Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Great read by a great author.
Published 4 months ago by Andrew

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Navel gazing
I'd been looking for this book for quite a while, as I've read all of the other books in the series and really enjoyed them. I was very disappointed.

I found that this book is a departure from the others. Lyndsay Sands prefaces the book with how she was writing this book while dating her husband and that some scenes are "familiar". Maybe that set a bad tone for...
Published on Jan. 12 2010 by Disappointed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, March 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tall Dark & Hungry (Mass Market Paperback)
Great read by a great author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lynsay scores big with another Argeneau tale!, June 30 2004
By 
Bastien Argeneau is a vamp in the grumpy mold of his brother Lucern (Single White Vampire), and his lovely curmudgeon ways was going to be put to the test, with the upcoming wedding of Lucern and Kate. Too lovey-dovey wrapped up with themselves, small details of the upcoming ceremony are slipping by them. Like the arrival of Kate's cousin, Terri.
Bastien has been living in the penthouse over the Argeneau offices, quite happily alone since Lucern had moved in with Kate. But that solitude is about to come crashing down around him as the wedding approaches. First Kate pressed Bastien into picking up Terri at the airport, since the loving couple had other business. Bastien has no problem with that request. It's the second favor Kate asks of her brother-in-law to be that puts the crimp into his quiet lifestyle - she needs him to put Terri up while she is in town for the wedding. Seeing no real problem putting her up for a day or two, Bastien agrees. Only after he commits to the arrangement, Kate informs him that Terri is coming earlier than the rest of her family - two weeks earlier! But it's too late to make other arrangements, because Terri is due at the airport within minutes!
Bastien has viewed the pending nuptials with mixed emotions: happiness for Lucern, disgust at their frequent public displays of being besotted and a wee dram of envy. Bastien is not about to voice this aloud fearing mommy dearest Marguerite will sharpen her matchmaking efforts. She has always insisted her children need to be mated with someone who brings the zest for living back and the Lissianne and Etienne married and Lucern well onto his way, her crosshairs has come upon Bastien and he is feeling her breath down his neck.
Bastien fears logistical problems in having Terri around for two weeks. How do you hide that you are a vampire from a woman living under the same roof for that long? It gets worse when his nephew Vincent shows up. A wannabe actor, he is preparing for a roll on Broadway playing ¯ what else ¯ a vampire! Terri is instantly charmed by Thomas who tries to lure her in helping him "rehearse". Bastien is distracted by the physical attraction to Terri, but his befuddlement is compounded by having to keep an eye on Thomas - a vamp of the old style who likes to keep his fangs sharp!
Matters grows worse as Kate's co-editor, Chris, has one accident after another and Kate ends up installing the editor in Bastien's apartment while his is being repaired. (Note for those loving an inside jest Chris is loosely based on Chris Keeslar, editor at Dorchester Publishing ¯ Lynsay's editor for the vamp series!). All in all, it's another delightful Argeneau romp that will delight readers of the series! In a bidding frenzy, Avon books bought the rights to the Argeneaus. Lissianna's tales in being finished with at least four more planned. So, long live the Argeneaus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars engaging satirical vampire romance, June 30 2004
By 
Englishwoman Teri Simpson crosses the ocean to attend the wedding of her cousin Katie. The bridesmaid has no idea that Katie is no longer 100 percent human as the bride has converted to vampirism and is marrying into a family of vampires including her spouse.
Katie asks her future brother-in-law Bastian Argeneau to allow Teri to stay at the family penthouse for the two weeks leading to the wedding. Willing to do anything for Katie, Bastian agrees. However, he might have reconsidered her stay if he knew that cousin Vincent also arrives to stay there. Vincent has a healthy appetite for female humans enjoying a LOVE BITE or two. As Bastian and Teri fall in love, he makes sure that Vincent keeps his teeth to himself especially in light of driving their housekeeper into resigning.
This engaging vampire romance has a biting edge to it as Lynsay Sands spoofs her previous tales and those of the sub-genre with an intelligent satirical spin. The terrific story line moves forward at a rapid pace once Teri meets the in-laws and never slows down yet makes her and the vampires seem so genuine that a nest must be residing in New York. Fans of an amusing tongue in cheek (change tongue on neck) melodramas will sink their teeth into this delightful "relationship" drama and will adore TALL, DARK, AND HUNGRY.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Canadian authors brings 3rd in series of Vamps, June 26 2004
By 
Bastien Argeneau is a vamp in the grumpy mold of his brother Lucern (Single White Vampire), and his lovely curmudgeon ways was going to be put to the test, with the upcoming wedding of Lucern and Kate. Too lovey-dovey wrapped up with themselves, small details of the upcoming ceremony are slipping by them. Like the arrival of Kate's cousin, Terri.
Bastien has been living in the penthouse over the Argeneau offices, quite happily alone since Lucern had moved in with Kate. But that solitude is about to come crashing down around him as the wedding approaches. First Kate pressed Bastien into picking up Terri at the airport, since the loving couple had other business. Bastien has no problem with that request. It's the second favor Kate asks of her brother-in-law to be that puts the crimp into his quiet lifestyle ¯ she needs him to put Terri up while she is in town for the wedding. Seeing no real problem putting her up for a day or two, Bastien agrees. Only after he commits to the arrangement, Kate informs him that Terri is coming earlier than the rest of her family - two weeks earlier! But it's too late to make other arrangements, because Terri is due at the airport within minutes!
Bastien has viewed the pending nuptials with mixed emotions: happiness for Lucern, disgust at their frequent public displays of being besotted and a wee dram of envy. Bastien is not about to voice this aloud fearing mommy dearest Marguerite will sharpen her matchmaking efforts. She has always insisted her children need to be mated with someone who brings the zest for living back and the Lissianne and Etienne married and Lucern well onto his way, her crosshairs has come upon Bastien and he is feeling her breath down his neck.
Bastien fears logistical problems in having Terri around for two weeks. How do you hide that you are a vampire from a woman living under the same roof for that long? It gets worse when his nephew Thomas shows up. A wannabe actor, he is preparing for a roll on Broadway playing ¯ what else ¯ a vampire! Terri is instantly charmed by Thomas who tries to lure her in helping him "rehearse". Bastien is distracted by the physical attraction to Terri, but his befuddlement is compounded by having to keep an eye on Thomas - a vamp of the old style who likes to keep his fangs sharp!
Matters grows worse as Kate's boss, Chris, has one accident after another and Kate ends up installing the editor in Bastien's apartment while his is being repaired. (Note for those loving an inside jest Chris is loosely based on Chris Keeslar, editor at Dorchester Publishing ¯ Lynsay's editor for the vamp series!). All in all, it's another delightful Argeneau romp that will delight readers of the series! In a bidding frenzy, Avon books bought the rights to the Argeneaus. Lissianna's tales in being finished with at least four more planned. So, long live the Argeneaus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take a bite out of this one, July 24 2004
By A Customer
I thought Anne Rice had cornered the market on Vampires--not so. This is one funny, sexy, and terrific book. I'm a bit of a sucker (sorry) for anything this well done, and while I'm like any other red-blooded (sorry again) American, I want something a little off the beaten path. Enter TALL DARK AND HUNGRY. I want to say it's a great summer read, but anytime of the year is good for this one.
Also recommended: BARK OF THE DOGWOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Vampire Keeper, July 18 2004
By 
Judy "book reader" (Cincinnati, ohio United States) - See all my reviews
Tall, Dark & Hungry is another satisfying, hysterical, sexy vampire tale.
Bastien Argeneau has always been the dependable one, the got to guy, the mister fix the problems. So it was no shock that his soon to be sister in law asks that her cousin and maid of honor be put up in his home. Bastien was not expecting in all his four hundred plus years to be falling in love. Terri is a breath of fresh air, which was missing in his life.
Terri Simpson arrived early to help with her cousin Kate Leever to Lucern Argeneau. She moves into Bastien's penthouse and is surprised to find herself enjoying her host company. Bastien is a caring, thoughtful, sexy man.
As Bastien and Terri are thrown into last minute wedding preparations when Kate and Luc are called out of town, they become closer and realize how much they care. But Bastien has one little vampire secret that could change it all.
Lynsay Sands has written another fantastic book in her vampire family. The family dynamics are hysterical. The passion between Terri and Kate is so steamy and so tender.
I hope we get to see more of the wonderful family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Navel gazing, Jan. 12 2010
By 
I'd been looking for this book for quite a while, as I've read all of the other books in the series and really enjoyed them. I was very disappointed.

I found that this book is a departure from the others. Lyndsay Sands prefaces the book with how she was writing this book while dating her husband and that some scenes are "familiar". Maybe that set a bad tone for me.

I found that the book was a series of scenes that didn't forward the plot, didn't develop the characters, or even their relationship. There was little to no tension of any kind in the book to carry me through, and I struggled to finish the book. I'm sure Lyndsay and her husband will enjoy the book for their memories, but I was not impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, July 27 2009
By 
Harmony K. (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This was the first Argeneau book I've read. It got me hooked - so now I own the first 11 books and have the order placed for #12 at Amazon. It's not the best in the series - IMO that's "Bite me if you can" - but it's still a very enjoyable book and I laughed like crazy.

If you like funny vampire books, definitely try this series. Also check out Kerrelyn Sparks' books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A funny, sexy read!, July 14 2004
By 
A. Calo (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a wonderful story! This book, which tells Bastien -- the middle brother's -- story, really lived up to my expectations. After reading the first two in the series by Lynsay Sands, I was hooked. This book is a wonderful combination of the incredible humor found in the first, "Single White Vampire," and the sexual tension and passion from the secod, "Love Bites."
I definitely recommend this book whether you like vampire stories or not. It focuses on the hectic time before a brother's wedding where crisis after crisis occurs -- hilarity ensues. An all-around great read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was just as awesome as the other two!, July 12 2004
I've read all 3 of the series* and I do love the story of ettiene & rachel the best! Bastien & terri's seduction drove me to read page after page w/excitment! Lucern & Kate were such a sweet beginning, although I found her a bit demanding at first, but that's what lucern needed! All 3 books are great reads, and I couldn't put them down, and read them over & over again! I love vampire romance, the sex & seductions are the best! I would love to read about Lissiana & greg next? I recommend this to the romantics, as well as those who read anita blake, and sookie stackhouse! Also some other great reads are Trisha Baker, Cheri Scott, Mary Janice Davidson, Billie Sue Mosiman! Pick up one today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tall Dark & Hungry
Tall Dark & Hungry by Lynsay Sands (Mass Market Paperback - June 21 2010)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews