Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen All-New Kindle Paperwhite Deal of the Day - The Beatles in Mono 14LP Vinyl Box Set SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$18.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(5 star).Show all reviews
on February 17, 2002
Above the portals of Apollo's temple at Delphi one could find the words "Know Thyself". This injunction, as old as civilization, is the departure point for this thoughtful volume. Vince Lombardi Jr. has penned a gem of a book, a labor of love based upon the philosophies and actions of his famous father. It's about winning - through knowing yourself, building excellent character, and living with integrity. Vincent T. Lombardi is an icon. Living in Green Bay, I am reminded daily of his legacy. But this isn't just another rehashing of the Packer "glory days". Vince Jr. has applied his father's winning strategies to life, to leadership, to motivation, to building teamwork and developing winning organizations. On a personal level, the reader can apply the principles laid out in this book to developing a winning attitude, to asking the right questions to making better life decisions, to developing better focus and discipline, and to discovering your life's passion and jumping into it with enthusiasm. This is a fantastic book for students, for those trying to earn leadership positions, for successful business people looking to enhance the performance of their company, or for any intelligent person trying to improve their life and find their true way. My favorite thought from this book is "Chase perfection and settle for excellence along the way." Vince Lombardi's book will definitely get you chasing perfection, and make you want to RUN TO WIN!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2001
In this book, Vince Lombardi, Jr., masterfully connects the leadership principles of his father with the leadership demands of the 21st century. Vince, Jr. demonstrates his unique qualification to piece together core leadership qualities of Coach Lombardi in a coherent, engaging and personable style. I had always heard about the many speechs Vince Lombardi gave toward the end of his life. Vince Jr. brings "The Speech" to life through his personal and expert analysis. Although the book contains great leadership principles and theory, it goes beyond being a text book on leadership. "What it Takes To Be #1" offers personal reflections from Coach Lombardi and those who knew him best, particularly his son, on what it means to be a leader. As the director of a leadership institute for a 6,000 employee organization, I look forward to using many of Lombardi's principles in our organizational development program. I particularly appreciate Lombardi's emphasis on self-discovery and self-knowledge, the building blocks of character and integrity. In Lombardi's own words, these elements "provide the foundation of leadership." Who better to reconnect today's 21st century leaders with a legend from decades ago? Vince Jr. achieves that connection in this book. No one should be surprised: this book is a winner!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2001
I found the book to be very interesting for 2 reasons; I am a Packer Backer from way back and have studied numerous leadership models.
I was not disappointed. The book does an excellent job at providing Coach's antidotal behavior and framing it into a Principle Based decision model. One that is useful not only in the Peer-Superior-Subordinate relationship, but also in one's personal daily life. For someone who was so successful and had transcended sport, I'm surprised that such an effort was not attempted prior to this book - but- the wait was worth it.
This book is better than any leadership book you'll be assigned from a Top Tier MBA school. This, is based on experience.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2000
Once in a while a book comes along that you know when you read it will stand the test of time. "What It Takes to Be # One" is one of those books. Whether you are a parent, a teacher, a business leader, a student, or a coach this book will put you on the right course in making a difference in the lives of the people you touch. You have an opportunity to examine your vision, your values, and your habits. Vince, Jr. has done an excellent job in mixing his father's thoughts about life in with his own. I highly recommend this book to those in leadership positions or those who wish to be in leadership positions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2001
I have read several of Vince Lombardi Jr.'s books on leadership and this is his best book yet. The leadership style that Coach Lombardi developed intuitively during his career, is broken down and analyzed in a way that is useful in improving leadership skills whether one is business person, a social worker or a parent. The best part is that the message is is not just one of leadership skills but also one of inspiration! The passion that Lombardi brought to his coaching his contagious and after reading this book, I came away both informed and inspired!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2002
I am 16 years old and I play on my high schools varsity baseball team. I feel this book has helped my outlook on my sports career, because some of his quotes are so true. Everytime I wake up at 5:30 to weightlift before school I remind myself "The harder you work, the harder it is to surrender." Just reading this book made me realize what it really takes to be #1. You can't be a sissy, you have to work for what you want. Any athlete who needs something to motivate them should read this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2001
As Vince Jr. states in his book "How many diets does it take till you lose weight? Just one... the one that works for you." This could be the one book on leadership that works for you. Vince Jr. writes with the passion and authority of his father and manages to teach new lessons without rehashing the same old quotes. You find yourself embracing change, tension and stress as key elements to winning rather than losing. "What It Takes To Be Number #1" is Number #1.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2001
I was really inspired by the leadership style of Vince Lombardi. I had heard a lot about him over the years. In this society that we live in where everything has to be done now with little or no effort, I found this book to be refreshing.
I enjoyed reading about a man of standards and discipline and a man that was able to take a loosing team to the top.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2001
This book give a rare insight into winning and keeping it simple.
The no frills way.....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse