Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Words are the answer
Being the lead creative at a web consulting company in Japan I've noticed a lot of the problems the author mentioned about putting appropriate importance on good copywriting for the web. His advice has helped me a lot to keep my copy human, energetic, and infuse it with unique attitude. Avoid the corporate speak! Most importantly his advice about getting to know the...
Published on Feb. 2 2003 by David Lance Shields

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good book
Working in PR you learn that words can be everything so it is important that you not only use the right ones but in the right way. This book is a good working tool for anyone who works with words. If one is in PR or advertising, this book, along with Guerrilla PR Wired, is a must have.
Published on Aug. 13 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Words are the answer, Feb. 2 2003
This review is from: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
Being the lead creative at a web consulting company in Japan I've noticed a lot of the problems the author mentioned about putting appropriate importance on good copywriting for the web. His advice has helped me a lot to keep my copy human, energetic, and infuse it with unique attitude. Avoid the corporate speak! Most importantly his advice about getting to know the user's voice in order to communicate in a convincing way. The same kind of book should be written for design! This is a great book for any designers, management and copywriters alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't leave home without this book!, June 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
This book is a definite MUST HAVE for any website designer, newbie to web design and anyone and everyone who has an online business. Simple, easy to understand visuals compliment the text, which is written in a very simplistic manner. This book is wonderful - magnificent - excellent, and will help you greatly understand the elements of successful web design. I've used it to consistently update my own website, at:
[...]
If you don't have this book, you're missing out on your single-most-important investment in your professional life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worth a read, Oct. 27 2003
By 
A. M Wall "SEO Junkie..." (state college, pa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
This broadly covers online copywriting. Nick does his best by speaking to "you" much the same way as your copy should.
He also does a great job of showing you examples of good vs bad in the different writing attributes he teaches througout the book. The only part of the book which looses focus in my eyes is when he speaks of why the copywriter needs to write the copy. I felt like he was making a sales pitch for all copywriters. Other than that it was one of the best internet books I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Personal Copy Sells Online, Sept. 11 2003
By 
Robert L. Brewer (Dayton OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
This book takes an idea that should be perfectly obvious to online copywriters, but is so often overlooked, and shows how and why personal copy sells better online than in your face marketing. Usborne contends that online is different than print, but sees how training in one medium can prepare you for assignments in the other. A definite must read--and it goes by so fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not much of value, Jan. 6 2003
This review is from: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
This is more of a survey of copywriter's woes and the general state of online copywriting for Web sites and newsletters and for email. Not much meat and not much that can be of any real value to anyone short of those with very limited experience on the net.
If you're an experienced copywriter or someone who knows their way around, don't waste your money on this book.
I found it amusing how Usborne said that hyperlinks on the web page distract the visitor and should not be used while the author of Persuasive Online Copywriting by Bryan Eisenberg, Jeffrey Eisenberg, Lisa T. Davis is all for it.
In fact, there are no hard and fast rules and we copywriters are not at all sure which way works. My personal belief is that each site is different and that hyperlinks can and do work if you write your scan words just right. But neither book addresses this issue.
A novice would be, I think, better served by reading Bob Bly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Without a doubt - the SINGLE MOST IMPORTANT book you need!, Sept. 11 2002
By 
This review is from: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
As an owner of an Internet business, this book has become our BEST REFERENCE that we have ever come across. Superbly written with the most helpful ideas and advice in 'plain English' that everyone can understand. Nick conveys his knowledge and expertise about writing online copy that WORKS in such an easy to understand way, that it can actually DOES WORK. This book is a MUST HAVE for anyone that owns a web-based business. Out of the several books we have read regarding online copy, especially SUCCESSFUL online copy, NET WORDS is the only one we've found to be the most comprehensive, offering such valid examples. Thank you Nick for writing such a valuable resource for everyone. A definite AWARD-WINNER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bad for Business, Aug. 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
Usborne says the whole heavy graphics thing is bad for business. Has he seen a movie lately? Star Wars had more graphics than an B-2 Bomber! Special effects are everything. There's this guy, Michael Levine, who argues that you gotta connect with the customer in Guerilla PR: Wired. And I agree!
Okay, Usborne, yeah, the customer's eyes might roll up when he sees my latest web designs, but you know what? They'll remember what site! That means they'll remember the product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good book, Aug. 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
Working in PR you learn that words can be everything so it is important that you not only use the right ones but in the right way. This book is a good working tool for anyone who works with words. If one is in PR or advertising, this book, along with Guerrilla PR Wired, is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does it job well, srictly for those wanting to crack the net, July 31 2002
By 
Mrs. M. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
I liked it. It is not your totally over the top, deep book about copy and words. If thats what you want this isnt it. If you are wanting tips, advice and good solid practical steps to write for the web this book does it.
Every chapter is a good one. If you want to know what works well on the web Nick covers some good changes in copy that work better for the web.
If you currently transfer your off-line over to on-line you must have net words. He showes you the massive difference from both and how to get it right.
Good approach and easy to understand. Pays for itself easily. Nice one Nick
Alan Forrest Smith
...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE for anyone that has a web-based business!, July 18 2002
By 
This review is from: Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy (Paperback)
This book is extremely vital to anyone that has a web-based business! Writing online for a website is very tricky, and if you don't do it right, then your business will not succeed. Nick has portrayed writing high-impact online copy in such an easy-to-understand way, that you don't have to be a rocket scientist to put his valuable advice to work - to your advantage."When it comes to communications, words are the simplest and MOST effective of tools," and he's right! He couldn't have said it better. Sites depend on easy-to-understand language, and the 'simplicity' of your site is ultimately what sets you apart from your competition. This is one of the most valuable lessons that I've learned as a web-based business owner, and the most helpful. My favorite chapters are all of them that he has written, as each gives such meaningful and clear advice, tips, ideas, and suggestions that WORK, and that WORK WELL. Nick also puts you into other people's shoes, so that you can think like a direct marketer, close the sale, think like a customer, and so much more. I could think of nothing better than to have such a 'comprehensive' personal approach to writing online. He has addressed the whos, whats, wheres, whens, whys, and hows of strong online copy, especially in the last two chapters. I keep this book next to my computer at ALL times, and refer to it at least three times a day, often reading it cover to cover at least once a week. The best thing is, is that I learn something new every single time I read it. It's been a lifesaver, plain and simple. I can't recommend this book enough, but if you're ever looking for that 'one perfect book', this is it. Thank you so much Nick for writing such a phenomenal book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy
Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy by Nick Usborne (Paperback - Nov. 26 2001)
CDN$ 20.95 CDN$ 15.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews