Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Worth Reading, perhaps twice...
If you look at death as a transition state from where you are now, to where "you" will be when you have exceeded your body's limits, then this book provides a guide to understanding some of that journey. This book provides one with a new viewpoint on how life and death are connected. I found it fascinating and very helpful in answering many of my own questions...
Published on Oct. 31 2003 by Mark Greenia

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remember - This is not the Original Book.
Read the Introduction:
"In 1927, Walter Evans-Wentz published his translation of an obscure Tibetan Nyingma text and called it the Tibetan Book of the Dead. Popular Tibetan teacher Sogyal Rinpoche has transformed that ancient text, conveying a perennial philosophy that is at once religious, scientific, and practical."
If you are looking for the...
Published on Oct. 18 2003 by OverTheMoon


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Worth Reading, perhaps twice..., Oct. 31 2003
This review is from: Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying (Paperback)
If you look at death as a transition state from where you are now, to where "you" will be when you have exceeded your body's limits, then this book provides a guide to understanding some of that journey. This book provides one with a new viewpoint on how life and death are connected. I found it fascinating and very helpful in answering many of my own questions about what we can expect in the dying process. The level of detail is quite remarkable and can only be attributed to the few enlightened beings that have experienced some of this process and found a way to share that experience with those of us still here. The scary part is how reading this can bring back memories of actually being in the "between" state and those memories are what help validate the book's message. If you only read one book this lifetime, perhaps this should be the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first Tibetan Buddhism Book reading, Feb. 4 2003
By 
Pascale Headley "pascaleheadley" (Irvine, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying (Paperback)
After I had a dream I saw myself dying in a very specific way, I looked for an answer and I have been recommended this book. I thought it would take me forever to read it but it took me only two days to go through it. Based on the advice of my mom who is an advanced buddhist student, I read it without trying to analyse it. And it was great. The book is easy to read, it's like a story and you just keep on reading. I learned a lot about the Bardo and had a great explanation for my dream. It's a great book to start your Buddhist teachings with. Everything makes sense. It's been 2 weeks I read it and still all the stories are coming back into my head. I am still digesting this wonderful book. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to understand the process of dying and living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye-opener of a read, Jan. 8 2001
By 
Ian MacDonald (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying (Paperback)
This book is like an armour for those like minded people that want a deeper understanding of life and the nature of mind. Sogyal Rinpoche takes lengths to explain in detailed chapters, the MEANING and PURPOSE of life, death and dying; how we can use our true nature of mind to overcome difficulties, and use compassion and meditation to become enlightened in this life. This is a serious book for those that want to follow the spiritual path, of believing and listening to the inner self and overcoming obstacles by healing one's self first. Sogyal Rinpoche has a lot of wisdom to teach and share through his words, and you will find that the end of the last page, you had everything to gain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exoteric, March 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying (Paperback)
All of the above reviews that I have sampled, are falling into a trap many 'western' philosophers get caught in. The psychologist Jung saw only the exoteric meaning. This is not a book on the act of actually dying physically, it is all a metaphor to confuse the non-initiates. The book is about ego-loss, specifically 'non-game ectasy' ego-loss. It is the death dying and rebirth of the ego. The 3 bardo's just represent states that are commonly encountered in the journey. The goal is to die, transcend briefly, and then the ego is reborn and the choice lies in ascending to a higher state (permanent growth) or to go to a lower level (or the same/similiar). That is the esoteric meaning, the entire book is metaphorical, if you aren't aquainted with altered consciousness then you will be lost. Useful in psychadelic ego-loss as well.
The book itself is an excellent guide, I recommend strongly to pick up a version of The book of the dead if you seek consciousness alteration, and/or ego-loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much wisdom, Aug. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying (Paperback)
It has by far been the easiest of many spiritual books to understand. Wisdom flows from every single page. Makes you feel inspired, empowered and motivated to pursue your spiritual practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and understandable writing provides understanding and approaches to dealing with the illness and death of loved ones, Oct. 1 2009
By 
Jerome Ryan (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying (Paperback)
Using anecdotes and stories and the inspiration of Tibetan Buddhism, Sogyul writes a manual for life and death, providing a clear and inspiring introduction to the practice of meditation, to the nature of mind, to karma and rebirth, and to compassionate love and care for the dying, and ultimately how to face our own death. Focusing on death will lead to a much richer life.

One of the few books I have read many times, it provides understanding and approaches to dealing with the illness and death of loved ones. I found the writing style clear and understandable. I especially liked the step-by-step meditation exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remember - This is not the Original Book., Oct. 18 2003
By 
OverTheMoon (overthemoonreview@hotmail.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying (Paperback)
Read the Introduction:
"In 1927, Walter Evans-Wentz published his translation of an obscure Tibetan Nyingma text and called it the Tibetan Book of the Dead. Popular Tibetan teacher Sogyal Rinpoche has transformed that ancient text, conveying a perennial philosophy that is at once religious, scientific, and practical."
If you are looking for the original and first translation of the "Bardo Thodol" or "The Tibetan Book of the Dead" then you should get "The Tibetan Book of the Dead" (1927) by W.Y.Evans-Wentz. The Evans-Wentz version is considered by many to be too technical for most people. Also because it is a literary masterpiece, it can be hard to read for the layman. This is why this version was made.
This version is a more popular version but remember that this is just a new interpretation of that old book which is written in an easier language so that the average Joe can understand it. However it is an "Interpretation" and if you like this book then you should at least attempt to read the original classic from Evans-Wentz. The original classic does not attempt to explain everything for you but this book does try a good amount of "explanation" and although some will need this, you are better off trying to figure things out for yourself. So if you like this book - then get the original work to see the differences, of which there are many!
In this writers opinion this "readers digest" version is good but the original is still the better option for those serious about learning the mystery of the Bardo Thodol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book. Informative and very easy to read, July 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying (Paperback)
Wonderful book. Informative and very easy to read! This book is exceptional reading even for those who are not Buddhist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tibetan Book of Living and Dying, Dec 1 2002
By 
"peaceaug" (Unalaska, Alaska United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying (Paperback)
Absolutely vital life/death tool---every living creature should be exposed, and what a more peaceful world we would live in! I read tibetan Book of the Dead 2X before reading this one, and I cannot really express in words the reader-frienldy love expressd in this book---and for all faiths equally useful! Thank you for this tool, and pass it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where to go from here, Sept. 28 2010
This review is from: Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying (Paperback)
THis is a beautiful, fascinating book for anyone interested in a detailed account of how we get from here to there -- the great beyond! In this explication of the importance of the process of dying, and the embrace of death, Sogyal is thorough and candid in his revealing of this essential wisdom that has been generated by Tibetan guides through generations of empirical research. He uses beautiful examples to explain his points, and talks about his life experiences with some of the most enlightened people of our day. He also includes some beautiful photographs of the faces of people who are his spiritual teachers. A fascinating read, a tender call to action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying
Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying by Sogyal Rinpoche (Paperback - March 17 1994)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 15.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews