Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Book! - You won't regret it.
Having purchased and read a large number of the leading investment books available on Amazon, I feel confident in stating that the 4th edition of How To Make Money in Stocks is one of the best investment books available.
If you want one book that excels at tying technical and fundamental analysis together in a realistic and proven approach to investing, there is none...
Published on Aug. 30 2009 by Michael Williams

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Theoretically but Dangerous to Apply
I have bought and read several books on CANSLIM trading strategy including this book. The book describes a very appealing method of identifying "good" stocks. After applying the method to actual trading and lost a lot of money, I start to realize that CANSLIM is a method very difficult to master and implement. One of the main reasons is that the stocks identified by...
Published 17 months ago by LearnerX


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Book! - You won't regret it., Aug. 30 2009
By 
Michael Williams (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Make Money in Stocks: A Winning System in Good Times and Bad, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
Having purchased and read a large number of the leading investment books available on Amazon, I feel confident in stating that the 4th edition of How To Make Money in Stocks is one of the best investment books available.
If you want one book that excels at tying technical and fundamental analysis together in a realistic and proven approach to investing, there is none better in my opinion. The 4th edition includes the addition of 100 stock charts in the first chapter that display the characteristics of a winner. This addition alone adds tremendous value to the book.
Yes, the book does reference and promote the authors publication IBD, but if you keep an open mind, you will see that the 2 publications are a valuable asset to the informed investor's tool kit.
But don't just take my word for it. Do yourself a favour and read the other reviews on Amazon.com.
If you decide to buy the book and study and apply the wisdom that William O'Neil provides, you are well on your way to financial success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Theoretically but Dangerous to Apply, Nov. 6 2012
This review is from: How to Make Money in Stocks: A Winning System in Good Times and Bad, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
I have bought and read several books on CANSLIM trading strategy including this book. The book describes a very appealing method of identifying "good" stocks. After applying the method to actual trading and lost a lot of money, I start to realize that CANSLIM is a method very difficult to master and implement. One of the main reasons is that the stocks identified by CANSLIM are quite volatile as very high expectations have been build on them by the market. Any earning issues can cause 10% to 20% drop of such stocks. So there is a lot of whipsaw losses and, at the end, there is no gain. If the market is in an uptrend (the word M of CANLIM), the method may work well. However, many other methods can also work well in an uptrend. In summary, this is a somewhat useful book to gain new perspectives on trading. However, one has to be very careful to applying what are explained in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to growth stock investing, Sept. 13 2009
By 
J. Keenan (Qc. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Make Money in Stocks: A Winning System in Good Times and Bad, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
Along with O'Neil's excellent THE SUCCESSFUL INVESTOR, this book is one of the best introductions to growth stock investing available. He proposes a method (CANSLIM) to discouver what are the best candidates for investment and measure overall market health. BOTH are required for his method to work. The fact that it encourages the use of Investor's Business Daily (IBD) is not a drawback to my mind because market and industry trends change so frequently that you need a daily source of information to keep up with possible CANSLIM candidates. That being said, readers should realize that this method requires that you familiarize yourself with charts and that you be willing to take responsibility for your choices. Not everyone is willing to spend 10-30 minutes a day reading IBD. Many too, prefer to rely on brokers or a guru to make choices because it gives them somebody to blame when there are losses. IBD is useless for such investors.

If I had to summarize the CANSLIM method in a single sentence, I would say that it is a technique that allows individual investors to piggyback on the ebb and flow of institutional money. O'Neil strongly believes that markets rise and fall because of the daily collective decisions of thousands of domestic and foreign financial institutions (mutual funds, banks, insurance companies, hedge funds, etc.) moving billions of dollars around in search of growth. Compared to these corporations, individual retail investor have no influence. Also, institutional investors are much better informed about future trends than you or I can be. It follows, that we as individual investors can greatly reduce the chance element in stock selection by focussing only on institutional-quality companies currently in favour. Avoid penny stocks. Seek the industries whose market price has risen the fastest during the last 6 months. And within these industries, focus only on the "leading" stocks showing the best fundamental (earnings and sales growth, healthy margins, industry-changing new products) and relative strength (upward movement in the last year) scores. Above all, do not avoid stocks because they have risen too much or have high price/earnings ratios. The biggest winners every year, the ones that double and triple, are forever hitting their 52-week highs. So look there and do not waste time with stocks hitting new lows. These "bargains" mostly sink lower and destroy your capital.

A few caveats: assuming the market is not in a bear phase or in correction, O'Neil encourages you to seek for "leaders" with excellent fundamentals that are breaking out of sound bases. Then you must buy in within 5% of their breakout "pivot points" IF their volume is well above average on that day. To help you find these leaders, IBD lists 100 stocks every weekend that satisfy CANSLIM criteria. Some have not yet broken out. Others may be too extended from their most recent breakout. Unfortunately, 10-15% of the IBD 100 are replaced every week. So that in hindsight it is easy to point out how this or that stock did well "because" it was a leader, but there are many many more examples of CANSLIM candidates with excellent bases and fundamentals that suddenly drop large percentages after proper breakouts simply because market psychology has shifted. It follows in hindsight that they were never true leaders. Meanwhile, there are plenty of companies with excellent charts, but questionable fundamentals, that do as well or better than his CANSLIM leaders. This can be very frustrating.

Secondly, for Canadian investors looking for CANSLIM candidates in the TSE, it is well to remember that our heavy reliance on resource stocks means that their fundamentals are often terrible just before they perform best. Resource stocks rise most dramatically when the market perceives that the commodities underlying these stocks are poised to rise in value after a period in the dumps. CANSLIM is therefore a poor guide in this area.

To sum up, CANSLIM works best with young companies offering new products, often in tech industries. That way, their sales, earnings and margins show the steady rise that gives them a high fundamental score in the CANSLIM universe. At the end of the day, however, the market is a maelstrom of fear and hope where fleeting perceptions of future potential far outweigh past fundamentals. CANSLIM can help you narrow your list of choices, but it can also give you a false sense of security until the day where your "leader" suddenly loses favor. CANSLIM leaders are NOT "buy and forget about it" stocks. CANSLIM has nothing to do with Buffett or his methods. If your stock pick drop 8% below your purchase price, you are strongly advised to sell. If it falls below its 50-day moving average after doing well, you are strongly advised to sell and preserve your gains. The point is, you must monitor them and the major indexes on a daily or at least a weekly basis. Leadership is a tricky business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, Nov. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Make Money in Stocks: A Winning System in Good Times and Bad, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
Everything I expected it to be, very informative. Wanted to learn how it all works and so it answered my questions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good !, March 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Make Money in Stocks: A Winning System in Good Times and Bad, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
bit bita bitz bitz bitz ibitz thlis review pissesm e off but the product is awesomely good insane cool cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting book, Jan. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Make Money in Stocks: A Winning System in Good Times and Bad, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
the book arrived on time, it is very informative and would be great for any one who is interested in investing, I read half the book before I stopped. Lots of great tips for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for the do it yourself investor, May 4 2010
By 
O. Parris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Make Money in Stocks: A Winning System in Good Times and Bad, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
Most investors fail because they do not have a clear strategy. This book provides the reader with a clear investment strategy that was built on years of market experience. The book provides decades of examples and will serve as a life long reference guide. The best part is your learning continues when you follow [...] or subscribe to the Investor's Business Daily (IBD) news publication. This book has helped me in my pursuit to be a better investor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, Sept. 6 2011
This review is from: How to Make Money in Stocks: A Winning System in Good Times and Bad, Fourth Edition (Paperback)
This is an amazing book. It has proven methods which work and ways to pick the best stocks on the market. I have learned so much from this book already (I am re-reading parts of it). I recommend it to anyone who is looking for fast ways of making money on the Stock market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8afdcb4)

This product

How to Make Money in Stocks:  A Winning System in Good Times and Bad, Fourth Edition
CDN$ 21.95 CDN$ 15.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews