biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars187
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$8.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 109 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on October 8, 2015
Neil Gaiman is a delight
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2015
It is catalogued as a children's book but I believe it is enjoyable for all ages. The story keeps getting better and better in every page.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2014
My daughter introduced me to Neil Gaiman and I'm so glad. The book was so spooky and interesting that I ran out and picked up more of his books. Lived it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
I can't help but find Coraline to be an amazing, frightening, fun story aimed at a young audience but appreciated by all ages. If you've watched the movie you could still enjoy the book. The graphic novel is worth a gander but so too is the original book with the original illustrations which are dark. While I adore every Neil Gaiman book I have had the pleasure to read, this book is perhaps my favourite at the moment, and that says a lot. Read it, it's worth reading!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
Great book: a strange, adventurous, fun, and an easy read.
I also really enjoyed the movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2014
A very good short story easy to read!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
Another dark, twisty tale that should never have been made into a kid's movie! Gaiman has such neat ideas and is inspired by such mundane things!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
Our whole family loves this audio book. A bit scary for young ones but our 6 and 8 year old were delighted with it. We have listened to it many times. The readers has a great voice.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2012
I received this book in OK/decent time. Not the fastest product i've ever received but not the slowest. It was in perfect condition, and had cool graphics on the jacket of the book which can't be seen in the display picture. The story was awesome and extremely creative, excellent author. I would highly recommend this product.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 10, 2010
While I purchased this book thinking that it would be another one of Gaiman's fantasies that is applicable for all ages, it is not. This is strictly a book that was written for children and, because of this, my review is based on that and not on any adult interpretation of the book.

Neil Gaimon, again using his superb writing skills, has produced a book that easily should appeal to the 8 to 14 age range. The book, itself, is not lengthy and is grammatically written in a manner that is easily understood. While some may view this novel as being a little too dark for children, it is less frightening than some of the other children's classics (The Wizard of Oz, The Hobbit, Grimm's Fairy Tales, etc...) Coraline, the heroine, is simply overtly faced with the imaginings that most children her age have. Things living under the bed, animals that talk, the door that is always locked and unfullfilled parental attention are a few examples of these imaginings. While I do recommend this reading for the given age range, I would also strongly encourage parents to provide discussion periods with the child to have them more fully understand the message that the book gives and ease any possible fears that were triggered by the novel's imaginary setting.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse