Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Words are the answer
Being the lead creative at a web consulting company in Japan I've noticed a lot of the problems the author mentioned about putting appropriate importance on good copywriting for the web. His advice has helped me a lot to keep my copy human, energetic, and infuse it with unique attitude. Avoid the corporate speak! Most importantly his advice about getting to know the...
Published on Feb. 2 2003 by David Lance Shields

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not much of value
This is more of a survey of copywriter's woes and the general state of online copywriting for Web sites and newsletters and for email. Not much meat and not much that can be of any real value to anyone short of those with very limited experience on the net.
If you're an experienced copywriter or someone who knows their way around, don't waste your money on this...
Published on Jan. 6 2003 by Susanna Hutcheson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Words are the answer, Feb. 2 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
Being the lead creative at a web consulting company in Japan I've noticed a lot of the problems the author mentioned about putting appropriate importance on good copywriting for the web. His advice has helped me a lot to keep my copy human, energetic, and infuse it with unique attitude. Avoid the corporate speak! Most importantly his advice about getting to know the user's voice in order to communicate in a convincing way. The same kind of book should be written for design! This is a great book for any designers, management and copywriters alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE for anyone that has a web-based business!, July 17 2002
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
This book is extremely vital to anyone that has a web-based business! Writing online for a website is very tricky, and if you don't do it right, then your business will not succeed. Nick has portrayed writing high-impact online copy in such an easy-to-understand way, that you don't have to be a rocket scientist to put his valuable advice to work - to your advantage."When it comes to communications, words are the simplest and MOST effective of tools," and he's right! He couldn't have said it better. Sites depend on easy-to-understand language, and the 'simplicity' of your site is ultimately what sets you apart from your competition. This is one of the most valuable lessons that I've learned as a web-based business owner, and the most helpful. My favorite chapters are all of them that he has written, as each gives such meaningful and clear advice, tips, ideas, and suggestions that WORK, and that WORK WELL. Nick also puts you into other people's shoes, so that you can think like a direct marketer, close the sale, think like a customer, and so much more. I could think of nothing better than to have such a 'comprehensive' personal approach to writing online. He has addressed the whos, whats, wheres, whens, whys, and hows of strong online copy, especially in the last two chapters. I keep this book next to my computer at ALL times, and refer to it at least three times a day, often reading it cover to cover at least once a week. The best thing is, is that I learn something new every single time I read it. It's been a lifesaver, plain and simple. I can't recommend this book enough, but if you're ever looking for that 'one perfect book', this is it. Thank you so much Nick for writing such a phenomenal book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The competitive weapon you've been looking for!, Jan. 24 2002
By 
Adam F. Jewell (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
You and all your competitors are spending big bucks, duking it out online for customers, trying to cut the burn rate or increase profitability. The conversion rate on your site is about average; 1%, 2%, maybe even 5% if you are lucky, really lucky.
The conventional wisdom is, of course, to increase your marketing budget; spend more money to drive customers to that same site where 1 or 2 out of 100 becomes a customer, signs up for your mailing list, or requests more information. Your marketing agency, your media reps, and the sales folks at those CRM and software companies will reassure you that more visibility and more technology will be just what you need. Before you spend another dollar, buck the conventional wisdom and snap up a copy of "Net Words" before it sells out.
Simply put, Net Words will help you develop a competitive advantage, the ONLY competitive that your competitors cannot immediately copy or match with a big enough budget. That advantage, oddly enough is a voice, the words you use to connect with your customers; the words you use to touch, comfort, reassure, and connect with your audience. Can it really be that simple? Absolutely!
Nick covers online copywriting like no one else. While others have written about one to one marketing and the vast potential the web offers for this ideal, Nick shows you how to get there. He provides simple examples that clearly illustrate every inch of the process. You will learn simple methods for increasing the conversion rate on your site, improving the response to email marketing campaigns, and truly building relationships with your audience.
Net Words is simple, honest, and maybe even obvious, too obvious. You remember the emperor who had no clothes, well; the online emperor has no c-l-o-s-e. Large and small companies alike, Net Words will help you change that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The True Key to a Successful Web Site, Feb. 6 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
Nick Usborne, in his straightforward style, uncovers the dirtiest secret in the internet: The success of your site depends primarily on the copy. Unique graphics might get you noticed and win a few design awards, but without good copy, you don't stand a chance. Nick gets this message across by pointing out specific examples of sites that "get it" by using copy to establish a unique voice. He also show a number of examples of "corporate-speak" copy that is guaranteed to lose readers. By highlighting the differences between good web copy versus traditional advertising copy, the book teaches you how to write what people want to read on the 'net. Nick's approach to writing copy emphasizes bright, descriptive, no-nonsense and humorous text while eliminating stilted, boring, and unintelligible language. And the sections on writing sales copy (in the right place) is golden. Bottom Line: If you write for the web, especially if you're a one-person show, you need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not much of value, Jan. 6 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
This is more of a survey of copywriter's woes and the general state of online copywriting for Web sites and newsletters and for email. Not much meat and not much that can be of any real value to anyone short of those with very limited experience on the net.
If you're an experienced copywriter or someone who knows their way around, don't waste your money on this book.
I found it amusing how Usborne said that hyperlinks on the web page distract the visitor and should not be used while the author of Persuasive Online Copywriting by Bryan Eisenberg, Jeffrey Eisenberg, Lisa T. Davis is all for it.
In fact, there are no hard and fast rules and we copywriters are not at all sure which way works. My personal belief is that each site is different and that hyperlinks can and do work if you write your scan words just right. But neither book addresses this issue.
A novice would be, I think, better served by reading Bob Bly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Words make the sale on the Web, May 1 2002
By 
Gerry McGovern (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
Net Words really makes you focus on the power of words. As Nick Usborne points out, on the Web, it is words that make the sale. Nothing could be more true. It is amazing that in such a text-driven environment, so little attention is often given to the text.
It can be a revelation for people to discover that the number one activity on the Web is reading. How are you going to be different online? As Nick points out, "Only words will set you apart."
This is an invaluable book for those involved in web content. It is highly readable and very practical. Nick Usborne knows his stuff. He is a professional, and every page of Net Words is full of clear, crisp ideas. After you've read it you will have learned truly useful things about how to make your content make that sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Without a doubt - the SINGLE MOST IMPORTANT book you need!, Sept. 11 2002
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
As an owner of an Internet business, this book has become our BEST REFERENCE that we have ever come across. Superbly written with the most helpful ideas and advice in 'plain English' that everyone can understand. Nick conveys his knowledge and expertise about writing online copy that WORKS in such an easy to understand way, that it can actually DOES WORK. This book is a MUST HAVE for anyone that owns a web-based business. Out of the several books we have read regarding online copy, especially SUCCESSFUL online copy, NET WORDS is the only one we've found to be the most comprehensive, offering such valid examples. Thank you Nick for writing such a valuable resource for everyone. A definite AWARD-WINNER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does it job well, srictly for those wanting to crack the net, July 31 2002
By 
Mrs. M. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
I liked it. It is not your totally over the top, deep book about copy and words. If thats what you want this isnt it. If you are wanting tips, advice and good solid practical steps to write for the web this book does it.
Every chapter is a good one. If you want to know what works well on the web Nick covers some good changes in copy that work better for the web.
If you currently transfer your off-line over to on-line you must have net words. He showes you the massive difference from both and how to get it right.
Good approach and easy to understand. Pays for itself easily. Nice one Nick
Alan Forrest Smith
...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Copy is critical for Search Engine Marketing - Nick Knows!, Jan. 9 2002
By 
Barbara C. Coll (Palo Alto, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
Three years from now the most important person on your web team will be your copywriter. Increasingly, Copy - or rather finely tuned, accurate verbal content - talks to search engines and customers alike. Talented writers who understand your market AND the search engines are already both rare and valuable. As the Search Engines become better and better at "understanding" the copy on your site, you'll be increasingly dependent on good copy with content; and increasingly free of tricks and scams to achieve high rankings on search engine results.
How do you learn about writing copy for your website. You read Nick's book. Period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And all this time I was so confused!, Jan. 28 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
This is the first bit of information on the web that makes absolute sense to me. I can't believe no one ever discussed this before. (Maybe they were too busy trying to confuse everybody with technical jargon to pay attention). The arguments and examples were strong, and gave me a good understanding of how the Internet differs from traditional advertising mediums. Very few websites, (with the exception of Amazon.com) understand the two way communication of the web, and why it is turning the world upside down. Anybody, and I mean anybody who has anything to do with web design must read this book. It's an excellent investment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy
Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy by Nick Usborne (Paperback - Nov. 26 2001)
CDN$ 20.95 CDN$ 19.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews