Customer Reviews


296 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Thriller
I've just finished reading this page-turner and it was absolutely mind-blowing. I couldn't put it down, and after I finished it, I went back and re-read the first few chapters to pick up on clues I missed.

The book starts out slow over the first few pages with a flashback and Lehane uses many more flashbacks during the novel that I initially thought slowed...
Published on Oct. 9 2006 by R. Hansen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book; misses being great for the lack of editing
Can Lehane ever top "Mystic River", one of the top twenty books so far this century? Maybe, but not with "Shutter Island", where Lehane goes from great to good for lack of an editor.
The storyline and narrative of this book are flawless; so are the characterization and dialogue. In fact, the plot is mind-blowing -- even after finishing this book,...
Published on June 22 2004 by Marifrances


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Thriller, Oct. 9 2006
By 
R. Hansen "rob_slick" (Hamilton, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've just finished reading this page-turner and it was absolutely mind-blowing. I couldn't put it down, and after I finished it, I went back and re-read the first few chapters to pick up on clues I missed.

The book starts out slow over the first few pages with a flashback and Lehane uses many more flashbacks during the novel that I initially thought slowed down the story.

I won't spoil anything, but the story is crafted wonderfully and every scene becomes relevant as the ending unfolds.

This is a great book for the reader who likes a surprise. I thought I had guessed the outcome of many situations and the author managed to flip them around on me still.

I definitely recommened Shutter Island (and I agree with a previous reviwere who suggested finding someone else who has read the book so you can discuss it when you finish). It is something that you will think about long after finishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THINGS ARE NOT ALWAYS WHAT THEY SEEM..., Jan. 3 2011
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is a highly original thriller with gothic overtones. Taking place in 1954, it is quite atmospheric and redolent of the times. The writing is taut, and the suspense is palpable. With many twists and turns the reader is pulled in, slowly but surely, into a virtual labyrinth of a mystery.

When United States Marshal Teddy Daniels and his new partner, Chuck Aule, arrive on Shutter Island, little does Teddy know how utterly puzzling his visit will become. He is there to visit a hospital for the criminally insane to investigate the mysterious disappearance of Rachel Solando, a killer who escaped from a locked guarded room.

During his visit, strange little tidbits of information come to the fore, and nothing appears to be quite what it seems. Even the common place seems to take on sinister overtones, as Teddy pushes his investigation. His own past seems to have some bearing on the events that transpire. Even his partner seems to be a tad off the mark.

Just what is going on at Shutter Island? The author will lead the reader a merry and complex chase, as one layer after another s peeled back to reveal the truth behind Shutter Island and Teddy's investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars `How much violence, Marshal, do you think a man can carry before it breaks him?', Dec 27 2010
In the summer of 1954, US Marshal Teddy Daniels travels to Shutter Island, home of the Ashecliffe Hospital for the Criminally Insane. Together with his partner, Chuck Aule, Teddy sets out to find an escaped psychotic patient named Rachel Solando. Apparently, Rachel Solando has managed to escape from a locked cell, walk past a group of orderlies and get past two guarded checkpoints. Given that it would be impossible for her to swim from the island to the mainland, she must be somewhere on the island. But where is she? Is there an answer in the cryptic coded message that she has left behind?

The mystery in this novel is not only about Rachel Solando. Teddy Daniels was very keen to accept this particular assignment and despite his fear of water - which made the ferry trip a nightmare for him - has his own reasons for wanting to be on Shutter Island. His wife's murderer is on the island as well, and he is keen to find him. Teddy Daniels is also curious about what goes on at Shutter Island: there are three wards housed in separate buildings and an apparently empty lighthouse is surrounded by an electrified fence and armed guards. Why?

When Chuck Aule disappears, it seems to confirm that Teddy Daniels's own life is also in jeopardy. But why? And why are the doctors not completely co-operating with the investigation? What is the truth about Shutter Island?

The hurricane that sweeps over Shutter Island provides the perfect backdrop to the story. And the ending? It took me by surprise, and then it made its own form of perfect sense. Maybe.

`They're creating ghosts here, Marshal. Ghosts to go out into the world and do ghostly work.'

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taut and gripping, Feb. 19 2010
This is a prime example of an author who truly knows the value of good storytelling. Dennis Lehane has spun a masterful tale, providing colourful description to create engaging characters, dialogue, and chilling atmosphere.

The novel is split into four sections, one for each day. It should be said that through the entirety of the latter end of the book -- the last sixty pages, or thereabouts -- I had chills, and my heart was pounding. As each character grows more paranoid, Lehane encourages the reader to sink into paranoia along with them.

If you are like me, you like a good twist -- key word there being GOOD. Although I was able to guess a couple of things ahead of time, it's nearly impossible to guess them all; making those few guesses (and being right) detracts none from the well-written story, which flows so well from the very beginning to the very end. It won't leave you feeling empty, like many twists will, because it is executed just so, leaving things open-ended enough for several interpretations of what really went on at Ashecliffe Hospital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Thriller, Oct. 7 2009
By 
Karoline (Richmond BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There's always something about asylums that have always given off an uncomfortable feeling. The way Lehane writes in this novel really expresses the uneasiness and queasiness about asylums and how an outsider would feel when first entering one. He does a real great job creating the mood and setting. It's bleak. It's dark. It's gives off an omnious feeling that by the middle of the book you're starting to doubt yourself and you're not sure what's real and what's not. You feel what Teddy feels. It's done really well and does a good job enticing you to read further, to get you to want to explore the asylum and join Teddy in his journey to find this missing patient. Suspecion is placed on everybody and you the feeling of mistrust starts to build throughout the book.

The plot is filled with twists and turns. It engages you to help solve the puzzles, and once you start thinking you're one step closer to solving the case, another twist is thrown in and you're back to square one. It's not frustrating. It's actually more exciting and every twist puts you into shock. I was especially shocked during the last few parts of the book. This is definitely a page turner. There a few dream sequences from Teddy that you might find strange (almost like an acid trip) but they're almost comparable to something you might find on the show Twin Peaks. They're just strange but it does fit the book quite nicely.

Character wise, I think the main focus would be on Teddy himself. The rest of the characters are very secondary and even his partner, Chuck, is flat. The main character development falls on Teddy and when you see what really happens to him, you're left speechless and literally dumbfounded. He may be your typical US Marshal on a case on the outside, but inside he has a lot of skeletons in his closet that you eventually discover as the story progresses.

The only criticism I would have at this book is, it is a little predictable. I've seen a lot of movies end this way and it seems to be the trend (I'm not sure if books are like this as well). However the ending suits the book so I'm willing to let it go. There is mild language and talk of frontal lobotomies in detail which may be not suiting for some.

Overall a really good book and suitable for a dark rainy windy day. Really creepy and a wonderful psychological thriller with a lot of twists and turns to keep the reader occupied. Don't mind the typical cliche ending, it's actually suitable and worth the read. It's amazing how much more scary asylums are than an average horror movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but predictable ending, July 13 2004
By 
Justin Lee (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Shutter Island is about two federal marshals who go to Shutter Island to investigate a prisoner escape. The island houses a prison for the criminally insane, and upon arrival, they find out that much has been covered-up with respect to this escape. The more they probe, the more questions they have, and soon their vision of reality breaks down as they begin to discover a conspiracy beyond their wildest imaginations.

I liked Shutter Island. I love codes, and mysteries, and such, so this was quite a good read for me. Unfortunately, I did see the ending coming, because it seems to be the thing to do these days. I'm not sure how many people it actually surprised, but it didn't surprise me, and that ruined it a little for me. It just seemed that it's been done so much, whether in Fight Club or The Magus decades before.

It's quite a concidence that I just read John Fowles' The Magus a few months ago, and the resemblance between the two books are uncanny. In The Magus, it is about this English schoolteacher who meets this eccentric millionaire on a remote Greek island, who employs questionable methods of psychiatry to cure schizophrenic patients, and where he soon finds out that they mounted an elaborate play for his benefit. Sound familiar?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fiendish, Absolutely Fiendish, July 6 2004
Shutter Island is a terrifying novel that chilled me to the bone. It played the hugest trick on me of any book that I have ever read. During the last couple of chapters I had this feeling of absolute disbelief - could this really be happening? Surely the book couldn't end this way. Please don't let it end this way! But it did. Bloody hell, I thought the ending to Hannibal by Thomas Harris was nasty. In this book, the ending is fiendish.
The characters were all described very well and with lots of imagination. Teddy Daniels is a US Marshal and the year is 1954. He is investigating Shutter Island with his new partner US Marshal Chuck Aule. You feel great sympathy for Teddy as his past is revealed - the death of his lovely wife Dolores and his violent clashes in the war. All this is written about in the most beautiful language. The scenes where Teddy goes back over his overpowering love for Dolores are particularly poignant.
Dennis Lehane draws you in to the plot by creating vivid characters, scenery, intrigue, mystery and clues at every turn. And then he calmly proceeds to turn everything inside out in the most shocking way possible. The plot was terrifyingly plausible and the last couple of chapters so hideous that they defy words.
Overall this is a great novel. Great in its ability to deceive and shock. Can I honestly say that I enjoyed reading it? Well, with tears falling down my cheeks as I got through the final chapters, I came to the conclusion that no, it had not been an enjoyable reading experience! Somehow I suspect Lehane never intended it to be. But he did a fantastic job of scaring the life out of me.
JoAnne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It will take your breath away!, June 27 2004
Dennis Lehane is a master. I started this book wondering if it could possibly be as good as Mystic River. Most certainly, it is. Edward (Teddy) Daniel and his partner, Chuck Aule, meet at the beginning of this book, on the boat to Shutter Island. They are both U.S. Marshals, called to aid in the search of an escaped inmate at an institution for the criminally insane. A hurricane hits. The reader follows Teddy and the plot through twists and turns to a place that one would never suspect. Along the way are several interesting characters, the least of which is Dr. Cawley. Is he what he seems? Is he conducting evil experiments in the light house, or is he a compassionate psychiatrist? Lehane takes you on a wild ride. Just when it seems the end must be in sight, another hairpin turn leaves you rocketing down a three story drop with your heart in your mouth.
Don't wait until everyone else has read it and told you about it. Read it now, before someone spoils the ending for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the jacket blurb -- it's actually good, June 25 2004
This review is from: Shutter Island Cd Sp (Audio CD)
I can't believe I picked up this book. The jacket notes make it look like just another inmates-taking-over-the-asylum story, or some kind of Stephen King knockoff. Good gracious! Someone's trying to drive our hero insane in the insane asylum! Give me a break. I picked up the abridged CD at the library anyway, because I've listened to just about all their others. That's a problem with living in a small town and traveling a lot.
But it was good. I really enjoyed it. The story was enjoyable, good adventure, smooth story. Protagonist isn't just a dumb action figure, and is actually a pretty complex and likeable guy. The fellow reading on the CD has the right voice, gives good life to the characters. Even the abridged story was pretty seamless, something that doesn't happen enough. When the slips and twists start coming, you notice them as slips and twists instead of as annoying gaps in the story. That's not easy to do in a shortened novel.
Can't say too much about the story itself without either sounding like the nerd who wrote the marketing copy or ruining the story. Recommend listening hard to the seeming throwaway short narrative at the very beginning. After that, just go along for the ride.
Just read the thing. It's a fun one. -- RG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shutter Island? More like Shudder Island..., June 22 2004
By 
Robert Wellen (CHICAGO, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lehane is truly a great suspense writer. I have not read his dectective novels; only the amazing Mystic River (which was better than the movie btw). So, perhaps I do not judge him quite the same as some other reviewers. Mystic River is a brillant study of friendship, responsibility and shattered dreams. Although this novel has those same themes, Lehane approaches this book in a much different way. It is spooky, atmospheric, and twisting. Even makes some interesting points about mental health treatment in America. The story is excellent and the ending is indeed a shocker. What I liked about it, besides being almost completely shocked (I figured out only one small part), was how it fit. The book does not make an outrageous leap at the end and the ends are indeed tied up. Honestly surprising book until the last sentence. So few thrillers do that. It was nice to read a surprising and frankly a scary novel that was not absurd. It all works. I admire Lehane's mind. I just don't want to visit it anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shutter Island
Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane (Mass Market Paperback - Aug. 11 2009)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews