Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Would Google Do
practical and provocative. a wonderful tool to re-examine your business model. in short - a must read for any business person today.
Published on April 6 2009 by Edyta Pacuk

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WWGD
WWGD - What would Google Do - is a book about the new ways that internet is changing our lives, and how the best to benefit from it. Despite its title, this is not a book about Google, at least not in a sense that it makes any effort to deeply analyze and try to explain in nonobvious terms the source of Google's success. Recently I came across a picture online which...
Published on May 12 2011 by Dr. Bojan Tunguz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Would Google Do, April 6 2009
By 
Edyta Pacuk (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Would Google Do? Lp (Paperback)
practical and provocative. a wonderful tool to re-examine your business model. in short - a must read for any business person today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look, Jan. 15 2014
fascinating ideas and a different view of the marketing world. A bit long winded for the message - but worth a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Portfolio Manager, May 11 2012
By 
Tim (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What Would Google Do? (Hardcover)
Fascinating read. Full of insight into one of the decades biggest successes. Great concept and once I picked it up, I had trouble putting it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read! Very Insightful!, Nov. 18 2009
By 
Troy Saddler (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Would Google Do? Lp (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a colleague of mine and I recently extended my appreciation to him for bringing this book to my attention. A must read for anyone and everyone! This is not just a book about the internet, which is what most would think. Jeff Jarvis (author) offers valuable insight into the future and how we as individuals need to adapt and change our thinking patterns. Whether we choose to admit it or not, Google is here to stay and we can either choose to work with it or against! Choose wisely. So before you make another decision, whether it be a business or personal decision, remember to ask yourself that very important and timeless question...WWGD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Would Google Do?, July 20 2010
By 
Liran Kohl - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Would Google Do? (Hardcover)
Amazing Book for anyone in business or just interested in the changing dynamics of businesses today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is insane, April 28 2009
By 
Francis Rodrigue (Montreal,QC,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Would Google Do? Lp (Paperback)
God and Google have a lot in common, not least omniscience. Like the Almighty, the world's No 1 search engine - and No 1 brand - offers us a glimpse of divine knowledge, as in the old, by Internet standards, saying: "There are some things that Man was never meant to know, but for everything else there's Google."

I recommend this book for anyone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WWGD, May 12 2011
By 
Dr. Bojan Tunguz (Indiana, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Would Google Do? (Hardcover)
WWGD - What would Google Do - is a book about the new ways that internet is changing our lives, and how the best to benefit from it. Despite its title, this is not a book about Google, at least not in a sense that it makes any effort to deeply analyze and try to explain in nonobvious terms the source of Google's success. Recently I came across a picture online which depicts a small store somewhere in India that without any shame or sense of propriety named itslef "Google." Google has indeed become a global fenomenon and one of the strongest brands in the world, and it is not surprising to find people trying to profit from being associated with it in any way imaginable. After reading this book, one can't help feel that the use of Google was a similar ploy on the part of the author. The book is filled with case studies and examples of where an online company supposedly benefited from emulating a "Google" model of doing things, even when that connection is tenuous at best. Oftentiumes, as in the case of Facebook for instance, this is downright ridiculous: Facebook is louded for opening up its application development system, while in fact Facebook is a paragon of the "old" way of approaching content on the internet - a closed garden, not an open platform. Although there are indeed many problems with the way that many old online companies were doing business, it is far from clear that the Google model is a panacea that fits every company and internet technology business model equally well. In fact, to this day Google has been unequivocally successful at doing exactly one thing - search.

The book also suffers from not having a clear focus. There are many interesting and novel ides thrown around, but it is unclear what ties them all together. The writing style is fairly accessible and if you want to read something from one of the insides of the new online media world, this would be as good a read as they come. But don't expect to get any concrete ideas about either the inside scoop on how Google works or for your next business venture. One gets a sense that the author has absorbed way too much jargon and hype in order for this to happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Google Your Future, April 3 2011
By 
Ian Robertson (West Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: What Would Google Do? Lp (Paperback)
WWGD is a well written, focused, and interesting book; an easy and breezy read full of interesting anecdotes, examples and musings, with a liberal sprinkling of the author's sly humour thrown in for good measure. It deserves to be read by all interested in both Google's and the internet's impact on our world.

Similar in its macro and forward looking approach to Don Tapscott and Anthony Williams' book 'MacroWikinomics', it differs in its more singular focus around a central example: Google. While Tapscott and Williams cover a very wide range of material in their longer book, Jarvis stays on his central message; that Google and the internet (for this is as much, if not more, about the internet as it is about Google) are changing the way we lead our lives, conduct our business, and govern ourselves. The examples in the book are interesting, personal, edifying and entertaining, and advance the book's message well; they are not particularly profound. This is not a book that will advance human knowledge or even age well, but it is a topical and well written brief.

There is a certain irony that a message about how the medium is changing the world had to be delivered in book format. Marshall McLuhan would have chuckled. To deliver a message compelling enough and long enough to become a best seller, Jarvis had to write a book, piecing together many different ideas drawn from his own blogs, from his readers' comments, and from books and articles written by others. The internet is the source of much of the raw material and then, for the e-book version only, is also the delivery mechanism. For all of its wonderful, liberating, democratizing, empowering and connecting features, the internet doesn't yet facilitate the production of books like this because much of its content is ephemeral, is drawn disproportionately from users in broadcast mode, and doesn't yet allow writers' (bloggers'?) longer works (books) to be monetized through Google's advertising model. A controlled distribution system is still required, whether an on-line or physical bookstore (leaving us to ask, 'What Would Amazon Do?').

A century and a half ago, Charles Dickens wrote many of his novels in weekly serial format that reached readers via the newspaper, and in the 1980s Tom Wolfe did the same with his novel 'The Bonfire of the Vanities' through the controlled (paid) distribution of Rolling Stone Magazine. It would appear that there remains still a gulf between blogs and books or this book would perhaps have been published as a very long, advertising supported blog!

I've never googled his name, so I likely would never have heard of the world's most famous Jeff Jarvis (so he claims per Google!) had he not published this fine book. I'm glad he did, and encourage others to pick up his entertaining and thought provoking work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Would Google Do? Lp
What Would Google Do? Lp by Jeff Jarvis (Paperback - Feb. 9 2009)
CDN$ 34.99 CDN$ 22.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews