Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent "How To" Book for the Weekend Warrior Fisherman, Sept. 16 2003
By 
John Siggins (State College, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What Fish Don't Want You to Know: The Insider's Guide to Fresh-Water Spin-Fishing (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for the average fresh water fisherman. And the humorous stories mixed throughout the book add to the reading pleasure. As someone who spends a few weeks worth of days fishing for bass, walleye and trout every year, there were numerous tips that should help me improve my results. For instance, the author's tips on how to effectively fish weed beds, including what lures to use so that you can attract the fish without attracting the weeds caught my interest, as I have typically avoided this water, even though I know the bass don't! I also recently tried out the author's suggestions for catching walleye, and found his techniques absolutely improved my results.
I would definitely recommend this book to any beginner, or average to above average fresh water fisherman. It's a good read, full of lots of funny as well as true (if you believe the author!) fishing stories, and I found a lot of useful tips mixed in throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even If You Don't Fish..., Oct. 3 2003
By 
Cay Sehnert (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What Fish Don't Want You to Know: The Insider's Guide to Fresh-Water Spin-Fishing (Paperback)
This is not only an attractive, extremely well-presented and well-executed guide to the basics (and beyond) of freshwater fishing, but also a warm and humorous visit to the sport and the humans who love it. The unassuming but effective and informative photos of personal real-life fishing experiences convey perfectly what it means to be among the millions who find fishing a highly rewarding way to connect to the planet in all its earthy reality.Environments, situations, tackle and techniques are also represented handsomely with additional photos and stylish illustrations. The text is sprinkled with engaging "Not So Tall Tales" from a lifetime of outdoor life. The information supplied is more than comprehensive, without becoming overwhelming or confusing. All the crucial keys are here to not only catching more fish, but also to enjoying fishing more, even if they don't happen to be biting.But the major asset here is the unpretentious, down-home intelligence and humor of the author, who proves genuinely entertaining and highly skilled at both of his crafts. Refined and pleasurable approaches to outdoor life are tastefullly and lovingly presented, and never overstated. For the essential basics of freshwater fishing, and for a reliable reminder that outdoor sports are first and foremost meant to be fun, you could literally get everything you need from just this one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can now feed my family :D, Aug. 31 2003
By 
Peter M (Wichita, kansas USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What Fish Don't Want You to Know: The Insider's Guide to Fresh-Water Spin-Fishing (Paperback)
This book was incredibly fun to read. I used to be the average fisherman bringing back nothing for the family. After reading Frank's book I bring back a feast, the fish have no chance. I recommend this book to everyone, it may even teach you pros a thing or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There should be some frightened fish out there now..., Sept. 9 2003
By 
This review is from: What Fish Don't Want You to Know: The Insider's Guide to Fresh-Water Spin-Fishing (Paperback)
This is the best book of it's kind I've read. The author uses a lot of common sense and he doesn't make you feel like you need to spend big bucks on gear. It also has really nice touches of humor. You can really tell this guy loves to fish, loves his surroundings, and loves to write. This book will make a great gift and improve my "luck". I hope Frank Baron keeps writing and gets some well deserved recognition. Buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Fish Don't Want You to Know, June 18 2004
This review is from: What Fish Don't Want You to Know: The Insider's Guide to Fresh-Water Spin-Fishing (Paperback)
A great read. The author's kind enough to avoid the "techy" scribbling that's been rampant in recent fishing articles and books. His anecdotal sidebars are funny and insightful. It really teaches you to fish better, and without running out and spending your rent money on more tackle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book on Catfish and Catfishing!, July 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Fish Don't Want You to Know: The Insider's Guide to Fresh-Water Spin-Fishing (Paperback)
This book provides a good description of the catfish and their sensory perceptions. It also provides a good description of how to fish for them. This book is geared for the beginer and intermediate fisherman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Fish Don't Want You to Know, Sept. 9 2003
This review is from: What Fish Don't Want You to Know: The Insider's Guide to Fresh-Water Spin-Fishing (Paperback)
Good book, great illustrations, humor prevails. Even if you don't go fishing, this book is a good one for armchair reading!
I think it would make a great present for any fisherman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and thought it was a very nice book!, Aug. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: What Fish Don't Want You to Know: The Insider's Guide to Fresh-Water Spin-Fishing (Paperback)
Got this as a gift, and thought it was a very nice book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But every angler should!, Sept. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: What Fish Don't Want You to Know: The Insider's Guide to Fresh-Water Spin-Fishing (Paperback)
The book is packed with easy-to-understand information. I especially liked that the author doesn't recommend breaking the bank on all kinds of expensive gear. I laughed out loud at several parts, especially the story about how his mind works (or doesn't) when he's buying tackle.
If you, or anyone you know likes fishing, this book is a treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hook this one!, Aug. 29 2003
This review is from: What Fish Don't Want You to Know: The Insider's Guide to Fresh-Water Spin-Fishing (Paperback)
Witty, humorous and informative, this book is a must for both the novice and the seasoned fisherman. Don't let it get away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Fish Don't Want You to Know: The Insider's Guide to Fresh-Water Spin-Fishing
CDN$ 18.95 CDN$ 18.00
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews