Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Info for the novice or the technician
This book is a very complete compendium of the state-of-the-art in robotics. Today's major projects and their objectives and challenges are discussed in terms that both the laymen and the technician can appreciate.
The author defines a new term and concept for robotics - the "mentorbot" - which could well lead to a new direction in robotic development.
Well...
Published on Feb. 18 2004 by Edwin S. Keasler

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars For Entertainment Purposes Only
I suggest reading this book ONLY if you would like to know the specifications of certain mentor bots as well as some of the basic components of autonomous robots. There blatantly ovbious errors in the book, I believe it should have been edited more carefully. I recommend reading it ONLY for a very basic basis of A.I and mentor bot composition.
I disliked the fact...
Published on Feb. 17 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars For Entertainment Purposes Only, Feb. 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Robot Companions (Paperback)
I suggest reading this book ONLY if you would like to know the specifications of certain mentor bots as well as some of the basic components of autonomous robots. There blatantly ovbious errors in the book, I believe it should have been edited more carefully. I recommend reading it ONLY for a very basic basis of A.I and mentor bot composition.
I disliked the fact that there was a large amount of the author's personal opinion written into the book, especially during his conclusion. I do not feel it is fitting to include personal opinion in a published work that is written from a technical (even if in layman's terms) standpoint.
Secondly, there are instances of debasing statements and prejudice towards mentor bots that the author deems as inferior to other bots.
Again, I would only recommend this book for entertainment or for basic understanding purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Info for the novice or the technician, Feb. 18 2004
By 
Edwin S. Keasler (Littleton, Co USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Robot Companions (Paperback)
This book is a very complete compendium of the state-of-the-art in robotics. Today's major projects and their objectives and challenges are discussed in terms that both the laymen and the technician can appreciate.
The author defines a new term and concept for robotics - the "mentorbot" - which could well lead to a new direction in robotic development.
Well worth reading for anyone interested in robotics in general, or for the technician looking to understand the challenges of robotic implementation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, Feb. 16 2004
By 
Edwin S. Keasler (Littleton, Co USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Robot Companions (Paperback)
This book is a very complete compendium of the state-of-the-art in robotics. Today's major projects and their objectives and challenges are discussed in terms that both the layman and the technician can appreciate.
The author defines a new term and concept for robotics - the "mentorbot" - which could well lead to a new direction in robotic development.
Well worth reading for anyone interested in robotics in general, or for the technician looking to understand the challenges of robotic implementation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The integration of robots with elder care services, Feb. 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Robot Companions (Paperback)
Due to the dramatic shift in demographics that is expected to occur as the Baby-Boomers enter their retirement years, it will be a virtual necessity to incorporate robots in providing care to the aging population. This book provides a strong base of knowledge on the subject of robots, and should be considered required reading for any healthcare provider network that is seeking to prepare for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mentorbots: Concepts and Applicatons, Dec 13 2003
By 
"gusolson" (Rancho Mirage, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Robot Companions (Paperback)
Interesting subject, well written and easy to for the non-engineer understand but not "dumbed down". The book explains the concept of robot companions and their uses. It reviews the current products available and even gives ideas and specifications on how to build your own companion robot. A good read for persons interested in technology and robots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robot Companions
Robot Companions by E. Oliver Severin (Paperback - Oct. 28 2003)
CDN$ 39.95 CDN$ 31.96
Usually ships in 4 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews