Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great info!, July 12 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Explosive Child: A New Approach for Understanding and Parenting Easily Frustrated, Chronically Inflexible Children (Paperback)
Made me realize I am not the only one going through this. Great information that is doable...can't wait to try these techniques!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Explanations good. Very knowledgable author, Oct. 3 2014
By 
Lorrain B. Barner (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Explosive Child: A New Approach for Understanding and Parenting Easily Frustrated, Chronically Inflexible Children (Paperback)
Explanations good . Very knowledgable author . Have yet to put "theory into practice"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get this book, you won't regret it, Jan. 7 2015
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Such a helpful and insightful book. A must for anyone parenting a child like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Nov. 14 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Explosive Child: A New Approach for Understanding and Parenting Easily Frustrated, Chronically Inflexible Children (Paperback)
Well worth buying and reading if you have a child with anger or explosive episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Dec 21 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I didn't order Connected Parenting....hope it didn't get ordered in error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Start!, March 11 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Explosive Child: A New Approach for Understanding and Parenting Easily Frustrated, Chronically Inflexible Children (Paperback)
I've been trying this out with my daughter. One day she was on her way into a fit with tears and whining when she said, "Mom, I want to do that talking thing right now." I hadn't told her I was trying something new on her, but she must have noticed anyway. It's surprising how often she can't come up with any solutions to her problems. The book makes sense and I'm optimistic that my daughter will become more emotionally mature in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 4 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Explosive Child: A New Approach for Understanding and Parenting Easily Frustrated, Chronically Inflexible Children (Paperback)
Many helpful ideas and explanations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book but not for children with auditory problems, Nov. 16 2011
Ce commentaire est de: The Explosive Child: A New Approach for Understanding and Parenting Easily Frustrated, Chronically Inflexible Children (Paperback)
After coping for several years with a difficult child (diagnosed with ADHD/ADD, ODD, severe sensory issues and severe receptive language disorder), this book was recommended by the school behaviorial consultant. While I think that Dr. Greene has written an excellent manuel that is both enlighting and informative, it has not worked for my son. Repeated efforts by the school to apply this method has resulted in an increase in his aggressive behaviors and violence and it is due to the fact that Dr. Green's methods involved reasoning and talking. With my son's auditory issues and receptive language delays (he's 8 but functioning at a 6 year old level), application of his methods only serves to frustrate my son more. My son also has executive function delays as well, which means that, at this time, he is not fully capable of the level of reasoning required by a child to be successful with this program. For children such as my son, this book and methods are probably best left until such time as the child is older and funtioning at a high level. Dr. Greene does not address auditory processing disorder in his book, much to my chagrin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Explosive Child, June 6 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ross Greene describes the reaction of children who have not acquired self control perhaps at the same rate as their peers when faced with situations that are beyond their ability.As he says "they would if they could"meaning children do not set out to be unruly but explode, have temper tantrums etc. when they become overwhelmed by the demands placed on them.A must read by parents who are at their ropes end and don't know what they can do to raise a child who is more compliant with requests by parents and teachers. Speaking of teachers, they would benefit greatly by reading Ross Greene's book,"Lost at School" so that parents and teachers would be on the same page when interacting with "difficult" children.The outcome is a win-win for everyone involved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, June 25 2013
By 
Cindy Lalonde "cindyls" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Explosive Child: A New Approach for Understanding and Parenting Easily Frustrated, Chronically Inflexible Children (Paperback)
My daughter received this book from my grandchild's school. I ordered copies for the my grandson's other grandparents and daughter. This book is soooooo informative, and extremely easy to read. Greene has offered alternative parenting skills to parents that ease the anxiety and stress not only for the child but parents too. The difference in my grandson, and the difference in the atmosphere in my daughter's home is beyond words. No parent should be without this book even if they don't have a troubled child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews