Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic
I found myself emerged in the battle scenes one minute and then tearing up or angry at the situation the next. Absolutely fantastic.
Published 6 months ago by Snider

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long Shot
Chris Kyle served four tours of duty in Operation Iraqi Freedom, making 160 confirmed kills of enemy soldiers and insurgents. In this biography, Kyle begins by describing his early life, his decision to join the Navy, and the courtship of his wife, Taya. The narrative then alternates between Kyle's military experiences and his home life with Taya and their...
Published on Feb. 23 2013 by John M. Ford


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long Shot, Feb. 23 2013
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Chris Kyle served four tours of duty in Operation Iraqi Freedom, making 160 confirmed kills of enemy soldiers and insurgents. In this biography, Kyle begins by describing his early life, his decision to join the Navy, and the courtship of his wife, Taya. The narrative then alternates between Kyle's military experiences and his home life with Taya and their children.

Kyle's descriptions of training and camaraderie in his Navy SEAL unit are similar to those from other military biographies. The training is hard, the participants are tough, and the officers in the "head shed" have them do some stupid things. The deployment sections of the book describe battle with Iraqi insurgents and the tactics that do and don't work against them. Kyle gives names when praising heroic actions of his fellow soldiers and uses unflattering labels when describing those for whom he has less respect. Don't miss what he says about "Runaway." Kyle comes across as a true solder--capable, patriotic, loyal to his comrades, and ferocious to his enemies. The enemies include opponents in bar fights as well as the Iraqis. We remember more than once that soldiers are very young as well as very brave.

The domestic segments of the book are less exciting, but have a depth not found in the combat stories. Kyle has trouble transitioning to his stateside life. And his wife has trouble understanding the war he leaves behind--and feels he must return to. His personal code of loyalty to "God, country, family" in that order is only a little different from Taya's. Why can't he move his family up to second place? We watch them go through the same growth struggles that all couples experience along with the unique challenges imposed by wartime military service. There are some useful lessons here.

It is clear that Chris Kyle was a heroic solder who served our country well. While his book has its moments--like the time he failed to hang up his cell phone before a fire fight and his wife heard the whole thing--it is a bit less than it could be. Certainly this is not because Kyle's life is uninteresting. But he could have shared more details about his work as a sniper. That's how the book is advertised and that's why most readers will pick it up. By that standard it falls a bit short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, Jan. 3 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found myself emerged in the battle scenes one minute and then tearing up or angry at the situation the next. Absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre book...disappointing hero, Dec 16 2013
This review is from: American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History (Hardcover)
I think the book was okay. Nothing special but it was somewhat interesting.

I don't want to say too many disparaging things about Chris Kyle. However, while he may be considered and American hero because he killed a lot of enemies, the thing that became most pronounced while reading this book was that he was little more than a skilled thug. He was violent, racist and selfish.

I understand that 'violent' is a positive in his profession. Violent people are the ones we need in those roles. However, this guy enjoyed beating on American's too. There's a whole section in the book documenting his arrests and bar fights...with pride! He seems to have an excuse for every one of the arrests but don't most criminals have excuses?

He was a racist. At one point in the book he proudly states that he wishes he could shoot anyone holding a Koran. How heroic. Perhaps someone should have expressed to Mr. Kyle that many of the American citizens that he was fighting for are freedom loving Muslims. Perhaps someone should have reminded him that he was fighting for the first amendment. After all, weren't they there to free Iraq from Saddam and spread democracy?

He was selfish. He ignored his wife's plea's to not re-enlist so he could be at home and help raise their children. Heroic? Perhaps under other circumstances it would have been. However, my overwhelming impression was that he re-enlisted a) because he loved his country, and on an equal level b) he loved being at war. This wasn't a man who made a sacrifice to go to war. He did it because he LOVED it. The sacrifice would have been to stay at home.

Needless to say, I don't buy into the narrative of him being a hero. An ultimate warrior? Absolutely. Hero? Not so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Inside Look at the Life of One Tough Dude, June 30 2015
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I am glad I read this story, if only to gain a better ground-level understanding of how the American invasion of Iraq in 2003 unfolded. If Navy Seal Chris Kyle is anything to go by, the drive to take Baghdad was anything but a smooth operation. The fight to claim Fallujah and Basra from jihadists became the bloody job of special assault units like the Seals. Kyle takes us inside these intense battles as he played the role of a sniper assigned to protect his 'brothers' when under fire. Accompanying this main narrative of blood and guts are a lot of back stories intended to help the reader get a better picture of this brutal conflict. We learn what went into making Kyle the fighting machine he ultimately became; we also get to see the candid comments of his wife as she describes the stress her husband's war service has visited on her and the children. This is not a book dedicated to the valor of war per se. The goal of triumphing over one's enemies through mortal combat gives way very quickly to those more intangible values like the strength and courage of belonging to a band of brothers under fire. This willingness to be there when needed is what both potentially makes and breaks a Seal. It is a sad tale with its brief moments of glory. Whether you like Kyle or not, his personal life makes for a compelling read in terms of what factors shape his character under fire: weapons, training, stress, fear and pride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watching the movie while I was just beginning the book helped me to visualize the happenings a bit better., May 24 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Currently almost half-way through. The stories that Chris Kyle told are very interesting. I normally wouldn't be into this sort of genre but the fact that it is all true makes it interesting. Watching the movie while I was just beginning the book helped me to visualize the happenings a bit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, March 16 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Simply unbelievable..... From the first page to the producer notes... Griping story..

I felt like I knew him.... Thank you for your service... Rest in Peace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good autobiography, April 6 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A very good autobiography of an outstanding SEAL. A very good read for anybody interested in the life of a dedicated SEAL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars insightful and excellent, Oct. 28 2013
Loved the conversational nature and the honest tone. So sorry that Chris is no longer with us. A true hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, Oct. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History (Hardcover)
I love all of the background detail on what it takes to be a sniper. Very well written and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfying. Book Fails To Deliver On Premise, Nov. 22 2014
This review is from: American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History (Hardcover)
This is a book about life as a Navy Seal fighting in the Middle East. But don't look for depth or for even much reporting on what it's really like to do that for months, or even years as the author did. That information's not here. No one's looking for the author to divulge classified material. But there is literally no sense here of what Kyle went through and how it affected him personally. That doesn't leave the reader with much to absorb.

Don't look here for any thoughts on why the U.S. is in the Middle East in the first place. The author states that's not his job. Unfortunately there's also no thoughts on the cost of these wars- financial and emotional, the sheer drain on the country and the economy- or on how paying for battle will affect his kids' lives and his kids' kids' futures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History
Used & New from: CDN$ 15.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews