Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A real easy approach.
I found the book very useful for brushing up one's knowledge of trigonometry.It gets down to the point right away without wasting any time on unnecessary theory.After all, its your problem solving ability that counts and not how well you know the theory.:)
What I like most about this book is that it treats the subject matter from a student's point of view (like it...
Published on Sept. 10 2001 by Debojyoti Haldar

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly and Deplorably Horrible
This book as mentioned in the title is horrible. It is incomplete in many areas, case and point, curve graphing. In many cases the book does little more than introduce the topic and give somewhat bland math questions. This book will not help you through a normal course because it is somewhat babified.
Now back to the incompleteness. Half-way through the book...
Published on Jan. 6 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A real easy approach., Sept. 10 2001
By 
I found the book very useful for brushing up one's knowledge of trigonometry.It gets down to the point right away without wasting any time on unnecessary theory.After all, its your problem solving ability that counts and not how well you know the theory.:)
What I like most about this book is that it treats the subject matter from a student's point of view (like it teaches you how to get the answer using a calculator STEP by STEP.....it actually tells you which buttons to push).Also, throughout the book ,the application of trigonometry in surveying, construction,astronomy and air-navigation is emphasized.
I recommend this book for anyone who's taking computer science/engineering/technology courses in college.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, slim but comprehensive, Aug. 10 2009
By 
Odesh Singh (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schaum's Outline of Trigonometry, 4ed (Paperback)
This is a well-written book. As a former math teacher, I do appreciate the crisp introduction of the standard definitions, the motivational examples and the wide range of problems. There is no short-cut to understanding this material but the student who takes the time and makes the effort will be amply repaid for his/her efforts.

Students who seriously work through the problems without peeking at the solutions will almost certainly get a very high mark. But as with all books of this type, reading through solutions without a serious prior attempt is of no value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lacking Application, Dec 29 2001
By 
Thomas Edison (tenafly, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
This book is great for people with thick glasses with tape on them who are presidents of their computer programming clubs but for the rest of us this is not too great. This book is heavy on the theory but lacks application which MOST people need in their classes. No teacher is gonna ask you what a Apollo Axil Centripital Angle(no such thing) is. Too confusing but very organized. These people did a great job in explaining theory. I would not sugest this anyone to use this independently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great review of trigonometry, Sept. 21 2001
By 
Michelle R. Moyer "chelle" (Minnesota, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Trigonometry was never a good subject for me--I never "got" it. But when I was taking advanced math and science courses, I needed trig. This book helped me to "get" it, finally, and be able to solve trigonometric problems. It's very clear, up-to-date, and well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Review, Sept. 6 1999
By A Customer
A complete outline of trigonometry, increased my final test score a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly and Deplorably Horrible, Jan. 6 2003
By A Customer
This book as mentioned in the title is horrible. It is incomplete in many areas, case and point, curve graphing. In many cases the book does little more than introduce the topic and give somewhat bland math questions. This book will not help you through a normal course because it is somewhat babified.
Now back to the incompleteness. Half-way through the book trigonometric function graphs are introduced (y=sinx and so on). The book very briefly describes aspects of each periodic function in a somewhat scattered manner. All of the information that is given fits on about one 8 1/2 X 11 piece of paper, somewhat terse isn't it?
This book is not for beginners and is most likely not even for people that would like to brush up on trigonometry. For a more comprehensive edition of a trigonometry tutorial you must turn elsewhere because this book will leave you asking what? huh? how? Perhaps one of the better trigonometry titles out there, and believe me I say this reluctantly because it is also deplorable, is Trigonometry the Easy Way. In conclusion if you have this book return it or if you can't use it only as a way to reinforce trigonometry ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Schaum's Outline of Trigonometry, 4ed
Schaum's Outline of Trigonometry, 4ed by Frank Ayres (Paperback - Aug. 21 2008)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews