Customer Reviews


545 Reviews
5 star:
 (354)
4 star:
 (115)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful depth of emotion and creative freedom!
Love this book from the unique characters who struggle with real life problems, to the wonderful friendship which draws Jessie into a joyous world of the imagination. It will feed the readers burning fire for realistic fantasy, in a world where they often struggle to keep their hearts open to true imaginative fun and creativity. A book of great joy, and great sadness,...
Published 12 months ago by mary beth trottier dennis

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Review
I think this
Was a great book but you need to be
Able to
Handle emotions. Leslie was a great
Character and my favourite. It's a great book
And I recommend it for 10 years or older
Thanks
Published 13 months ago by buford


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful depth of emotion and creative freedom!, July 21 2013
This review is from: Bridge To Terabithia (Paperback)
Love this book from the unique characters who struggle with real life problems, to the wonderful friendship which draws Jessie into a joyous world of the imagination. It will feed the readers burning fire for realistic fantasy, in a world where they often struggle to keep their hearts open to true imaginative fun and creativity. A book of great joy, and great sadness, and lessons on acceptance, courage and relationships. I recommend this book for children of perhaps 11 and older. A book which also touches on acceptance, courage, determination and life lessons for readers 9-12, would be For the Love of Petey , where a girl named Bella rescues a dog who is near death in a locked garage, then must deal with all that happens next! A good summer read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book, April 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bridge To Terabithia (Paperback)
all in good condition and just like the pictures this books shipped in good time would have like them all to come at the same time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the bridge of life, March 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very heartbreaking but very good book this told a story of two young people using their imagination for every sort of thing. This would have to be a 5 star rating book IT WAS THAT GOOD! I would recommend this too people who love adventures and story telling it has beautiful words but some very sad parts. I did not dislike this book at all but at
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Review, June 21 2013
I think this
Was a great book but you need to be
Able to
Handle emotions. Leslie was a great
Character and my favourite. It's a great book
And I recommend it for 10 years or older
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously sad!, June 24 2004
By 
Luis M. Luque "luquel" (Crofton, Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bridge To Terabithia (Paperback)
This book is hard to describe. I read it before buying it for my niece a few years after it was first published. I thought it was excellent, especially at depicting the mind of a pre-adolescent boy and how he confronts tragedy. Everything about the book struck me as honest, true and insightful at the time. Though looking at it now, some of the author's messages seem to lack subtlety. But how much subtlety do you want in children's literature? Still, I'm sure the author would be offended to hear me call this "children's literature." The fact is it's a great and enjoyable read that will keep your child thinking for a long time. But it's also a book that any adult can enjoy and will also have them thinking as well. If you don't own this one, buy it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable Life Lessons, June 23 2004
This review is from: Bridge To Terabithia (Paperback)
I have read "Bridge to Terabithia" many times as both a child and adult, and have continued to return to it for many reasons. Jess, an unappreciated artistic boy, feels pressure from his family and school to live up to their expectations of "male" behavior, yet he learns with the help of individualistic Leslie that he needs to be true to himself. Together they create a magical kingdom where they can be themselves, applaud each others' talents, and escape the closed-minded world that fails to understand them. When Leslie suddenly leaves Jess' life, Jess realizes he has gained the confidence (with Leslie's help) to face the world on his own. He then passes Terabithia on to someone else who needs its "powers" the same way he did. This powerful, touching book teaches readers to always be themselves, that struggles and tragedies can make us stronger and bring us closer together, that appearances can be deceiving, and that friendship and imagination have remarkable powers. My class of reluctant 6th grade readers loved this book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, Nov. 19 2006
By 
This review is from: Bridge to Terabithia (Paperback)
its sad but a great book. read it if you can and the teenage losers that say its stupid their very wrong!! If you have lost some 1 in your family or some1 close to you; you can relate to this book. Its very heart touching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars :), May 26 2004
This review is from: Bridge To Terabithia (Paperback)
The book was about the relationships characters. There were two main characters. Leslie was a nice girl who moved into the town. She was different that the others students. At first jess didn't even like her. However, later they become good friends. They were going almost everywhere together. They become really good friends.
Leslie and Jess wanted to create a secret place. She found the place in the forest, but to go in that place you have to Cross- River, it was little bit hard. But they went there and call that place Terabithia. They were going almost every day there; they were playing or just sitting. I really liked this book, because it's about secrets, it's interesting to know someone's secret, and keep that in our heart. I feel sorry for Jess, if I be in his situation I would cry and cry ...some part I didn't like in the book, because some words were hard to translate or understand. I would give this book a 6 of 10, because I didn't like the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book!, May 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Bridge To Terabithia (Paperback)
This story begins with Jess trying to become the fastest runner in school. Then life changes when Lesley Burke moves in next door. Lesley is the fastest runner, not Jesse. They become friends anyway. Jesse and Leslie have fun,exciting and scary moments together. This is a good book full of friendship, a little adventure and sadness. The book ends with a horrible tragedy..... I recommend this book because it has many different themes and the characters are interesting. D.E.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read For All Ages, April 28 2004
By 
Sarah Viator (Lafayette, LA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bridge To Terabithia (Paperback)
This story begins at the end of eleven-year-old Jesse Aarons'summer. Jesse had just spent the whole summer preparing for the races at school. Because of his family's financial status, Jesse desperately tries to be better than the rest of his classmates. He strives to be the fasted runner in his class. He then meets Leslie Burke when she moves to their town. However, he didn't expect to be beat by a girl. Leslie did not care about the fact that she was faster than all the boys. Jesse becomes one of the few people who talk to Leslie. Leslie looks different from many of the rest of the girls at school. And for that reason she is constantly teased. Once Jesse and Leslie become friends they face many adversities. Together they build a secret palace in the woods outside their house. They utilize a vine to access their secret palace. Upon returing from a trip, Jesse is confronted with some terrible news. This story is a timeless story of the importance of friendship. It is great for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bridge To Terabithia
Bridge To Terabithia by Katherine Paterson (Paperback - June 17 1987)
CDN$ 8.75 CDN$ 8.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews