about this book by Gavin Menzies. I find it absolutely fascinating to read some of the speculations and interpretations that he puts on different maps and findings. I find it credible to believe that Chinese fleets of the early 1400s would be trading in the Indian Ocean and Pacific Ocean, making regular journeys to places as far as Africa, and perhaps...
Published on Feb. 15 2006 by FrKurt Messick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting speculations, Feb. 15 2006
By 
FrKurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (Bloomington, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I am of two minds about this book by Gavin Menzies. I find it absolutely fascinating to read some of the speculations and interpretations that he puts on different maps and findings. I find it credible to believe that Chinese fleets of the early 1400s would be trading in the Indian Ocean and Pacific Ocean, making regular journeys to places as far as Africa, and perhaps reaching the Pacific Coasts of North and South America a few times.
However, I don't know what to think of such issues as Puerto Rico not only having been discovered by Chinese Fleets, but that based on this information, the Portuguese would have colonised areas in the Caribbean a generation prior to Columbus' journey - there seems no credible reason why Prince Henry the Navigator, being given such acclaim in history as he has been, would not also be credited with discovery of the New World if in fact he and his companions had found a passage across the Atlantic and discovered islands there.
Menzies is a good writer. I enjoyed reading the text very much. His description of the history of imperial China in the generation of the 1421 fleet is very engaging. The description of the politics and culture of China of the early Ming dynasty is good. The building of the Forbidden City, the repair of the Great Wall, and the dredging and expansion of the Great Canal are all projects from this period. It is also well known in historical circles that the period from 1400 to the 1430s was a time of exploration, with Zheng He, a Muslim eunuch in the court of the emperor, in charge of seven different fleets that reached Africa, Japan, and many islands of the South Pacific. These were documented and maintained as part of the ongoing record of Chinese history - why they would be selective to edit out the parts about the Americas, Greenland, and Antarctica becomes a bit speculative.
Likewise, his description of medieval Europe in the generations before and of the great voyages of discovery is also very interesting. He describes some of the political forces driving both exploration and colonisation - again, however, things fall a bit short. Why would the Portuguese, already settled in the Caribbean, agree to a division of the world by the Pope that would cut them out of that territory (particularly when the fact that they had a presence in Brazil was part of why they were permitted in the division to maintain their colonies there)?
Menzie's evidence comes from maps, from archaeological finds, and from literary and documentary pieces. However, one of the pitfalls here is that most every piece of evidence presented is subject to multiple interpretations. Menzie's claims as a navigator and expert in chart-reading do bear up under scrutiny, but this does mean that his interpretations are necessarily correct. There are those who brand his interpretations and conclusions as outlandish - I would opt more for the word 'hopeful' here, in that he does believe that what he has discovered is true on the whole, and this hopefulness leads in a particular hermeneutical direction.
Accoring to one commentator, 'Menzies' hypothesis and his theory accomplishes what many Zheng He scholars and academicians failed to do: that is to create a wide awareness on the subject matter; and forced a critical rethink, including some reevaluations on the extent, the success and the failures of the Ming Imperial Treasure Fleet.' The real benefit of a book such as this one is that it causes conversation and research into history among those who might not otherwise be so inclined. The worrisome part is that it might not be conducted in such as way as to be able to separate fact from fiction.
Menzies does maintain a website dedicated to further researches and refinements in his theory. Thus far, few major academics and historians have signed on as believers of this theory, but there are some - Sir John Elliott, in the Department of Modern History at Oxford is perhaps the most notable.
So, one is left at this - history is not an exact science much of the time, but it isn't a complete fiction or completely subjective dependent upon the whims of those who believe what they will believe, either. It is true that China was more advanced that Europe in many ways at this time, and that the Chinese did command larger fleets than the Europeans at this point in time. However, Menzies' conclusions here are based on interpretation that rests on the shifting sands of myth, legend, and documents with variable ideas of accuracy. Menzies is passionate in his writing, but so far has failed to be convincing. I will strive to maintain an open mind; I will continue to accept the more 'canonical' reading of history that has a stronger pedigree, but will follow the developments of Menzies' theory in the coming decades with interest.
I would give this three-and-one-half stars given the option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Written like a story, Read it like a story, May 27 2010
By 
Jennifer Der (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1421: The Year China Discovered America (Paperback)
I heard a lot about this book and the rave it came with. It is an interesting theory but I am skeptical with the validity of some of the claims - the smallest artefact leads to "irrefutable" hypotheses which are entertaining maybe, but tiresome after reading so many wild claims down to the minute detail. Read it to prod thought...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, May 14 2004
By 
I personally thought that this was a good and interesting book. It is always hard to try and prove something when most of the evidence was burned but I don't think that the author has so much suggested that all unanswered questions about the exploration of the world have the answer - it was china (as suggested by reviewer above). I think that he has put forth a very interesting and well researched hypothesis and it is really interesting to read. He also has good comparisons between ancient china and ancient europe which gives a reader without chinese background/knowledge a better idea of what it was all like back then.
Interesting, "hard to put down" to use the cliche!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for all history buffs, June 27 2003
By 
Newton Ooi (Phoenix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great book for many reasons. First, it is a great adventure story. The author takes the reader along the voyages of China's great treasure fleets in the 1420s as they sailed around the world. Second, it clearly illustrates how history depends on who is around to tell it, and not on the truth. Third, it is a great detective story. The author shows how different clues have to be pieced together to create a coherent story. And last, it is a perfect example of how achievements are easily forgotten or erased from memory. The flow of the text is good; there are enough references in the text to keep it honest, but not so much as to break up the reading.
The only reason I did not give this book 5 stars is that there should be more pictures and diagrams explaining the various sailing and navigation terms; like how latitude is measured via stars, how a ship sails into the wind, how distance is measured on a sailing vessel, etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, June 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an expansion of Menzies' theory first presented in "1421: The Year China Discovered the World" that the Chinese arrived in North America prior to Columbus. In "Who Discovered America?" he goes further by positing that the Chinese, and Europeans (specifically, the Minoans) made repeated voyages to the Americas for a period of thousands of years and became the Native Americans.

The evidence presented is compelling: DNA, language similarities, the presence of non-indigenous flora and fauna existing in the Americas prior to "discovery" by Europeans. Do I believe it? Not wholeheartedly, but if his evidence is accurate, the case is compelling.

Unfortunately, he muddies the water by inserting his own completely unfounded opinions. After a trip to Samarkand, he concludes, as a non-archaeologist and non-historian, that because the modern city is small that no overland silk road could possibly have existed. He also concludes that because he doesn't know how to survive in harsh Arctic conditions that Asian immigrants could not possibly have crossed the Bering Sea land bridge (guess he's never heard of the Inuit). Why he would feel the need to disprove other theories in order to bolster his own, I have no idea. The existence of an overland Silk Road doesn't preclude a maritime route any more than immigration by land precludes immigration by sea.

An intriguing concept, but in order to get to the meat of the theory, you have to wade through the author's ego.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was an interesting read., Dec 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1421: The Year China Discovered America (Paperback)
I read "Longitude" by Dava Sobel (Walker &Co. New York) and was disappointed that Menzies did not go into the way that the chinese dealt with the problem of determining the longitude at sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Used Book - Very Good Condition, Sept. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was looking for a copy of this book because I had read a library copy and found it interesting. I purchased this used book because i didn't want to spend a lot. The condition of the book is excellent, it shows very little wear. Shipping was fast. I would use this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, June 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was an excellent, well-researched read. The book came recommended to me and I think anyone interested in history should give it a read. Certainly an eye-opener. My only comment is that I chose a secondhand book, which came in like-new condition, but if there is a newer edition I would choose that instead. There are a lot of footnotes and updated information which will be ongoing, so get the newest edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting reading, April 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am quite impressed by the quantity and quality of information presented in this book. For anyone who loves history, this book will be a treat. Amazing story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting premise, great detective work, Feb. 21 2013
I am a history buff. I love to sink into the scenes and imagine myself right there, however many years ago it may have been. 1421 is a great read from that perspective. The author took me for a long and detailed journey that really made me question our conventional understanding of historical events. He provides enough support for his thesis for it to be credible, with the understanding that I am not an expert by any means. His background as a mariner lends credibility to a story that requires an enormous amount of homework to substantiate. This is not a story that can be told in 50 pages, there is too much to account for. In the process of following these treasure fleets through their journeys around the globe I learned a lot about the Chinese culture and, quite frankly, learned a lot about the geography of the world and even how the naturally occurring currents of our oceans work. My brain is full and my curiosity has been satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1421: The Year China Discovered America
1421: The Year China Discovered America by Gavin Menzies (Paperback - May 21 2008)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews