Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking fun read!!
First let me say that Lady Kensington has a much smaller role than I was lead to believe after reading the synopsis. Aside from that, this is a fun read. I have read all of Rollins' previous books and this is one of his best! The plot was fast moving and you don't get confused as to how the characters relate to one another. The ending was a little obvious, which is why I...
Published on July 12 2004 by Xina143

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough of the Sigma enterprise
Just a little too much technical descriptions which I could pass over and not lose anything. In other words unnecessary description. Not one of his best, but will read the next one with his dog as his partner.
Published 5 months ago by Jill Sealey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking fun read!!, July 12 2004
This review is from: Sandstorm (Paperback)
First let me say that Lady Kensington has a much smaller role than I was lead to believe after reading the synopsis. Aside from that, this is a fun read. I have read all of Rollins' previous books and this is one of his best! The plot was fast moving and you don't get confused as to how the characters relate to one another. The ending was a little obvious, which is why I didn't give it five stars, but if you like adventure novels (and I most certainly do!) you will enjoy "Sandstorm."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandstorm review, April 9 2010
By 
Yves Rathe "FireDiver" (Montreal, Qc Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sandstorm (Mass Market Paperback)
Great book,

I've read most of the subsequent Sigma Force series written by Mr Rollins and I enjoyed all of them.

This particular novel answers all those questions I had about many implied facts that they were using in the follow ups to this book.

The story is well tied together and credible from beginning to end.

Basically, a good relaxing and entertaining read!

I highly recommend!

Firediver :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sandstorm rocks!, June 30 2004
By 
Carolyn McCray (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sandstorm (Paperback)
Sandstorm, from its first page (which launches the first mystery), is a true page turner. Rollins is a combination of Michael Crichton, Clive Cussler, and Tom Clancy. He is able to bring to life scientific mysteries with fully fleshed, believable characters reminisent of Crichton. Like Cussler, Rollins weaves a tale of archealogical wonder around mysteries that have their roots in our most ancient history and mythology. Yet what Rollins does best is blend Clancy-style military intrigue into the mix. But he does it with three-dimensional characters that are believable because they are human and humane, flawed and fascinating. Like all three authors, Rollins' plot steams along, taking you on a sweeping journey of adventure and excitement. There is enough cutting edge technology to keep a techno-geek like my husband happy. But as a woman, I appreciate Rollins strong female characters and the fact he cares for his romantic sub-plot in a way the other three male authors I mentioned don't. So if you like scientific mysteries, archeological adventures, and military thrillers, you are going to love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exciting nature tour science fiction thriller, June 30 2004
By 
This review is from: Sandstorm (Paperback)
The explosion destroyed much of the Kensington Gallery antiquities collection of the British Museum when a bluish light struck the Iron Camel artifact killing guard Harry Masterson in the blast. Various people and government agencies want to know what caused the detonation.
Lady Kara Kensington, whose family founded the devastated gallery and its curator Safia al-Maaz find clues that lead to Ubar, a city buried beneath the Arabian Desert. They hire renowned explorer Omaha Dunn to escort them to this legendary ancient city.
In Connecticut DARPA Agent Painter Crowe is working an operation when his assignment is changed. His superiors show him the British Museum video and hand him a chunk of meteoric iron that came from the Iron Camel explosion. They assign him to learn what caused the explosion with the clues leading to Ubar.
As these four people and others head to Ubar, none comes close to conjecturing what awaits them in Ubar: a force that could destroy humanity. Those ruthlessly guarding this force believe the outsiders are the wrong hands because they want to control the secrets at a cost that could mean the end.
This exciting science fiction thriller shows once again that James Rollins is one of the best at taking readers on a nature tour like none they have ever been on except in his action-packed novels (see ICE HUNT and EXCAVATION). His latest tales hooks the audience the moment Harry takes his third puff on his cigarette and never lets up until the end. The key quartet each has distinct personalities and a bit of romance adds to understanding the varying motives of the foursome. Fans will cherish this powerful story.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Rollins whips up a great tale in Sandstorm, June 29 2004
By 
B. Larson (Palatine, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sandstorm (Paperback)
With Sandstorm James Rollins takes his story telling skills to a new level. Sandstorm like all of his previous works is a fast paced, action packed adventure that takes to fabulous locations and keeps the action moving. This is the best Rollins book yet and it is sure to please.
Sandstorm begins in England, and after a mysterious murder, an artifact is found inside an ancient statute. It leads to a race in the desert between two groups searching for the lost city of UBAR.
The story leads of a fact paced, and exciting finish that will have you on the edge of your seat turned each page faster and faster. The writing takes you into the desert and you can feel the Sandstorm heading towards you. If you are looking to be transported away for a fun filled journey, this is the book for you!
Along the way there are the normal twists and turns that keep you wanting more. Some in the past have said there was not enough character development in Rollins' books, but this time, I think there is just enough. You get to know what is driving the characters and can see why they are doing the things that they are.
This is a great book for that summer weekend at the beach or just sitting out on your front porch! Fans of Rollins will love this new book, and if you are a first time reader of Rollins, I am sure that you will be hooked. I HIGHLY recommend Sandstorm by James Rollins!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rollins still going strong!, June 29 2004
This review is from: Sandstorm (Paperback)
In Rollins' latest adventure, we're tagging along with a new cast of characters on the hunt to find a long lost city under the Arabian desert. The main cast consists of Lady Kara Kensington, head of the family empire who funded and founded the gallery where curator Safia Al-Maaz (longtime childhood friend to Kara or is there more to this relationship than first meets the eye of the reader???) covets many long lost antiquities; Omaha Dunn, ex-fiancé to Safia (plenty of tension there!) and covert government agent Painter Crowe (adding more sexual tension to the Safia-Omaha mix). After a mysterious explosion destroys a portion of the museum (caused by a strange lightning ball as it strikes an artifact known as the Iron Camel), an odd artifact is found within a sandstone statue that sends our cast of characters on the chase to find the long lost city of Ubar as they try to elude the "enemy" trying to get to the lost city first. Who gets there first? Who is the enemy? Who lives/dies? Who saves the day? Who ends up with the lovely Safia? Buy the book and find out! I thoroughly enjoyed the story. I loved the fact that many of the main characters were female (as was the token "bad guy") in Rollins' latest masterpiece. Very imaginative storyline and the ending...well...I can't tell you how it ends but it's well worth the time invested! I read this book with absolute fascination, often trying to figure out what was fiction and what was not. Learned something about buckyballs...one of the things I thought was fiction! And cool trick with the sand shoes by the way... I'd love to see Hollywood's CGI experts trying to do justice to the very picturesque and unique scenes found in the last quarter of this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story - very well written, June 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a very good purchase - lots of action, suspense and great characters !!! I liked how the writer added fact to the fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough of the Sigma enterprise, June 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just a little too much technical descriptions which I could pass over and not lose anything. In other words unnecessary description. Not one of his best, but will read the next one with his dog as his partner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous quality of paperback, June 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sandstorm (Mass Market Paperback)
Anybody liking thriller/suspense/science type books will like James Rollins. You start and can't put any of these books down, especially the Sigma Force series. Purchasing from this seller was great, quality of book was superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great one by James Rollins, April 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This would make a great movie containing a the important requirements Action, History and Suspense (part Indiana Jones and part Jason Bourne)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sandstorm
Sandstorm by James Rollins (Mass Market Paperback - April 11 2011)
CDN$ 12.99 CDN$ 11.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews