Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compulsory textbook for undergraduate science students!!
Apart from being a Pratchett fan, I'm an almost post graduate biology student interested in education en popularising science. Therefore, this book stands high on my list of best books ever. Apart from a very entertaining story featuring the ever-blundering wizards of U.U. (and Rincewind in the role of Professor of Unusual and Cruel Geography), this is really a very, very...
Published on March 19 2002 by JJM Peters

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars But I'm a Pratchett fan - really
This is really two great books. The first is a wizard's experiment gone wrong at the Unseen University. A chain reaction in their squash court (sound familiar?) has released an unprecedented amount of thaumic energy. Before it could be channeled safely, it materializes a world, in fact a whole star system. But this world isn't a disc, it's round --
The second book is...
Published on July 14 2005 by wiredweird


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compulsory textbook for undergraduate science students!!, March 19 2002
By 
JJM Peters (Nijmegen, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Science of Discworld (Hardcover)
Apart from being a Pratchett fan, I'm an almost post graduate biology student interested in education en popularising science. Therefore, this book stands high on my list of best books ever. Apart from a very entertaining story featuring the ever-blundering wizards of U.U. (and Rincewind in the role of Professor of Unusual and Cruel Geography), this is really a very, very good science textbook.
The strength of the science book part (reviews on the story can be found aplenty on this page) is that it is for one thing very clearly structured, starting with the "birth" of the universe as we now perceive it and ending with a (maybe) over-the-top look into the future. But apart from this comprehensive structure, the science writing is also very clever. Many science books just state what is known, so only the dry facts. The authors of this book also give a framework, for example some history of how knowledge is obtained, a process that is mostly unknown to those who have not followed an academic science education.
But that's not all. Many times the authors start out by stating something that is known to everybody, giving the explanations we all learn in high school. And then they go about by showing us how exactly these high school explanation (or "lies-to-children" as they call them) are wrong, or at least a small part of the truth, giving a much more complicated image of how things work and even leaving things unexplained (because that's how it is in science, not all things can be explained satisfactorily). And that is, in my opinion, the strength of the book, a glimpse is given on how science is practised, how knowledge is gained and how things are always more complicated than you think they are.
I gave this book to a friend of mine who has had a long career in teaching (not only high-school teaching, but also teaching teachers-to-be how to teach) and he was also very enthusiastic about the book, because it really lets you wrestle with the various ideas and theories presented.
I myself have learned greatly from this book, not only from certain subjects that, being a biologist, are not part of your education (for example the physics involved in the biginning of the universe), but also about the more philosophical side of science (the chapter called "Things that aren't", which deals with how strange human thinking and perception sometimes work, is my all time favorite). This is why I very strongly recommend this book to all undergraduate science students (and really anyone involved in science or even remotely interested in it); they can profit greatly from reading this book. My only fear is that this book will, completely unjustified, disappear on the "Sci-fi and Fantasy" shelves in bookstores, and will not be found on the "Popular science" shelves where is really belongs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Frolic Through Physics and Beyond, Sept. 2 2002
By 
K. Staton "Coffee Goddess" (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can I say? If you love Prachett, the wizards and have an open mind this one's for you! The science part of this book is written with humour and wit so it never sounds like one of your old college text books. The Discworld story that accompanies and introduces the science chapters is wonderful in and of itself. Putting them together in this book makes it one great educational read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brief History of the World, Nov. 16 2002
We are watching the wizards of Unseen University watching an Earth-like planet be created. Sounds complicated? Not really...
A brief, yet in-depth (I don't know how that can work, but it does) explanation on how it is currently believed out world works is nothing short of miraculous, especially due to the clarity in which it is explained. Interlaced with a story about the wizards' experiments with their new toy planet, this book is completely riveting and highly informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Science & Fun, Oct. 30 2013
By 
John Reidy (Oakville, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not a standard Terry Pratchett, I'm a huge fan. Fantastic mixing of science and fantasy. I bought as I started reading I think Science o 3 or 4 and decided that I needed to go back. Thought provoker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best science text book ever!, March 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
All I can say is that I wish we had had books like this when I was still in school. It makes learning about the universe fun in a way I have never before encountered.

The Discworld story helps break up the science lessons into more comfortable pieces as well as helping support the science facts by presenting a different perspective. If you are expecting a simple story book you may be a bit disappointed, but if you like learning then this book is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars But I'm a Pratchett fan - really, July 14 2005
By 
wiredweird "wiredweird" (Earth, or somewhere nearby) - See all my reviews
This is really two great books. The first is a wizard's experiment gone wrong at the Unseen University. A chain reaction in their squash court (sound familiar?) has released an unprecedented amount of thaumic energy. Before it could be channeled safely, it materializes a world, in fact a whole star system. But this world isn't a disc, it's round --
The second book is a witty, well informed scientific commentary on many things, but especially on the history of life on earth. (I only noticed one mis-step in the real science, a statement about the stability of a an oxygen isotope. They probably slid that error in to make nitpickers like me feel smug.)
The problem is, this is just one book. Chapters alternate in odd-even pairs, Discworld fantasy and Ourworld fact. I probably should have read the book twice, all the odd chapters then all the even ones. As it was, I found my attention whipsawed between the two. The total was distractingly less than the sum of the parts.
It's clever, amusing and informative. The back-and-forth style just didn't work for me, though.
//wiredweird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Educational, Feb. 23 2004
If you're a fan of Pratchett and you enjoy educational reading, you'll love this book. Pratchett's tone is conversational and entertaining. He talks about the history of the planet and the scientific concepts involved as if he was telling a story. Even if you're not a big science buff, this book will be interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated, March 9 2002
By 
F. G. Hamer "MadManxMan" (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Science of Discworld (Hardcover)
Science of Discworld is one of the lesser-known, but nonethless highly entertaining of Terry Pratchett's books. Mixing Discworld madness with educational necessity, Pratchett dispenses large doses of what should be compulsory reading for school kids.
The book is both intelligent and humorous (which accolade, I believe can be applied to most Pratchett works) and demands an intellectual engagement on the part of the reader. Hard science mixes with Pratchett-style fiction but ultimately tells the history of the world as it is (or at least as most people believe it is). The author is not afraid to go where few satirists have gone before, exploring everything from astrophysics through relativity to quantum mechanics and evolution... and always with one eye on the outrageous.
Pratchett has the skill to mock his fellow creatures, but oh so gently, and always with a warm heart. As a fellow reviewer said "To me at 50, it is an epiphany; I can only imagine the personal impact if I had read this at 15". Likewise, I would have appreciated knowing a little more earlier on in my life, particularly if helped through the morass by the guiding hand of Terry Pratchett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Magick! well, not exactly..., Oct. 26 2001
This review is from: The Science of Discworld (Hardcover)
"The Science of Discworld" by Terry Pratchett, Ian Stewart, and Jack Cohen isn't really about Discworld. Well, in a way, it -is- about Discworld, but it really is a lot more about well, "Life on Earth".
This book is amazingly comprehensive about modern science, both what science -is- and how it got be that way. Topics run a happy gamut from space elevators (as in Arthur Clarke's "Fountains Of Paradise") to DNA (another "space elevator") to gravity (Newtonian, and Einsteinian) to mutation, the origins of Life, evolution, and the Turtle that carries the Universe on its back. (Oops! wrong Universe.)
An interesting concept that helps to form the basis of this book is "Lies to Children"; these are those "facts" we are presented with from early on in our awareness, by people that aren't happy with the truth. "Where do babies come from?" is a question that often results in a "lie to children"; adults, often assuming that their children aren't sufficiently mature enough to understand the concept of conception, tend to offer a somewhat abridged version of the truth that does little to enlighten anyone.
"The Science of Discworld" presents an array of "lies to children" and the facts as we know them, now. It allows for the inevitable future discoveries, while presenting what we (in the scientific sense) believe we know about "Life, the Universe, and Everything" in an easily digestable fashion.
All this information could be bewildering; this presentation isn't. This is good, readable, non-fiction with solid facts, interesting (and logical) conclusions, and with all the strange twists and turns of a good "who-done-it," with a fair smidgen of sci-fi-fantasy thrown in.
I would unhesitatingly recommend "The Science of Discworld" as required reading for all science teachers, and *highly* recommended for budding scientists of all ages. To me at 50, it is an epiphany; I can only imagine the personal impact if I had read this at 15.
Now, about that turtle...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun way to start reading about "High Science", Feb. 11 2002
By 
James (Edenvale, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Science of Discworld (Paperback)
A story about ants that build virtual hiways, cats that are both alive and dead (and possibly extremely miffed) and oversexed apes that have an interesting family tree. And all of this didn't happen on the Disc, IT HAPPENED IN THE REAL WORLD.
The wizards of Discworld embark on a journey of discovery and experimentation when they create their own universe, our universe, where the logical outcome never seems to happen. Every alternate chapter in the book is written by two scientists (Cohen & Stewart) who explain the most mind boggling concepts in an entertaining and easy-to-understand way.
Some of the concepts explored in this book include; Quantum Mechanics, Relativity, Time travel, Evolution, Astrophysics and Space Travel, among others. This book lets you explore new ways of thinking, for example; Everyone knows that our universe seems to run on rules (like things attract other things [gravitation]). Have you ever wondered why these rules exist? Why, at the beginning of the Universe, rules came to impose themselves on everything?
A book for Science (and Science Fiction) fans and Discworld fans alike. For the Discworld fanatic, the book includes some of the most popular characters like Death, Rincewind, The Luggage, The Librarian and Hex, the computer of Unseen University. You won't be able to wait to find out what will happen in the next chapter - in the real world AND on the Disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb03fd0cc)

This product

The Science of Discworld
The Science of Discworld by Stewart&cohen Pratchett (Hardcover - Aug. 3 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 37.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews