Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of a huge range of survival topics
This is a great book for reviewing the basic concepts around a huge range of survival situations and skills. The book starts off with a few chapters on the basics of survival- mental attitudes, equipment, planning, and general tips. It then briefly explores how to survive, in basic terms, in different wilderness environments, from deserts to rain forests to the arctic...
Published on Feb. 19 2011 by A. Volk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD -- concise, cheap, reliable. BAD -- bad pics, outdated, no depth, no app
*Owned both the pocket and full versions, as well I have purchased the app for android.

PROS

1) Concise, is an encyclopedia of info on how to survive in most biomes.

2) Cheap, for the information it contains the price is incredible. To think that all this knowledge is only 10$!!!

3) Organized. Because its been around for so long...
Published 14 months ago by Canadian Prepper


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of a huge range of survival topics, Feb. 19 2011
By 
A. Volk (Canada) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a great book for reviewing the basic concepts around a huge range of survival situations and skills. The book starts off with a few chapters on the basics of survival- mental attitudes, equipment, planning, and general tips. It then briefly explores how to survive, in basic terms, in different wilderness environments, from deserts to rain forests to the arctic. Each environment gets four to six pages, so this isn't a detailed, in-depth look at survival. Rather, it's a quick look meant to point out some of the more important information.

Next up is my biggest disappointment in the book. Out of almost six hundred pages, around one hundred are spent talking about finding food. Even though the book repeatedly states how you can go for weeks without food and still survive. Tips on mushroom picking, plant harvesting, and especially hunting are likely to be futile at best, back-fire at worst. There are nice color pictures of various plants which is a helpful bonus, but many edible plants look dangerously like poisonous plants, even more so with mushrooms, so this is a dangerous bit of advice. As for hunting, the idea of someone crashing in a plane, building their own bow, then hunting, killing, skinning, and eating big game is somewhere between ludicrous and sheer fantasy. So while the chapter was sort of fun to read, some of the space could have been better utilized elsewhere.

Following this chapter are chapters including: finding and building shelters, rope use, first aid, navigation, signaling, and surviving in ocean environments. The book ends with a description of survival in urban disasters, ranging from terrorist attacks to tsunami's. The last page of the book reiterates the author's basic philosophy. The most important facet of survival is will. Then knowledge/skill. Then gear. This agrees with what I've read in every other book on the topic. So while this book is an important book to read for those interested in survival, it's just a (good & easy to read) starting point for cultivating the skills, and more importantly the will, to survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book size, Jan. 5 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: SAS Survival Guide 2e (Collins Gem): For Any Climate, for Any Situation (Paperback)
I choose this rating 4 out of 5 because of my age and my eyesight. The book is top notch information and I highly recommend its purchase to everybody. My only concern was on the small size of the book (although who wants to lug around a big heavy book in a survival situation) and the need to wear reading glasses. Still 4 1/2 out of 5 is a high rating and everyone can learn some amazing information from this book.Thankyou Dave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you're crazy NOT to buy, April 11 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
There will always be different philosophies when it comes to survival. With that in mind, this book has snares, colour pictures of plants, pictures of snakes, howto's for building a shelter, starting fires, and so... so much more!

you may be a survivalist, and you may disagree with some of the things mentioned in this book, but you cannot disagree about owning this book. It is a must have.
-B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extensive introductory to survival, Jan. 22 2013
By 
Charles S (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
This book will get you through most survival situations. While extensive, it should not be your only source of knowledge. The plant section is excellent (although not exhaustive) and includes colour drawings to better help you identify different types. Quite a few plants that were listed can be used for other purposes which were not listed, this is why other knowledge sources are key!

A must have for any traveler's backpack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survival for all regions in the world, Jan. 7 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I am still half way through and is jam packed book with a survival tips and techniques.I can not comment in full but so far is very good book.But for all weekend warriors and survivalist applying these skills in real life situation is something that this book will provide, but does require practice.Like the fact that I can learn how to skin small animal etc...Print quality is fairly decent some color stuff too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I was lost without a cellphone, then I would want this book with me, Jan. 23 2015
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
If I was ever stuck in the wild, on an island, etc. and could only have one book or resource then this is the book I would want. What's also nice is that it's not too massive, so if you're go camping, hiking, etc., and there is any chance you could get lost in the woods, then this book could be as important as having a compass in your backback, especially if you're lost for more than a day or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, Feb. 7 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
This book has lots of great information with regards to your survival. There are many different tricks tips and tools to use while you are out surviving on the land. This book is geared towards those who do not have significant knowledge of the outdoor survival skills, however would likely serve as a great refresher for those who do! Awesome purchase, glad to add it to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD -- concise, cheap, reliable. BAD -- bad pics, outdated, no depth, no app, Feb. 25 2014
By 
Canadian Prepper (Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
*Owned both the pocket and full versions, as well I have purchased the app for android.

PROS

1) Concise, is an encyclopedia of info on how to survive in most biomes.

2) Cheap, for the information it contains the price is incredible. To think that all this knowledge is only 10$!!!

3) Organized. Because its been around for so long the organization has been optimized.

4) Written by a well researched and experienced author.

CONS

1) There is an app available for iOS and Android that you must purchase on top of this book, it would be nice if that were included in the package. The digital version includes some useful tools that utilize your smart phones sensors.

2) Bad pictures. The recent survival craze has unleashed a massive amount of high quality survival books with comparable info to this one, some of which are very well illustrated with real photos especially of plants, user friendly infographics etc this has black and white drawings and some colored drawings of plants that are useless.

3) Plant pictures won't help you much. Its hard to identify certain plants accuratley even with real photos due to look alikes and the fact that plants look widley different depending on what stage of growth its at. Relying on the drawings in this book may be rolling the dice...

4) No depth. This book covers a broad array of topics in a narrow way, you are likely better off buying a survival book tailored to your ecosystem/ biome.

5) Redundant weight. As said above, carrying a heavy book in the boreal forest in which only 50% of it will be pertainent to your environment may be a waste of weight and space...

*Years ago this book would have earned a 4-5 star rating, but nowadays modern publishing has enabled the production of cheap, user friendly graphics, waterproof paper etc, that is tailored to your environment. It simply isn't the most practical, and I would give it a 2.5 if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, April 26 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
This book was recommended by the firearms instructor where i took my course this book is very well organized packed with very good information and detail,it will take some time to read and understand very good purchase and will be a good source of information in the years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good survival book!, Aug. 19 2014
By 
Q. T. Vo (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Nice little reading! It might be a little over the top if you just go camping, but the knowledge in this book is never truly lost, as it could save your life! If you like TV series about surviving in the wild, this book is right up your alley!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SAS Survival Guide 2e (Collins Gem): For Any Climate, for Any Situation
SAS Survival Guide 2e (Collins Gem): For Any Climate, for Any Situation by John Lofty Wiseman (Paperback - Jan. 26 2010)
CDN$ 11.34 CDN$ 11.22
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews