countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
132
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 16, 2016
I enjoyed reading this story about the unconditional love of mothers for their children (no matter if biological or adopted) and about how to overcome cultural differences in families and personal relationships. (The story is of course more complex than that.)
I would have preferred to stay with the characters longer in one moment of time. I felt I was racing through the years and didn't have a chance to get to know the characters well enough.
I liked the detailed insight into the life of the 2 Indian families.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
Well written, excellent detail. A book that was hard to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2016
I really enjoyed this impelling story.Well written!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2016
Let me wipe my tears away to review this stunner of a book. While it had moments slightly contrived, the soul and humanity it exudes are deeply, deeply compelling. It tackles so many sweeping and complicated issues - international and interracial adoption and marriage, sex selection and preference in birth, the pain of adoption and loosing children in general, the kind of free-floating feeling of being disconnected from one's heritage, poverty... And it does all of this from an incredibly personal and authentic set of perspectives. One thing I really loved was the complexity of the two marriages it follows. Both were given ample time to both fall apart and be rebuilt in such different and yet similar ways; both threads were so true to the real challenges that face all of us in relationship. Our imperfection as humans, how our mistakes and failings impact those we love... And how our foundational love can draw us through even the most shattering moments of division. I really couldn't put this one down. Do yourself a favour, and read it. It's worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2016
loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2016
great book and awesome condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2016
Very interesting story, well written, and kept me engaged to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon March 2, 2016
I seem destined lately to read books that tell the tale of two people or two families, alternately, back and forth throughout the book. Secret Daughter, a novel, by Shilpi Somaya Gowda is the third story of this type I’ve read in the last couple of months. Each has been a compelling story in its own way; each has had a different style and voice.

Secret Daughter tells the story of a girl born in India and put up for adoption because of poverty and the greater value of a boy. The author follows baby Asha — Hope (although her birth mother named her Usha — Dawn) to California with her adoptive parents: Somer, an American, and Krishnan, an East Indian who came to the U.S. to study to become a doctor. The story also continues to follow Asha’s birth parents: Kavita and Jasu Merchant who lived in a small northern village called Dahanu when Asha was born, but later, moved to Mumbai where there were hoping to have better opportunities for success. The year after Asha was born and given up for adoption, the Merchants were blessed with a boy who they called Vijay — Victory. Vijay was six years old when his family moved to Mumbai.

This is a touching story about cultural differences, feelings of inadequacy, longings to fit in, and the complex problems that accompany adoption when a child is taken away from its culture. Yet the story is one of hope, because as a young adult, Asha learns about family:

"At some point, the family you create is more important than the one you’re born into."(p307)

The three women are the main focus of the story: Asha, her birth mother — Kavita, and her adoptive mother — Somer. Growing up, Asha felt different, that she had a past she knew nothing about. When her grade three teacher asked them to write a letter to someone in another country, Asha wrote to her birth mother. But when she asked her father to mail it, Krishnan tells her he doesn’t know where her mother lives. Asha is confused and often lashes out at Somer; Somer often feels odd man out because she is the only non-Indian in her family. She had desperately wanted a child and when she learned she couldn’t, she and Krishnan opted to adopt a child from India. Somewhere along the way, it had started to fall apart.

Both Krishnan and Somer want Asha to become a doctor like them and push her to excel in math and science. But Asha has other ideas. She wants to be a journalist; she’s terribly excited about journalism and seeking the truth. When she wins a one-year scholarship to do a story about children growing up in the slums of Mumbai, Somer is worried and angry. She realizes Krishnan already knew about this and both husband and daughter had kept it from her. When Asha leaves for Mumbai, she has a second agenda: seeking out her birth parents. Somer feels she has lost touch with everything that was important in her life and decides to move out.
Arriving in Mumbai, Asha discovers her grandparents and many, many aunts, uncles, and cousins who sweep her up into their love. She learns much from early morning walks with her grandmother who encourages her to do what she feels she must. Asha thinks she knows what to expect in India but becomes aware that everything she thought she knew was more complicated than she realized; everything including what she thought she knew about family.

This is very much a story of Asha coming of age, but also about how two families are affected by adoption, and how two cultures that seem to clash are able to mesh and learn from each other. It is also about what the author refers to as “the two Indias”, Dharavi, the enormous shantytown, and the India of Asha’s family where there is space, luxury and servants. But as Asha learns, even in Dharavi there is hope for a future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2015
Understanding the pain and pressure that society puts on people based on religion and culture was very enlightening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2015
Un peu de Longueur dans la description de la misère qui règne dans ce pays (l'Inde)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$12.33
$11.16