Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 18th Ed Review
Having owned the 17th ed. of Harrison's and used it extensively, I thought I'd post up a review after having gotten then 18th ed. and used it a fair bit now. I'm a final year Canadian med student that i's surgery bound.

Overall:
- has the same super-thin paper with lots of colour photos and diagrams
- only comes in 2 volumes, which saves people the...
Published on Nov. 7 2011 by Steve

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very encyclopedic, but has errors.
This text is nice in that it has a wealth of information on just about every topic in internal medicine within it. However, it is often convoluted and hard to filter out the essentials within each topic section. In addition to this there are errors in this book, grievous conceptual errors that need to be fixed. For instance, their explanation of the physiological...
Published 10 months ago by HooDude


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 18th Ed Review, Nov. 7 2011
This review is from: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 18th Edition (Misc. Supplies)
Having owned the 17th ed. of Harrison's and used it extensively, I thought I'd post up a review after having gotten then 18th ed. and used it a fair bit now. I'm a final year Canadian med student that i's surgery bound.

Overall:
- has the same super-thin paper with lots of colour photos and diagrams
- only comes in 2 volumes, which saves people the mistake of purchasing this in a 1 vol. tome.
-looks ~ 10% thicker than the previous edition
- side of pages has improved section colour-coding

Content:
- 397 Chapters and 57 eChapters which is up from 392 and 38
- when comparing chapters between the editions, there is changes in a fair bit of the text and many tables, although most images have been (rightly) retained

Organization:
- same good structure, with cardinal manifestations first then other topics clustered together (eg. Infectious Disease which is further subdivided by specific groups of bugs)
- they have made an effort to start new chapters at the top of the page, which might seem trivial but I definitely appreciate
- eChapters appropriately mentioned in logical points/relevant topics

Online Resources:
- to be honest, I rarely use this although I'm excited for Harrison's on the iPad as mentioned on the site
- the eChapters seem pretty much identical to what physical chapters are like , omitted to save space I would guess.
- eChapters tend to have some of the more soft-side of medicine things (ie Ethical Issues, Economics of Medical Care, etc)

Summary:
In the end, this continues to be one of the best books covering all the topics in internal medicine. These revisions help improve on something that was already a very good textbooks. It can be too much information for someone who is just looking for a brief overview of a topic, but I guess that's what we might use Wikipedia for. This is a great book if you really want to understand the disease well. Even as a surgeon, sometimes it's nice to know why the bones get soft but this book is geared towards docs/residents/medstudents in Internal Medicine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for MDs in Internal Medicine, March 27 2014
By 
canadianmd - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 18th Edition (Misc. Supplies)
Arrived quickly and was decent shipping and price given that there are 2 large books that weigh a ton. Not for the faint of heart like medical students but more useful for MD in IM who need more detailed knowledge. Comes as 2 large books but covers every topic. The app is more useful given that you can search by keyword.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very encyclopedic, but has errors., Jan. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 18th Edition (Misc. Supplies)
This text is nice in that it has a wealth of information on just about every topic in internal medicine within it. However, it is often convoluted and hard to filter out the essentials within each topic section. In addition to this there are errors in this book, grievous conceptual errors that need to be fixed. For instance, their explanation of the physiological mechanism responsible for ST-depression and ST-elevation is entirely incorrect. As a result I feel I need to cross-reference my findings in this text with other medical textbooks before making any patient treatment decisions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glad that i brought it.., Sept. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 18th Edition (Misc. Supplies)
Great product & got delivered on time...
Better than what was promised on the site...
Will buy more from the same people for sure.. !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT LIVRE, Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 18th Edition (Misc. Supplies)
Livre avec des gravures et photos tres bien fait. Rapidité de l'envoie. Rapport qualité-prix excellent.Je le conseillerait a tous étudiants en science santé.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harrison's Internal Medicine - New and Improved., Dec 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 18th Edition (Misc. Supplies)
This is an Excellent and well designed text book. The definitions, graphs and tables are all clear and explanatory. Many sections such as autism are new and/or contain much more information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect quality!, Oct. 11 2014
This review is from: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 18th Edition (Misc. Supplies)
prompt delivery, perfect quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 18th Edition (Misc. Supplies)
Very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Still contains egregious misrepresentations on ME, Sept. 9 2011
This review is from: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 18th Edition (Misc. Supplies)
Editor Fauci includes van der Meer and Bleijenberg's egregiously inaccurate chapter on ME ("CFS"). It is no better than that in earlier editions by Fauci colleague Straus.

The article paints ME as having proven psychological components and relatively unproven organic components. Nothing could be further from the truth.

For example, they claim that "a direct microbial causation is unproven and unlikely." And that CBT and GET are the only proven treatments while acyclovir and many others have been proven ineffective.

And so on. I give Harrison's one star because such misrepresentations by Drs. van der Meer and Bleijenberg have caused a tremendous amount of iatrogenic morbidity in ME patients.

I am very eager to give Harrison's five-stars, because in most other respects, it really deserves it. I have learned a lot from it. Please substitute an accurate chapter on ME and I would be delighted to give it five-stars and evangelize for Harrison's. The essential documents on ME (with more than enough information to fill a chapter in Harrison's) are:

- the 2003 Canadian ME/CFS Consensus Criteria
[....]

- the 2010 validated research version of the above CCC
[....]

- the 2011 International ME Criteria
[...]

Please contact me if you wish further information or if you wish to find an author who will draft an accurate chapter for you free of charge. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 18th Edition
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 18th Edition by Joseph Loscalzo (Misc. Supplies - Aug. 11 2011)
CDN$ 271.95 CDN$ 240.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews