Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of a huge range of survival topics
This is a great book for reviewing the basic concepts around a huge range of survival situations and skills. The book starts off with a few chapters on the basics of survival- mental attitudes, equipment, planning, and general tips. It then briefly explores how to survive, in basic terms, in different wilderness environments, from deserts to rain forests to the arctic...
Published on Feb. 19 2011 by A. Volk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very good info
covers many subjects but cannot go into a lot of detail or the book would be huge. Good as a field gide if many of the subjects have been previously researched. Not a one book fix, though. Still it will get you out of a fix if you are stuck.
Published on July 24 2012 by patagaway


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of a huge range of survival topics, Feb. 19 2011
By 
A. Volk (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a great book for reviewing the basic concepts around a huge range of survival situations and skills. The book starts off with a few chapters on the basics of survival- mental attitudes, equipment, planning, and general tips. It then briefly explores how to survive, in basic terms, in different wilderness environments, from deserts to rain forests to the arctic. Each environment gets four to six pages, so this isn't a detailed, in-depth look at survival. Rather, it's a quick look meant to point out some of the more important information.

Next up is my biggest disappointment in the book. Out of almost six hundred pages, around one hundred are spent talking about finding food. Even though the book repeatedly states how you can go for weeks without food and still survive. Tips on mushroom picking, plant harvesting, and especially hunting are likely to be futile at best, back-fire at worst. There are nice color pictures of various plants which is a helpful bonus, but many edible plants look dangerously like poisonous plants, even more so with mushrooms, so this is a dangerous bit of advice. As for hunting, the idea of someone crashing in a plane, building their own bow, then hunting, killing, skinning, and eating big game is somewhere between ludicrous and sheer fantasy. So while the chapter was sort of fun to read, some of the space could have been better utilized elsewhere.

Following this chapter are chapters including: finding and building shelters, rope use, first aid, navigation, signaling, and surviving in ocean environments. The book ends with a description of survival in urban disasters, ranging from terrorist attacks to tsunami's. The last page of the book reiterates the author's basic philosophy. The most important facet of survival is will. Then knowledge/skill. Then gear. This agrees with what I've read in every other book on the topic. So while this book is an important book to read for those interested in survival, it's just a (good & easy to read) starting point for cultivating the skills, and more importantly the will, to survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extensive introductory to survival, Jan. 22 2013
By 
Charles S (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book will get you through most survival situations. While extensive, it should not be your only source of knowledge. The plant section is excellent (although not exhaustive) and includes colour drawings to better help you identify different types. Quite a few plants that were listed can be used for other purposes which were not listed, this is why other knowledge sources are key!

A must have for any traveler's backpack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book size, Jan. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SAS Survival Guide 2e (Collins Gem) for Any Climate, for Any Situation (Paperback)
I choose this rating 4 out of 5 because of my age and my eyesight. The book is top notch information and I highly recommend its purchase to everybody. My only concern was on the small size of the book (although who wants to lug around a big heavy book in a survival situation) and the need to wear reading glasses. Still 4 1/2 out of 5 is a high rating and everyone can learn some amazing information from this book.Thankyou Dave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survival for all regions in the world, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am still half way through and is jam packed book with a survival tips and techniques.I can not comment in full but so far is very good book.But for all weekend warriors and survivalist applying these skills in real life situation is something that this book will provide, but does require practice.Like the fact that I can learn how to skin small animal etc...Print quality is fairly decent some color stuff too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you're crazy NOT to buy, April 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There will always be different philosophies when it comes to survival. With that in mind, this book has snares, colour pictures of plants, pictures of snakes, howto's for building a shelter, starting fires, and so... so much more!

you may be a survivalist, and you may disagree with some of the things mentioned in this book, but you cannot disagree about owning this book. It is a must have.
-B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, Feb. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has lots of great information with regards to your survival. There are many different tricks tips and tools to use while you are out surviving on the land. This book is geared towards those who do not have significant knowledge of the outdoor survival skills, however would likely serve as a great refresher for those who do! Awesome purchase, glad to add it to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good survival book!, Aug. 19 2014
By 
Q. T. Vo (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nice little reading! It might be a little over the top if you just go camping, but the knowledge in this book is never truly lost, as it could save your life! If you like TV series about surviving in the wild, this book is right up your alley!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very good info, July 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
covers many subjects but cannot go into a lot of detail or the book would be huge. Good as a field gide if many of the subjects have been previously researched. Not a one book fix, though. Still it will get you out of a fix if you are stuck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get it!!!!!, May 21 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SAS Survival Guide 2e (Collins Gem) for Any Climate, for Any Situation (Paperback)
I am not an outdoorsman. However, I am I interested in that knowledge that will help me. That knowledge that would have never occurred to me unless I came accross a book such as this. I LOVE it, and you will too!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING BOOK, Jan. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a pretty good book, plenty of info on how to survive in many different environments, if your looking to expand your library of Survival Guides then definitely get this book you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SAS Survival Guide 2e (Collins Gem) for Any Climate, for Any Situation
SAS Survival Guide 2e (Collins Gem) for Any Climate, for Any Situation by John Lofty Wiseman (Paperback - Feb. 1 2010)
CDN$ 10.89 CDN$ 10.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews