Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok - but don't toss your Third Ed!, Aug. 9 2003
By 
Alan Reinhart (Lindenwold, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
After getting many years of excellent service from the 3rd Edition (bought new for $$$) I decided to 'upgraged' to 6th Edition. For the most part a great tool and highly recommended. Especially if you are new to a good thesaurus. HOWEVER - every silver lining has its cloud!
The paper used for the pages appears to be a high grade newsprint. Probably is a bit better than that, but after the brilliant white, sensually-thin paper of the 3rd Edition, a bit of a dissapointment.
The word lists: A real dissapointment! In the 3rd Edition index there were special entries when a pertinent word-list existed. Under COAL, there would be an entry "Types of ~ 330.10". Sadly this handy feature has been left out of the 6th Edition - you have to stumble across the word lists by luck.
So my 3rd Ed. will remain a backup. I wasn't sure what to do with it anyway...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a synonym dictionary, Aug. 16 2003
By 
Tronin (Turn Left at the Twilight Zone) - See all my reviews
If you just need a different word that is easier to spell or say, a dictionary of synonyms will usually suffice. And that is all that an alphabetically organized thesaurus is. Their advantage is that you only have to do one lookup in the book instead of two, making them quicker and easier. A true thesaurus requires that you look the word up in an index to find a numeric index, then look up that numeric index in the body of the book to get a choice of synonyms.
But the true thesaurus will give you a better supply of answers. First, the numeric entries either preceding or following frequently are opposing concepts. That means that if you go forward or backward two entries, you may strike on a subtle change in meanings that fits your intent much better. This had happened to me several times when I couldn't quite get the right word. It was because I didn't quite have the right meaning. Second, because all of the 'answers' are printed once, there is room for more of them. In a simple example, assume 5 words are considered synonyms. For a dictionary of synonyms, that means 5 entries listing 5 words each (the entry and its four synonyms), for 25 words. A true thesaurus lists an entry number in the main body with 5 words, and 5 entries of one-word-one-number in the index. Counting each number as a word, that is 16 words. That I can add 3 more synonyms (3 words in the entry in the body, 3 word-number pairs in the index) in the same amount of space. For larger groupings of words, the difference is much more significant. So now I get 7 choices (8 less the original word) instead of 4 (5 less the original word).
Mark Twain claimed that the difference between a good word and the right word is the difference between the lightning bug and the lightning. Lightning strikes more often with a true thesaurus than a dictionary of synonyms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super! Wonderful! Excellent! Stupendous! Best!, Feb. 7 2006
By 
FrKurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (Bloomington, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A thesaurus is an indispensable aid for writers - sometimes the right word is just on the tip of the tongue (or, more to the case, perhaps the tip of the finger), but refuses to come forward. Sometimes one has high praise for something, but doesn't want to use the word 'super' over and over again.
Roget's thesaurus has multiple styles of entries - main entries highlighted from the text, subentries that are very close relatives of the main entries, secondary entries that lead back to main entries cross-referenced, and variant spelling forms of words. For the main entries, there is a definition of dictionary variety before the synonyms are presented. Sometimes words have multiple meanings, and the synonym for one meaning might be inappropriate for another meaning, so the main entries break down these multiple pieces for ease of use.
Primary entries have definitions, usage examples, and synonyms; secondary entries lack the examples, and cross-reference to major entries. Homographs (words spelled the same way with different meanings) are also split into multiple entries based on this variation of meaning.
Roget's Thesaurus also uses standard dictionary labeling, so that one can identify the part of speech (noun, verb, etc.), as well as other identifying information (slang terms, informal, regional, etc.). Variations are very interesting to discover, as different words have meanings that go beyond their standard usage.
A thesaurus is a very valuable tool for those who wish to increase their vocabulary, as well as increase the richness of their spoken and written language in actual practice - it is not uncommon for one to know the words listed, but to have the presence of mind to use alternative words is another matter. Dipping into a thesaurus on an occasional basis yields rewards; plunging in on a regular basis will really enhance the command of the language.
There are few sources as adequate to the task as Roget's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thesaurus but what happened to the book?, April 3 2002
This is the best thesaurus out there but what happened to the printing? The paper is now thicker and cheaper feeling. The binding looks substandard. The thumb indexing is now every two hundred sections rather than every one hundred. I prefer the feel of the older editions. Ths is too bulky and less attractive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thesaurus, June 27 2014
By 
John Brkich - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roget's International Thesaurus 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Don't write without it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it - opened up a whole new world for me, Oct. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roget's International Thesaurus 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Just what the doctor ordered it is a great tool to help shape better song lyrics and find words that fit better. Still pretty new to it all but can see how you can't go without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source for words, Aug. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roget's International Thesaurus 7th Edition (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent source for those who write, for speeches or otherwise. I found it a bit difficult to navigate at first, but once I caught on to the style of the settings, then I found it gave me ample analytical verbiage. I am really glad that we can still buy a book to source out the words that we need!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Thesaurus, Dec 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roget's International Thesaurus 7th Edition (Hardcover)
The organization of this thesaurus caught me by surprise. Instead of having all the words listed alphabetically,and giving synonyms for each word, this book sets it up differently. It has different categories in the index, such as feelings, weather, the body, etc., and then lists numerous words relating to that category underneath. For example:
Body:
-heart 132
-skin 133
- legs 134
Each smaller 'category' would have a number beside it, which would be where you would find it in the book. These numbers aren't page numbers, but are like the Dewey Decimal System. Then, within each smaller category there are even smaller type categories, and these categories look more like the type of thesaurus I described above. In the back, it has another list of words in alphabetical order, and here it tells you where you can find these words within the thesaurus.
This book, being different than what I am used to, will take some getting used to, but it still is a very detailed and accurate thesaurus, and it contains more words and synonyms than most you would find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Easiest To Use, but Helpful in Expository Writing., Feb. 21 2004
By 
mirasreviews (McLean, VA USA) - See all my reviews
"Roget's International Thesaurus" is organized by subject as opposed to alphabetically, although all words are also indexed in the back. Which type of organization you prefer will depend upon your needs and tastes. If you are looking for a thesaurus that will simply give you the most and best alternative words, an alphabetical thesaurus such as Rodale Press' "Synonym Finder" is easier to use and more efficient to that purpose. On the other hand, "Roget's International Thesaurus" has traded ease of use for versatility. If it's a synonym you seek, look it up in the index, which will direct you to the appropriate section and subsection. There, you will find synonyms for your word, and if you let your eyes wander up and down the page perusing the contents of that section, you will also find words related to your subject, including antonyms. The part of speech for each word is always given, and abbreviations for "nonformal" and the origins of foreign words are provided for clarity. There are no word definitions. Section/subsection numbers are conveniently found at the top of each page to aid in locating words. If you have no idea what word you need, you can consult the list of 1,075 categories in the front of the book, which will direct you to words related to that subject. Word lists are another of the book's useful features. If you are looking at the subject of lakes, for example, you are provided with a list of the world's major lakes. Other examples include a list of words describing different types of engraving found in the graphic arts section, and over 100 types of ceramic are listed in the ceramics section. A short biography of Peter Mark Roget, the 19th century physician whose work was the basis for all subsequent thesauruses organized by subject, introduces you to the book, followed by a short explanation of how to best make use of this thesaurus. I think that most students will prefer an alphabetical thesaurus to this one. But if you do a lot of expository writing, Roget's organization by subject could prove invaluable. Since I do a lot of writing and have somehow deluded myself into viewing shelf space as endlessly expandable, I have found that having both "Roget's International Thesaurus" and "The Synonym Finder" is the best way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, March 12 2002
By 
If you love to write this book is an invaluable resource of words and ultimately knowledge. This book is designed to compare words. By using this Thesaurus repeatedly you will increase your knowledge of words and their usage. You will increase your mastery of the English language. It is a fundamental tool of the trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roget's International Thesaurus 7th Edition
Roget's International Thesaurus 7th Edition by Barbara Ann Kipfer (Hardcover - July 26 2010)
CDN$ 31.00 CDN$ 19.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews