Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Read!
Very good read, kept my interest through the whole. He truly was an American hero and he should never been forgotten. I would recommend this book to anyone!
Published 21 months ago by 7mm Sniper

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfying. Book Fails To Deliver On Premise
This is a book about life as a Navy Seal fighting in the Middle East. But don't look for depth or for even much reporting on what it's really like to do that for months, or even years as the author did. That information's not here. No one's looking for the author to divulge classified material. But there is literally no sense here of what Kyle went through and how it...
Published 1 month ago by Richard Feder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Read!, March 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History (Hardcover)
Very good read, kept my interest through the whole. He truly was an American hero and he should never been forgotten. I would recommend this book to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfying. Book Fails To Deliver On Premise, Nov. 22 2014
This review is from: American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History (Hardcover)
This is a book about life as a Navy Seal fighting in the Middle East. But don't look for depth or for even much reporting on what it's really like to do that for months, or even years as the author did. That information's not here. No one's looking for the author to divulge classified material. But there is literally no sense here of what Kyle went through and how it affected him personally. That doesn't leave the reader with much to absorb.

Don't look here for any thoughts on why the U.S. is in the Middle East in the first place. The author states that's not his job. Unfortunately there's also no thoughts on the cost of these wars- financial and emotional, the sheer drain on the country and the economy- or on how paying for battle will affect his kids' lives and his kids' kids' futures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, very well done., March 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History (Hardcover)
Chris describes the American soldiers very well, gives praise and credit to his fellow Marines, SEAL's and Army soldiers before even thinking about himself. His detail about his action and contribution for his country is outstanding. We have lost an American Hero, but the legend lives on. May Chris and God watch proudly over his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't hold your breath ..., Feb. 25 2012
This review is from: American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History (Hardcover)
Don't hold your breath waiting for something amazing to happen in this book, but don't hold your nose either.

The book isn't great, but it's not bad. It's written in an almost folks-y style, with small words and short paragraphs. It is a quick read, and fairly informative of the SEAL though process, but it's also very accessible to younger (or less educated) readers.

Also: This book is full of american rhetoric. Talk about how great the common man is, and how horrible the government treats its citizens (yes, "its" is correct, you don't apostrophe the possessive for an object). There are a few contradictions, such as the author praising the humility of the SEALS, and then explaining how they try to cause a larger disturbance during a bar fight than the last group of SEALS. Also, the author claims to be a humble and calm man when not in battle, but then talks about how he wants to shoot other drivers on the road, and his raging alcoholism problem. It doesn't ruin the book or the facts in the book, but it does ruin some of the credibility of the opinions of the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Novel., Aug. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really enjoyed American Sniper. It gave me a small insight into the life of Chris Kyle and what kind of tasks Navy Seal members are trained to deal with. I would definitely recommend this book for anyone who is interested in Military style books, fiction or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little simple but really intersting, July 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History (Hardcover)
Excellent Book!
The sentence are short, the text is easy, but that's what to expect from a book written by a soldier. The text is
easy to read and express well what's going on in the head of a special force. I suggest this book to anybody that want to know more about what's going on behind the war scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, May 21 2012
This review is from: American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History (Hardcover)
I've read many military autobiographies, and this one is easily up there with the best. I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, Oct. 4 2013
By 
THOMAS J GOWDYK - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History (Hardcover)
I love all of the background detail on what it takes to be a sniper. Very well written and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars American Sniper, March 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I listened to the audio three times. I desperately tried (unsuccessfully) to contact Kathryn Bigelow to see if she purchased the rights to the book so I can look forward to her movie version. Chris Kyle is over the top riveting in recounting his story. We'll miss him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, March 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really enjoyed the book. He tells it how it is, life as a SEAL, father and husband. RIP Chris Kyle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History
Used & New from: CDN$ 26.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews