Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
Tristran Thorn would do absolutely anything to win pretty Victoria Forrester's heart. Even venture across The Wall into mysterious Faerie in search of a fallen star.

But once he enters Faerie, strange things begin to happen.

Tristran knows the location of every place in the land. He meets a strange, small man who gives him a candle that allows him to...
Published on Jan. 11 2008 by TeensReadToo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good adult fairy tale, but I was hoping for more
Stardust by Neil Gaiman is an adult fairy tale that took some time to get into. Overall, it was an enjoyable book that is written so beautifully and has a great but very sad ending (might not be sad for everyone)! I did feel distant from the characters, maybe because there were a couple of storylines going on in this short story since there were many people after the...
Published on Nov. 15 2008 by Sam


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, Jan. 11 2008
Tristran Thorn would do absolutely anything to win pretty Victoria Forrester's heart. Even venture across The Wall into mysterious Faerie in search of a fallen star.

But once he enters Faerie, strange things begin to happen.

Tristran knows the location of every place in the land. He meets a strange, small man who gives him a candle that allows him to travel great distances. And when he finally finds the fallen star, Tristran discovers that it is not a lump of rock like he thought, but a young woman, who has quite the mind of her own.

Tristran, though, isn't the only one looking for the star. The witch queen and a group of three brothers all want something of it. For these brothers, it's the power she possesses. For the witch, it's her heart.

STARDUST was completely entrancing, charming, and a surprisingly quick read. The star's spunk and Tristran's humanity are both to be admired in this adventurous tale that will make you laugh out loud and break into tears. This is one book not to be missed.

Reviewed by: The Compulsive Reader
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Neil Gaiman’s best, March 11 2006
By 
Hugo Trepanier "elusiveone_96" (Deux-Montagnes, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stardust (Mass Market Paperback)
I was drawn to Stardust after enjoying several other books by Neil Gaiman, especially American Gods and Good Omens, among others. Recently I looked through my library for something new I hadn’t read before and decided to pick up Stardust. From the first few paragraphs, I was immediately hooked and it became very difficult to stop reading this truly fantastic tale!
The strange thing about this book is that it doesn’t entirely feel like a Gaiman novel in that it is much less gritty than his other works, though it retains all the charm, fantasy and other wonderful qualities. What I liked best is that it has a sort of dreamy aspect with all the magic, strange creatures and unusual situations, and yet it remains very suitable for adults. It does contain a bit of sex and a fair amount of violence, though overall it gave me a feeling of well being throughout. As usual, Gaiman has a rich vocabulary that evokes magnificent images while keeping everything simple.
There is no need to summarize the story in this review; all you really need to know is that if you liked any of Neil Gaiman’s other novels and are into fantasy, you will love this book. It is simply beautiful, without a doubt among the author’s best works to date.
Highly recommended, 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, April 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stardust (Kindle Edition)
This book was not my usual read, but I did enjoy it. This was my first time reading anything by this author and I think I'll look into his other books now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stardust, April 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stardust (Kindle Edition)
I saw the movie first, then wanted to read the book. Very good book. Neil Gaiman is one of my favorite authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., Jan. 25 2014
This review is from: Stardust (Kindle Edition)
Picked me up and whisked me away rather beautifully. I shall be back for more of Gaimans wondrous writings. Soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stardust review, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stardust (Kindle Edition)
Really liked the prose of the book. The story is very close to the movie but near the end. Good kid book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stardust (Kindle Edition)
A wondrous adventure in fantasy land
Interesting read and a vivid imagination that keeps you wondering what will happen next
Well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Beautiful, Dec 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am a new Neil Gaiman fan and had tried to read this sometime a few years ago. I started this book the other day and it was lovely, the artwork complements Gaiman's writing and makes it all the more. The cover is just lovely and is stunning to look at. As this wouldn't be the first book I would recommend to a new reader (seeing as it is a bit more advanced) it would be perfect for the avid reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great Adult Fairy Tale, June 3 2012
This review is from: Stardust (Paperback)
Tristran Thorn is a young man who lives on a farm in the English countryside. He is besotted with Victoria Forester who promises to marry him if he brings her a falling star. Thorn's village, Wall has a gap where he can enter the world of his mother, a faerie.

Thorn goes on a quest to bring back the falling star. This starts the most amazing adventure involving faeries, pixies and gnomes, unicorns, witches and ships that sail in the nighttime sky.

This is a easy wonderful fantasy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good adult fairy tale, but I was hoping for more, Nov. 15 2008
By 
Sam (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stardust (Paperback)
Stardust by Neil Gaiman is an adult fairy tale that took some time to get into. Overall, it was an enjoyable book that is written so beautifully and has a great but very sad ending (might not be sad for everyone)! I did feel distant from the characters, maybe because there were a couple of storylines going on in this short story since there were many people after the star: Tristan, the three lords after the power Stormhold, and a witch. However, that may have been a good thing, because I would not feel greatly upset if something bad happened to the characters.

The story mainly revolved around Tristan Thorn, who is so in love with Victoria Forester that he would do anything to win her heart when she refuses to kiss him. Victoria tells him that she would do anything he desired if he brought back the shooting star that they just saw that night. Happily, Tristan obeys. He enters beyond the wall that is gaurds Wall, into Faerie, which does not follow the same rules as Wall does, and nothing is as he imagined.

I do hope that Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman is even more enjoyable than Stardust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stardust
Stardust by Neil Gaiman (Paperback - Dec 15 2008)
CDN$ 12.50 CDN$ 11.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews