Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Thorough, Jan. 17 2009
By 
Catch22 (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant manual. So far, what I like most about the book is how the author summarizes each system on your boat thoroughly. He assumes you have limited specific knowledge, so he gives you a complete summary about how the major systems on your boat function. If you browse the preview available on Amazon, you will notice the section on batteries. In that section, he outlines the chemistry of a battery, and most helpfully, he explains how batteries fail. He explains the strengths and weaknesses of different types of batteries, so you will know (a) how to treat your battery to make it last and (b) why doing those specific things helps.

Overall, what I appreciate most is that he doesn't insult the intelligence of the reader. This is not dumbed down in any way. The author instead gives enough information so that a reasonably intelligent reader can actually understand how different systems on their boat function.

The book is probably more oriented to sailboats, as he talks mainly about diesel engines.

I highly recommend this book, because it can help you gain a feeling of mastery over your boat's systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable aid for all boatowners, Oct. 16 2009
By 
Popeye Pete (Vancouver Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
I was loaned the second version by a friend of mine. My friend is a respected marine surveyor and he suggested that I review this book when I indicated that I was looking to move up a few feet in boat ownership.He felt I should become familiar how well appointed 'quality' vessels should be with regards their systems and operational components. He was correct, I have since purchased a vessel, that although not perfect in all areas, I now have the confidence to get there. I purchased this third edition and Mr. Calder has definitely kept this resourse material current. I'm thinking of buying a second book, one for home and one to keep on our new boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, July 13 2009
By 
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
This is an amazing book. None of the detail is extraneous - it's all very clear and relevant for a complete understanding of the systems. I am delighted and so is the friend I gave the second copy to as a birthday gift !! Thx ! W
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, April 21 2010
By 
Mainsail50e (Toronto, Ont Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
If you own a boat you should have this book onboard. Great reference that covers the systems related to inboard diesel and gas engines. It covers plumbing ,electrical systems, boat structure and has great tips and troubleshooting advice. This is a very detailed book that should come with every boat. The advice on maintenance is worth the price of purchase alone. Great DIY coach or just for those who want to understand the systems related to their boat. This is a must have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must in your sailor's library, Aug. 23 2014
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
I'm a self-educating type of beginner sailor. I love this book that is written in a clear and detailed way. With Casey's "Sailboat maintenance manual", they are my two reference books on maintenance. I would welcome a section on outboards in both, but will settle for buying one specifically on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Calders Bible, Sept. 23 2010
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
The Boatowners Mechanical and Electrical Manual is very well done, well laid out, good graphics and full of need to know information on everything. I recently purchased an old boat and refer to this almost daily for maintenance and upgrading references. An absolute must have for any boater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for boater, Feb. 14 2011
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
Well written and easy to navigate. Has all the essential information that every boater should have available to them when out on the water or at the dock. Especially if somethng goes wrong.. Any serious boater should have a copy aboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for tradespeople, Feb. 7 2011
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
If you are a tradesman or someone who is mechanicly inclined then this is the book for you. I would consider this a textbook for a "wanna be" shipwright. A great deal of very usefull and up to date information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
Excellent comprehensive book on the W5's!! Well done!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wish I had found it years ago, May 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
The most complete and helpful guide to boat systems I have ever found. Very clear and precise explanations to almost any question you want answered about how something works on your boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems
CDN$ 56.95 CDN$ 35.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews