Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the "serious novice"
I thought it was a great book for someone like me who knew ablsolutely NOTHING about investing in the stock market. I found it while browsing in a book store. Although I bought several books on investing that day, this one is my favorite primarily because of it's readability. One of my favortite features is the bulleted summary at the end of each chapter. Now, I have a...
Published on May 25 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Handle with care.
Bill O'Neil's 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Successis a very readable little book containing some sound advice, but none,which in general application, isn't regarded as good practice already by any other book of this type. The majority of this book concerns itself with the application of an investment model closely tied to Mr O'neil's Investment Business Daily, and...
Published on June 13 2000 by S Smyth


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the "serious novice", May 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success: Learn the Most Important Investment Techniques from the Founder of Investor's Business Daily (Paperback)
I thought it was a great book for someone like me who knew ablsolutely NOTHING about investing in the stock market. I found it while browsing in a book store. Although I bought several books on investing that day, this one is my favorite primarily because of it's readability. One of my favortite features is the bulleted summary at the end of each chapter. Now, I have a basic understanding about how to pick stocks which was exaclty what I was looking for. Although the book discusses fundamental and technical analysis of stocks, I did not find it overly technical.
The day after I completed the book, I went to my local library to take a look at IBD and 'lo and behold' it wasn't Greek to me. "24 Lessons" has opened my eyes to the world of trading stocks which to me was an invaluable lesson.
True, it's not a comprehensive book about the stock market, but no single book can be. I viewed it simply as a place to start. Halfway through the book I had already trained myself not to be irritated by the excessive advertising for IBD because I liked what I was learning.
Bottom line? I guess the value of the book is not what it costs, but how we individually can relate to the information presented. But just to put it in perspective, last month my husband went to a "FREE Seminar" [not by William O'Neil or IBD]on investing in stocks. What did he get?--a REAL sales pitch for "trading" software that cost (get this) only $3,995.00! That's what I would call shameless advertising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beginner's Guide, April 12 2004
By 
This review is from: 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success: Learn the Most Important Investment Techniques from the Founder of Investor's Business Daily (Paperback)
I must admit I am an amateur when it comes to the stock market. William J. O'Neil's 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success help put me on the right track to succeed in the market. This book is an in depth report on when to buy and sell stocks, and how to read graphical analysis of a stock.
O'Neil makes it clear that the only difference between the successful person and everyone else is determination and persistence. O'Neil states that one has to pay close attention to each stock, mutual fund, etc... Also, he points out that investing in too many stocks can come back to haunt you. Keep it simple and you will see results. O'Neil is a big advocate of keeping your basket small.
O'Neil goes over buying and selling stocks in depth. He goes into cutting your loses (8% below purchase price). Also, he talks about when to buy at the right time (pivot point). This book will without doubt help any person deciding to invest their hard earned money in the stock market. I know it helped me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good book from O'Neil, Jan. 20 2004
By 
This review is from: 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success: Learn the Most Important Investment Techniques from the Founder of Investor's Business Daily (Paperback)
I liked this book although I would recommend you read O'Neil's classic, How to Make Money in Stocks, before reading this one. That's because this book basically begins where that one leaves off, and concentrates on which indicators and information to focus on as a further aid to analyzing and buying a stock. And not too surprisingly, O'Neil emphasizes that you can get all this information from the IBD. I recently looked at getting a subscription, but unfortunately, the relative strength and sector strengths info only come with the premium, or more expensive version of the subscription, but many experts regard getting and reading the IBD an essential component of their investing success.
While I myself have never used that particular info myself, and have been able to do just fine in the market without it, the stock tables and indicators in the IBD do boil a lot of information and research down into such famous indicators as O'Neil's relative strength and sector strength ratings, EPS and volume information, and so on. Although you could get most of this information from other sources for no charge, IBD puts it all under one cover, and the relative strength indicator is something you can't get anywhere else. This is probably worth the price of the subscription as a time-saver, especially if it helps you make money. So I would essentially say this book is mainly for those who want to use O'Neil's system in conjunction with the info contained in the IBD, and are willing to put out the money for a subscription to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For All Beginners, Oct. 25 2001
By 
Miguel Rodriguez (Bronx, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success: Learn the Most Important Investment Techniques from the Founder of Investor's Business Daily (Paperback)
This is a great book for young adults who are interested in trading. It is also great for those who know nothing about the stock market. It is simple and builds a frame work of understanding. When I first got this book I was hooked. My son is 15 and can not put this book down. It has encouraged him to become more organized and find a clear understanding of his need to succeed in life. And from reading this book trading will also be part of his future.
This book also introduces everyone to William O'Neil's famous newspaper Investor's Business Daily. Yeah he uses this book as to advertise his paper, plus teaches you how to read his stock listings of both the NYSE and NASDAQ markets. But his paper is fantastic. Once you are introduced to what the paper can teach you, you will be on your way to learning more of the simplicty of the Market. But of cause with all things it takes hard work. My son definately learned that and has gotton great encouragement from this book.
I recommend it to everyone who knows absolutely nothing about the stock market. Its simple reading and will have answers to many questions you've always had about the stock market.
Read it, use it, read O' Neil's paper and succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Consider it a beginners guide to Investor's Business Daily, Aug. 4 2001
By 
This review is from: 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success: Learn the Most Important Investment Techniques from the Founder of Investor's Business Daily (Paperback)
Honestly, you should not pick up this book if you are looking for a comprehensive guide to investing. Instead O'neil's "How to Make Money..." is what you should be looking at. Consider this a guide to investing principles as applied to using Investor's Business Daily. If you keep that in mind you'll stay happy reading William O'Neil's latest book. You'll draw out useful nuggets and basic investing principles, but most of all, you'll better understand how basic principles well help you get the most out of IBD.
The book is written in a basic interview approach-- someone probably asked questions and then recorded the answers over a period of years. That makes the volume consise and very easy to read. In fact, you'll barrel through it in no time.
If you are relatively new to IBD, you need to read this. And, if you are a new subscriber you've probably received a copy with your subscription! If you didn't-- with patience, over time you can read through the book as it is reprinted chapter by chapter in the paper itself. O'Neil does this from time to time.
Someone in another review said this book is a giant advertizement for the Daily. No denying that-- but rather than seeing the comment as a criticism, look at it as a worthwhile suggestion. If you are considering getting into investing, I'd strongly recommend Investor's Business Daily as one of your first steps toward starting your learning curve.
And, if the book isn't included with your subscription, then be sure to pick it up at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Look elsewhere, Oct. 13 2000
By 
This review is from: 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success: Learn the Most Important Investment Techniques from the Founder of Investor's Business Daily (Paperback)
I gave it one star because there is not an option for "no" star. What a waste. What should have been a good investment primer is merely a ploy to sell O'Neil's "Investor's Business Daily." Sure, I knew he would pitch his paper when I bought the book. What I didn't know was how much. What would otherwise be a worthy book turned me off. If you haven't bought it -- don't. There are more worthy books out there for your hard earned dollar. If you did buy it, take heart. The information is still valuable and you -- don't -- have to subscribe to his paper. The information can be found on various investment web sites. O'Neil is not alone in this. Other books are out there written for the sole purpose of promoting the author's other books or interests, and most of them are in the area of investments. Hopefully, Mr. O'Neil will read this review and the countless other 24 Essential Lessons for Inv. Success reviews on amazon.com sounding the horn on his -- some what dishonest -- method of trying to gain subscribers for his paper. Let the buyer beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Further Directions on How to Make Money in Stocks Using IBD, June 22 2000
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success: Learn the Most Important Investment Techniques from the Founder of Investor's Business Daily (Paperback)
This book is an elaboration on the investment techniques in Mr. O'Neil's prior book, How to Make Money in Stocks. The elaboration focuses on additional insights into avoiding losses and using technical analysis (examining stock price and volume charts) to pick optimal stocks and times to buy and sell. If you haven't already read How to Make Money in Stocks, this book will lack context. I suggest that you not read this book until you have read that one. If you have read that one, this book will be valuable to you only if you plan to do your own stock picking and wish to use the Momentum Growth Investing model that Mr. O'Neil recommends in that book, and supports in Investors Business Daily. If this book is not yet right for you, based on these qualifications, you need read no further.
If this book fits, then, let me go on to provide some caveats. First, it is often hard to limit your losses in the kinds of stocks recommended by this technique. Following a company warning about earnings, it is not unusual for these stocks to fall 15-40 percent without ever trading at any price in between. So your losses may well be larger than he suggests here.
Second, technical analysis is a field that is filled with ambiguity. Your success in reading charts will not be as good as these examples suggest. Many academic studies fail to find any value in technical analysis.
Third, the kind of stocks that are recommended can perform very poorly if the market goes through a prolonged drop in valuation (as last occurred from 1973-1975). You will be buying stocks that are trading at enormous multiples. You could experience more sustained losses than Mr. O'Neil suggests in such a changed market environment, if it were to recur.
Fourth, few individuals have the discipline to adopt and follow a philosophy like this over a long enough time period to be successful.
Fifth, if you are curious, it doesn't hurt to look. But remember that over most time periods 90 percent of professional investors do not match the market averages. And they have a lot of advantages you don't have. Be sure to also look at John Bogle's, Common Sense About Mutual Funds, to get the other side of the story.
Having heard the caveats, let me say that Mr. O'Neil's advice is basically sound, well articulated, easy to follow, and balanced. It will make good reading for those who want to move toward developing the skills needed to be a self-directed investor in growth stocks being pushed along by earnings and investor momentum.
Good luck with your investments! May they do well regardless of the philosophy you follow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Handle with care., June 13 2000
By 
S Smyth (Belfast, Co Antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success: Learn the Most Important Investment Techniques from the Founder of Investor's Business Daily (Paperback)
Bill O'Neil's 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Successis a very readable little book containing some sound advice, but none,which in general application, isn't regarded as good practice already by any other book of this type. The majority of this book concerns itself with the application of an investment model closely tied to Mr O'neil's Investment Business Daily, and Daily Graphs. And that model is only relevant within the working practices of the American Stock Market, and its performance characteristics over the last forty years.
It seems to me, that by following the recommended procedures, to the letter, in conjunction with the much heralded Investment Business Daily, Mr O'Neil's assertions will be mostly self fulfilling: after all, if you only buy expensive stocks imbued with all the requisite characteristics and religiously sell at 8% below the buying price to minimise losses there's not much risk. But in order to maintain that security you need to keep up with IBD and Daily Graphs at further dollars, since the model is graphically based.
It was, also, quite a hoot to read Bill's opinion of foreign stocks and how they were dubious in comparison to those from the States because of uncertain political climates. As I type this, Microsoft, one of Bill's greatest examples, is being well marked down by the uncertainty of the ongoing anti-trust action, that looks to me, over here, in the UK, as sheer bloody mindedness by the American courts. So much then for the greatly lauded system of free enterprise. For further insight to this, read the, Brokers, chapter of Studs Terkel's, 'Working' in which a long serving stockbroker, Ray Wax, talks about his time in the Market, Jesse Livermore, and the 1066.
Anyway, 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success , is good to read in itself, but care should be exercised if contemplating any further investment in Mr O'Neil's publications, since the not inconsiderable sums of money might be more gainfully employed in some of those less than $15.00 shares, he so dislikes. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and Lucid, May 9 2000
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success: Learn the Most Important Investment Techniques from the Founder of Investor's Business Daily (Paperback)
O'Neil has attracted a wide and deep following as founder of Investor's Business Daily and as author of a previous best-selling book, How to Make Money in Stocks. In this book, he offers 24 "essential lessons" which he has learned from his extensive prior experience. Each of the "essential lessons" makes sense but I think they have the greatest value only when used together (in combination) as you formulate an investment plan. Once you have your plan and begin to implement it, understand that your work has only begun...not ended. Track earnings and sales, frequently check relative price strength, follow chart patterns, etc. (O'Neil's Lesson 11 explains "How to Read Stock Charts Like a Pro", not occasionally but "frequently" and better yet daily.) No doubt sophisticated investors view this book as "simplistic" and "obvious." For them, it probably is. But for most of the rest of us, this book provides helpful explanations and sound advice. Also, as more people participate in 401 (k) plans and exercise stock options, a book such as this can give them a better understanding of their investments. I also recommend this book as a gift to recent graduates of college and universities. The sooner they understand the vocabulary and the concepts of stock investments, the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too Much Advertisement for Investor's Business Daily, Dec 16 2000
By 
Bernard M. Patten "Book worm" (Seabrook, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success: Learn the Most Important Investment Techniques from the Founder of Investor's Business Daily (Paperback)
There is an old Chinese motto that who opens scroll always profits. The same applies to books and you usually can't go wrong reading any one of them. O'Neil's book is no exception and there is lots in it especially for the beginning investor. Perhaps that's why the crass commercialism in favor of IBD hurts so much. Also disturbing are the frequent errors in logic that include begging the question (buy a stock that will go up), false analogy (the stock market is a battlefield), and over generalization (cut losses when your stock falls 8% from where you bought it). On the other hand I like the ideas that paper trading does not cut it: does not give you the real experience of being in the market and I certainly agree that you should sell your worst performing stocks first otherwise you will end up with a portfolio of dogs. All in all, though, you will be better off reading Peter Lynch's books, which have more intelligent advice more clearly expressed minus any commercial pitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24 Essential Lessons for Investment Success: Learn the Most Important Investment Techniques from the Founder of Investor's Business Daily
CDN$ 13.95 CDN$ 12.56
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews