Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in Class
We provide this book to undergraduate students enrolled in a business-engineering program to prepare them for situations they may encounter in their first jobs. These situations frequently fall into the "what you don't know you don't know" category of student knowledge.
Besides preparing them for their first encounters with formal behavior in...
Published on Jan. 22 2002 by ebd9242

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you were born in a cave
If you were born in a cave, frequently ask people whether it is day or night, eat with your mouth open, and have absolutely no common sense, THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU!
Assumes absolutely NO experience in interpersonal relations.
However, those who do have limited experience functioning in human society should seek more advanced texts. Very basic!
Published on Oct. 4 2001 by Grant F. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in Class, Jan. 22 2002
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage In Business (Hardcover)
We provide this book to undergraduate students enrolled in a business-engineering program to prepare them for situations they may encounter in their first jobs. These situations frequently fall into the "what you don't know you don't know" category of student knowledge.
Besides preparing them for their first encounters with formal behavior in "informal" business situations (often in job interviews), this book we believe will serve as a useful reference for them as they advance into management. The book is well-organized and well-written. It covers a number of very specific situations that, even if they never occur in one's direct experience, convey the elements of common sense and consideration that underly all etiquette.
The authors thankfully avoid spending time on how to arrange the seating at a state dinner or how to address the Belgian ambassador, a common mistake in books of this genre. What they offer is practical, useable advice on the types of real social interactions that occur in business. A very useful book and well worth the price. Definitely five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How To Succeed In Business!, June 26 2000
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage In Business (Hardcover)
A must-read for anyone who aspires to handle challenging business situations with skill and grace. The Posts provide guidance in navigating the choppy waters of the business world with intelligence, candor, and skill. Most importantly, they let you know which practices are relevant, which are obsolete, and what you must know about the changing face of etiquette as technology advances and the world becomes closer. Their message--that highly effective people are also courteous people--is truer than you'll ever know. The next time you have a client dinner or a staff meeting, thumb through this book first. You'll be glad that you did! --Isadora Fox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite career booster!!, April 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage In Business (Hardcover)
This book is very informative! It contains many practical applications that we all take for granted from time to time. Subjects such as non-verbal communications, eye contact, introducing acquaintances...this book has it all! And it's appicable to every aspect dealing with people, both socially and in a business setting! A true survival guide...it boosted my confidence, and has boosted my career to new heights!!!!
A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT BUSINESS ETIQUETTE, March 7 2000
By 
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage In Business (Hardcover)
Before I sent my young staff out into the professional world, I asked them to read this book. I thought it might help them learn basics like how to handle themselves in a business meeting; how to dress; how to represent the company. It has done all that. What's more, each member of my staff has told me that he or she found the answer to a pressing question (for example, the exact correct form for a memo).
They don't teach this stuff in business school.
This isn't a rulesy book. The etiquette isn't handed down as law or must-dos; rather it is practical, real, down-to-earth, useful advice for everybody who needs to succeed in a professional or corporate environment. There is LOADS of practical information in these 550 pages: everything from how to write a Policies and Procedures Manual (information I might actually need if my business keeps growing) to the proper use of business cards (and how to make them look good). The book is also, dare I say, moral or ethical in its viewpoint: it posits that doing things courteously, considerately, thoughtfully and honestly, is THE SAME AS doing them in a way that helps you be a winner. I like that. I think it's true.
You can use the book either as a read-through or as a spot reference. For example, if you're about to go to your first trade show or convention, read the four pages on the subject, and you'll know EVERYTHING you need -- including such details as precisely where to wear your name tag. (This, like all the information given, is in here not for propriety's sake but for real reasons; the best place to wear your name tag is the place it best communicates your name.)
Even an old hand at grammar found a few useful tips in the excellent sections on business writing. Ah, if only everybody who corresponds with me had read this, I would be needing a lot less aspirin.
Although I didn't personally need the chapter on finding a job, I think it's as good as any I've seen -- thorough yet not extreme, giving advice that you can actually take.
Buy it for your office and keep it where everybody can read. You'll see people picking it up all the time, I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference, April 18 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage In Business (Hardcover)
Recent graduates and seasoned professionals alike will benefit from the concise and helpful coverage of every conceivable etiquette question in this hefty volume. No matter how much one thinks one knows, there is always a situation that will stump even the most experienced businessperson. Not to worry, as the answers are all here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent all-around etiquette book., April 14 2002
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage In Business (Hardcover)
This book is filled with practical advice for practically every occasion. I bought The Etiquette Advantage years ago, and it helped me tremendously. Now, I work in Career Counseling and have passed along the information to many grateful people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, Jan. 17 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage In Business (Hardcover)
A friend gave me this book, and I could barely quit browsing it. Some of the information may be old hat, but the book works as a comprehensive guide to business etiquette. And the witticisms buried here and there gave me a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on subject, Oct. 8 2001
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage In Business (Hardcover)
This is by far the best business etiquette book on the market. The freshness and depth of the Writing and Speaking chapters alone make it worth the price. Never stodgy, the book covers all the bases with clarity and wit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you were born in a cave, Oct. 4 2001
By 
Grant F. Smith (Key Biscayne, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage In Business (Hardcover)
If you were born in a cave, frequently ask people whether it is day or night, eat with your mouth open, and have absolutely no common sense, THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU!
Assumes absolutely NO experience in interpersonal relations.
However, those who do have limited experience functioning in human society should seek more advanced texts. Very basic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Key Reference Guide, April 25 2000
This review is from: The Etiquette Advantage In Business (Hardcover)
This is the complete and full listing of Etiquette in Business. The Posts have done a great job of bringing together a great deal of information into an easy to read format. - Clint Greenleaf, author of "Attention to Detail"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Etiquette Advantage In Business
The Etiquette Advantage In Business by Peggy Post (Hardcover - Oct. 28 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 4.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews