Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally honest autobiography
Although I knew very little about Patti Smith or the punk rock scene in New York City of the 1970s, I decided to buy this book on the strength of its reviews. Just Kids is not a story about Patti Smith the Legend, but about Patti Smith, a girl from New Jersey who came to New York to find herself. And what a fascinating story it is. With poetic prose, humour and...
Published on March 26 2011 by wabibito

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
dont know bought it for the wife
Published 1 month ago by no


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally honest autobiography, March 26 2011
This review is from: Just Kids (Paperback)
Although I knew very little about Patti Smith or the punk rock scene in New York City of the 1970s, I decided to buy this book on the strength of its reviews. Just Kids is not a story about Patti Smith the Legend, but about Patti Smith, a girl from New Jersey who came to New York to find herself. And what a fascinating story it is. With poetic prose, humour and nakedness, Smith recalls her early years in New York City and how, with the mutual love and respect of Robert Mapplethorpe, the foundations of their futures were laid down.

Part of the beauty of her writing is that although we know she will become Patti Smith the Legend, she never conveys a certainty that she will "make it". Rather, she focuses on her and Mapplethorpe's hunger to create and to define themselves and their crafts.

Equally fascinating as Smith's personal story, is the story of New York City in the 1970s. How I would have loved to have been there during that time! She vividly describes the vibrant energy of the blossoming cultural movement and the people who made it and recalls colourful anecdotes of neighbourhoods that have long become gentrified.

I highly recommend this book and I hope it will touch you as it touched me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best autobiography I've read yet., July 12 2013
This review is from: Just Kids (Paperback)
Patti wows with her humility, compassion, and mastery of words that leaves you daydreaming, crying, and craving a genre of art and music that you never cared for before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read in a LONG time!, April 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Kids (Hardcover)
Touching, inspiring
A must read, even for those who don't know the legendary Patricia Lee Smith. One of the best book I've read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Classic, Aug. 11 2011
This review is from: Just Kids (Hardcover)
Patti Smith has been many artists in her life. This is the story of how she gave herself to art as her life's purpose, and how that commitment was shared by what can only be described as her everlasting best friend, and fellow artist, Robert Mapplethorpe. The book covers the period largely from 1967 to 1973 for Smith, the period she spent with her sometime lover, sometime partner, but always spiritual muse, Robert M. Stylistically, Smith is still at the top her gave. She is a masterful story teller, taking all shock value out of the seedy life in the "artist village" of New York in the late 1960' to early 1970's. The beauty of her descriptive language and tenderness of approach strips away the culture of some considerable decadence to show each and every "person" for what they represent best in lift, not the worst. Though the worst of characters are most certainly well populated in the book. I truly loved this book. Smith has let us share in her intimate life story of this period; such a wonderful valentine for Robert Mapplethorpe and the "artists" life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeking Fame, March 3 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Kids (Hardcover)
A fascinating time, the ferment of the late 60s and early 70s; and in New York the gawky kid arrives from New Jersey, with her waitress uniform... but, through chance, meets Robert Mapplethorpe, a lovely young god, and they fall in together. Through their life pass numerous icons - Dali, Hendrix, Warhol, the Velvet Underground (Cale produces her first album), Blue Oyster Cult... with reveries of Rimbaud, and a clear view of the great pretender, Jim Morrison, Smith begins to conceive of the persona she will become. Robert discovers his homosexuality and Patti and he eventually cease being lovers but remain confidantes and support for one another - of course, they both go on to fame. A fascinating story, ably told by Smith. Ambition, luck, contacts, and, last, talent lead to success. The artistic milieu is reproduced well and interestingly, along with its politics and both good- and ill-will, and the NYC scene is captured in little verbal photographs. Beautiful.Just Kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Kids (Paperback)
dont know bought it for the wife
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life as a Poem, April 5 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Kids (Paperback)
Very easy to read and yet quite touching and sentimental. Patti showed us the Robert who was hardly flawless but so attractive. I just admire the 1970's when people had so much passion about life. It is life as a poem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow., Jan. 2 2012
This review is from: Just Kids (Paperback)
I cannot say enough about this book, and in the end, I don't really want to try. I'm a music aficionado and spent my entire adolescence obsessed with punk rock, so that contributed to my curiosity about this book. But honestly, I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates good writing. Patti Smith is such a poet that everything she writes inevitably flows beautifully. What a wonderful insight into a vibrant and tumultuous era. I truly believe there is something for everyone in this book. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful memories, beautifully written, Feb. 2 2011
By 
J. Teal (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Kids (Paperback)
This is perhaps an "early" review since I haven't quite finished the book, but I have thoroughly thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Patti Smith has a lovely way with words and weaving the stories of her youth. Anyone who went through the 60s and 70s, who has had a complicated important relationship in their youth, and who knows who Patti Smith and Robert Mapplethorpe are, should definitely take the time to read this book. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable !, Jan. 3 2011
This review is from: Just Kids (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book. A great story and enjoyable read, especially if you grew up during the 60's & 70's. Thank you so much Patti Smith !

Patricia Greer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just Kids
Just Kids by Patti Smith (Hardcover - Jan. 11 2010)
CDN$ 33.50 CDN$ 21.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews