Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary caffeine! Great read
Crush it........ Ohhhhh am I'm going to CRUSH IT!

It is like social media concentrate, when I got the book I was a bit disappointed at the thickness of it but in the end that is one of the best parts, it does not flood you with tons of info. It gives you the info and tools you need to kick start your dream, and not confuse you on what path you should take. It...
Published on Oct. 11 2009 by Ben Eadie

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring but Lacking the Details
You have to dig Gary's Enthusiasm. He says everything with so much passion and gusto, that you do get absorbed in this book. During the read (which is short, it's a very easy read) you feel compelled to work on your own personal brand. It gets you to think about your passion. I enjoyed that part as it left me inspired, for a short amount of time reading the book (about 3...
Published on Nov. 9 2010 by Darren B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring but Lacking the Details, Nov. 9 2010
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
You have to dig Gary's Enthusiasm. He says everything with so much passion and gusto, that you do get absorbed in this book. During the read (which is short, it's a very easy read) you feel compelled to work on your own personal brand. It gets you to think about your passion. I enjoyed that part as it left me inspired, for a short amount of time reading the book (about 3 days) and it quickly dissipated thereafter.

This is an account of what worked for Gary. I think I try to keep in mind that I don't really view Gary as a consultant or coach, therefore I attribute him towards having very little experience in expressing what others should do and more knowledge about expressing what happened to work one time for himself. He has been working as a consultant since the book came out, so I'd be curious to see what changes he would make to this book, now that he has a little more perpective on others, versus just a perspective on himself. I find that books of this nature are best written by people who have experience in working with others on the subject matter.

In closing, he's a better video blogger than writer (he admits to this himself in the book a few times) but what the book really lacks is substance. It's vague, covers a wide assortment of topics but everything only briefly, as if to only to give you a little taste of what he's utilized to facilitate his own success. After a certain point, you kind of feel let down. On one hand, it is cool to see the process Gary went through, on the other, sad that he didn't include more details about a little more than just the basics. I would have liked to see a little more info on individualization and what his experience working with others has yielded. At least he is real about it all though. His authenticity is refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary caffeine! Great read, Oct. 11 2009
By 
Ben Eadie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
Crush it........ Ohhhhh am I'm going to CRUSH IT!

It is like social media concentrate, when I got the book I was a bit disappointed at the thickness of it but in the end that is one of the best parts, it does not flood you with tons of info. It gives you the info and tools you need to kick start your dream, and not confuse you on what path you should take. It gives you what you need, nothing more. That is more valuable than a few more pages.

The book starts by pumping you up, giving you hope, and opening the door so you can see the light at the end of the tunnel, In a way only the infectious Gary Vee can. Then he jumps right into tooling you up with the online resources you need to 'CRUSH IT' and get on with living your dream. There is no candy coating and he tells you like it is. It is a ton of work. But if you are doing what you love it will not seem like work, you will be living, not working.

A words of warning, it is literary caffeine. Personally, I am going to crush it, super nova style!

Ben.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An energizing book full of ideas from a social media master, Feb. 15 2010
By 
Jeremy W. Newton "Jeremy Newton" (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
Different people motivate in different ways. At first I thought Gary V was too "in-your-face" for me as I tend to be more of a relaxed guy. After a few episodes of WLTV I realized that Gary was simply being Gary. He is excited... all the time. It doesn't take long to notice that this excitement is actually how Gary shows passion for what he loves. You can see this passion in his Wine Library TV episodes, his keynote speeches (or Q&A sessions) and his book Crush It.
The book is a quick read and is focused on how you can and should be doing what you are passionate about - no excuses. Gary V tells you why social media and the internet in general make it easier than ever to build your brand online and get out there into the world. He explains that success goes to those who hustle and value customer service (hustle meaning hard work).
He does all this while spilling entertaining stories of youth and success that make you want to get out into the world and Crush It as soon as you turn the final page. The book itself gets four stars but Gary earns a fifth star for narrating the audio book himself and going off script a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time To Kick It Up A Notch & CRUSH IT!, Nov. 17 2009
By 
Salvatore Nocitra "Salviss" (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
Disclaimer: This is my first review for any book or product on Amazon or anywhere really, and I took the time to submit this review because I feel it warranted it.

The book is thin 140 ish pages... but I like that... no fluff.. easy to read.. straight from the hip... just like Gary himself.

As someone who is relatively new to the world of "Social Media" I stumbled upon of Gary V last year and bookmarked his site. It wasn't until this July (09) that I checked out his site again and began to follow him in other social media channels. I noticed how he worked his magic and served his secret sauce to his nation / followers / customers. He is the real deal and a leader in the Web 2.0 world by not only providing killer content and products... but by genuinely caring for the people who are his followers / customers. He spends countless hours being in the trenches, listening and sharing with the people.

You get a feel for that in the book and I found this to be a great book on many levels. It is inspiring & I couldn't help but be touched by his passion, hustle & caring.

The book is a perfect starting point for someone who wishes to learn about how to navigate and succeed (make actual dollars) in this new age of business.

There is also an online version that is called a "Vook" which I also purchased. Personally I prefer reading the physical book over online text but there is a video for each chapter that I found enhanced my connection to the author and his message. (It's also worth checking out.. just google VOOK)

If your still on the fence... then I recommend you follow Gary for a couple of weeks & you can then decide wether to purchase it or not. (Just google his name and follow him on wine library TV, Twitter, or Face-book.)

After reading it... chances are you will kick it up a notch & begin to 'CRUSH IT!' too. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless if you are already familiar with social media, April 24 2012
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
While I did enjoy reading about the author's journey to his success, I found the book lacking in useful content.

I was hoping to get some unique tips on building a personal brand but instead this book basically tells you to use twitter, youtube and Facebook (along with other less popular platforms). I'm already quite familiar with social media platforms and the book didn't tell me anything new about how to use them.

Also, the advice/suggestions that the author gives you is a bit unrealistic.... such as suggesting that you quit your day job (if not now, soon) to build your web business or else you'll have to work until 3am to meet your goals. He suggests that if you are passionate enough and use social media then you can make a lot of money. I honestly believe that most of us will be luckily to ever make a tiny fraction of his $60-million business. Of course he acknowledges that some of us will fail, but blames that on people who he says do not fully commit to their projects, aren't authentic and don't have enough passion. If only it was so easy.

Overall, I disliked the preachy and repetitive tone of the book and didn't learn much from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Se lit comme une lettre à un ami, (Friend's letter), June 24 2011
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
Français
Ce livre est plus près d'une lettre d'encouragement qu'un ami vous écrirait, avec de bons conseils sur la façon de vous faire remarquer dans le monde internet.
Quelques bons trucs sur le fonctionnement de l'internet en 2011.

English
In plain English, Crunch it: Is a book written in a style of a long letter written to a friend looking for some good advises on how to get notice into the internet world.
That book can be a help and a spirit lifter for a moment.

Normand Sauvageault
Québec, Canada

Lien pour le livre (Link to that book):

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Promoting yourself online, April 4 2010
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
Another small book that packs a mean, realistic punch. It hammers home the message that you are your product and success depends on your productivity and online presence. So, for those of you who are trying to live a truly balanced life, you may want to consider this piece of advice from Gary on page 88: "If you're looking for an easier time here, you're barking up the wrong tree...assuming you're doing this right, you'll be bleeding out of your eyeballs at your computer." If, however, you're all about hustle and don't know too much about the potential and power of the internet, then it is a great primer on fulfilling the all-American dream by means of combining your passion with the web. Check out the 21-point checklist in Appendix A (pages 135-137) and see if you really want to crush it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, worth a read, Dec 22 2009
By 
Gp "Gp" (Keswick, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
If you are fan of personality ethic self-development books, this is the one for you. Gary Vee's simple rules is to work hard and care about all the people you are talking to. This is sound advice that carries way beyond entrepreneurship. It's a good book and a fun narrative. Definitely worth reading, but nothing mind blowing other than the personal stories from Gary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, Aug. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A brilliant mind that seems never to stop. Gary is not only inspirational, but he has substance. His message is implicit with the understanding that he lives what he believes. A very encouraging and important book for emerging and existing entrepreneurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No Need to Crush This Time Waster, Nov. 4 2013
This review is from: Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion (Hardcover)
Unfortunately this felt like one long infomercial that I actually had to pay to read. You know the type - you sit there watching, hoping that there will be real substance to justify your time but in the end you only wish you could get your time back and in this case your money...

Paul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion
Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion by Gary Vaynerchuk (Hardcover - Oct. 5 2009)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 16.92
In stock on September 26, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews