Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Should be 7+stars--Learn it! Live it! Love it! CONQUER!
Career stalled out? Tired of being Mr. Nice Guy and getting savaged by all the young, smiling MBAs clambering up the sides of your cubicle with rapine, blood, murder and stock options in their eyes? Tired of seeing that snarling 30-something driving the Jaguar XJ8..., when it should be you? Fantasize about having that corner office on the 49th floor with the working...
Published on May 29 2003 by Dark Mechanicus JSG

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bing misunderstands Machiavelli, lacks insight
Seldom has any book managed to convey such an ambiguous sense of what the author was hoping to achieve - light entertainment? instruction? wry social commentary? - while remaining so thoroughly insulated from any of them. Statistics are alluded to without the author actually bothering to look them up (which would have gone against the grain by showing respect for the...
Published on April 8 2000 by jj caulwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Oversimplifies Machiavelli, and is really a Business book, Dec 7 2002
By 
O. Hossino - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Would Machiavelli Do (Paperback)
This is a pretty good book for people starting out with Machiavelli. It oversimplifies stuff way to much, and you can tell Stanley Bing really hasent studied machiavelli. But it is written very easy to read, and has valid points, especially about paranoia. It is mostly a business book which i didnt know. But it can also be read as an everyday life book. There are very good quotes in it. Overall, i reccomend it for average people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars My boss just read this book, Sept. 25 2002
By A Customer
I have not read this book yet, but am ordering it now. About a month ago my boss mentioned that he just read this book and how it re-affirmed every notion he had about how to manage. Ever since then he has been on an absolute rampage. He seems to be at war with his own department and the rest of the company. I think it has set him off the deep end. I guess my only defense is to become a little Machiavelli too. What happens when everyone reads this book?
UPDATE:
I bought the book but after about 50 pages it seemed too inane to finish. However, my boss has just been informed he is being demoted and transferred out of my department. Too bad.
I think this was the result of taking this book at face value and putting its suggestions into practice. Either you are born a Machiavelli or you are not. After all, Machiavelli never had to read a book on how to be Machiavelli.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hardy Har Har, June 16 2002
By A Customer
I picked up this book due to a recomondation from a friend and almost gagged at how inane it is. The tittle of this book should really be described as "How to be jerk" Because that's all he does is point out the nefarious dealings of some of socities most cuthroat business people and politicians. But whereas other authors have pointed out the subtlety of the Machiavellan maneouvers, Bing describes his subjects as if they were wearing a set of horns and everyone should be able to spot them a mile away. Maybe its' a bit different down in the US. I live in Canada and believe me no business leader or politician (unless he/she was at THE top) could carry on in this way without getting fired.
Yes the business world is horrible but there are other much more effective books on the shennanigans of corporate climbing than this.
If it wasn't for Bings snarky remarks perhaps I would be able take this book a bit more seriously. You would be far better of reading from the source (Machiavelli) than trying to take any of Bings advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hand book for the corporate ladder climber, March 26 2002
By 
Michael Szyska (N Andover, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book takes the essesnce of "The Prince" and breaks it down into easy to understand lessons, complete with everyday examples. The orginal work is anticdotes of Italian princes, this book uses people like Donald Trump, Madonna...etc. People who know how to get what they want. If you are tired of WWJD (What Would Jesus Do?) get this book for a refreshing perspective on how to manage your every day life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average book, Nov. 28 2001
By A Customer
This is not a bad book. But it should not be taken too seriously for REAL macchiavelian people.
As expected, reading Macchiavelli's "The Prince" is surely much more useful than reading this interpretation... and it's free (try searching for the English text on Google)!
This book is similar to self-help books: they can't really help you, because they teach you HOW, not WHY. By doing so, such books have very limited application, as real life is always significantly different from book scenarios.
Reading about Games Theory, Social Psichology and Cognitive Science will surely take you farther on the task of manipulating people and taking advantage on them.
(by the way, Bing himself doesn't seem to believe his advice, as he made it clear on the last chapter. The last chapter spoils all the book).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All too real. A relaxing read., Nov. 27 2001
By A Customer
Take it for what it is worth...It is worth a read. There are many truths buried in these pages. You can't help thinking about your fellow managers and bosses and how they fit into the context of this book. If you take on the business world with any zeal you will find this book all too real. Business is battle. Only the strong will survive. If you aren't even strong enough to read this book and take it for what it is worth you won't make it. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, Nov. 13 2001
By 
Conrad H. Weisert (Chicago, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this as a joke gift for a colleague, but found it less than amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A horrible little book, Sept. 27 2001
What a horrible, distasteful little book Mr. Bing has written. Machiavellian politics and strategies are fascinating and important, but Bing's approach has resulted in a grubby little book that leaves a nasty aftertaste. I tossed my new copy in the trash the same day it arrived. The first time I have ever done that with any book. There are far better offerings out there. You will regret buying this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good info. to face real world, not to emulate it..., Aug. 31 2001
By 
Gilberto Marquez Pineiro "gil marquez" (Guaynabo, PR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I agree with all who wrote that this book is a satire (sadistic if you will). I see this book as a reality check of corporate behavior that we all have to be cautios about. I higly recommend readign this book to be better prepared for the real world, but not to emulate and/or adopt the author's opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Over rated and boring!, June 15 2001
By A Customer
I am told that Bing is a very humorous author. He tried too hard here, had nothing to say but tried anyway, and it shows. Very boring and not a bit funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Would Machiavelli Do
What Would Machiavelli Do by Stanley Bing (Paperback - March 7 2002)
CDN$ 18.50 CDN$ 13.36
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews