Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Thorough, Jan. 17 2009
By 
Catch22 (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant manual. So far, what I like most about the book is how the author summarizes each system on your boat thoroughly. He assumes you have limited specific knowledge, so he gives you a complete summary about how the major systems on your boat function. If you browse the preview available on Amazon, you will notice the section on batteries. In that section, he outlines the chemistry of a battery, and most helpfully, he explains how batteries fail. He explains the strengths and weaknesses of different types of batteries, so you will know (a) how to treat your battery to make it last and (b) why doing those specific things helps.

Overall, what I appreciate most is that he doesn't insult the intelligence of the reader. This is not dumbed down in any way. The author instead gives enough information so that a reasonably intelligent reader can actually understand how different systems on their boat function.

The book is probably more oriented to sailboats, as he talks mainly about diesel engines.

I highly recommend this book, because it can help you gain a feeling of mastery over your boat's systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable aid for all boatowners, Oct. 16 2009
By 
Popeye Pete (Vancouver Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
I was loaned the second version by a friend of mine. My friend is a respected marine surveyor and he suggested that I review this book when I indicated that I was looking to move up a few feet in boat ownership.He felt I should become familiar how well appointed 'quality' vessels should be with regards their systems and operational components. He was correct, I have since purchased a vessel, that although not perfect in all areas, I now have the confidence to get there. I purchased this third edition and Mr. Calder has definitely kept this resourse material current. I'm thinking of buying a second book, one for home and one to keep on our new boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, July 13 2009
By 
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
This is an amazing book. None of the detail is extraneous - it's all very clear and relevant for a complete understanding of the systems. I am delighted and so is the friend I gave the second copy to as a birthday gift !! Thx ! W
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must in your sailor's library, Aug. 23 2014
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
I'm a self-educating type of beginner sailor. I love this book that is written in a clear and detailed way. With Casey's "Sailboat maintenance manual", they are my two reference books on maintenance. I would welcome a section on outboards in both, but will settle for buying one specifically on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
Excellent comprehensive book on the W5's!! Well done!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wish I had found it years ago, May 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
The most complete and helpful guide to boat systems I have ever found. Very clear and precise explanations to almost any question you want answered about how something works on your boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For any boat owner, Feb. 14 2014
By 
P. Holland (Ottawa, ON, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
Keep one on board. You never know when you will need it. Pne of the better generic manuals out there from my experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Calder Gem, Sept. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
A most comprehensive and informative book. A "must have" for any serious boatowner - power or sail. Outstanding value. A great aid in diagnosing and solving your problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful!, June 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
I purchased this book mainly because i wanted to review/understand/update the battery system on a 34 foot sailboat that i have recently purchase. The book did not disappoint. Although I have only used the first few chapters around battery information, it has already paid for itself 10x over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Father's Day Gift HIT!, June 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems (Hardcover)
Arrived early, and has been read each and every day! Great gift for Dad! A must for on board the boat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems
CDN$ 56.95 CDN$ 35.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews