Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mythic Depths
Ackroyd's book is a fascinating, richly crafted look at what's underneath the city of London, revealing the physical past within the present -- in mythic depth. The author takes us back to everything from pre-Roman remains, buried rivers, and the defunct stations of London's Underground.

"London Under" was my first exposure to Peter Ackroyd, and it made...
Published 9 months ago by Siegfried Betterman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat Too Detailed Trivia
"London Under," by Peter Ackroyd, is a compendium of trivia about what lies underneath the ground of London, England. Items ranging from Bronze Age relics to Roman tiles to Anglo-Saxon graves are to be found, as are the choked remains of numerous springs, wells and rivers. Early stations of the Underground can be found, as can Victorian sewer systems and, of course, any...
Published on April 20 2012 by Alison S. Coad


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mythic Depths, Sept. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: London Under (Hardcover)
Ackroyd's book is a fascinating, richly crafted look at what's underneath the city of London, revealing the physical past within the present -- in mythic depth. The author takes us back to everything from pre-Roman remains, buried rivers, and the defunct stations of London's Underground.

"London Under" was my first exposure to Peter Ackroyd, and it made me wonder: If he can do this with non-fiction, what on earth is his fiction like? Well, I have since read a number of his novels and have a few more to look forward to. Ackroyd has proven himself to be one of the great writers of our time. How he got by under my radar is a mystery.

My only complaint about "London Under" is its brevity. The book left me wanting more in each chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Gift, Aug. 21 2012
By 
Suzanne L. Mcgee "Suzanne Gagnon McGee" (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: London Under (Hardcover)
This wonderful book was a perfect choice for my sister who is a great fan of Mr Ackroyd's books on London. She loved it!! It is chuck full of little known information on early London, he has done an incredible amount of research and he writes extremely well. Next thing I know she will want to go exploring in the bowels of our city. If you love history then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat Too Detailed Trivia, April 20 2012
By 
Alison S. Coad (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London Under (Hardcover)
"London Under," by Peter Ackroyd, is a compendium of trivia about what lies underneath the ground of London, England. Items ranging from Bronze Age relics to Roman tiles to Anglo-Saxon graves are to be found, as are the choked remains of numerous springs, wells and rivers. Early stations of the Underground can be found, as can Victorian sewer systems and, of course, any number of tunnels for the housing of gas and water pipes, electric and telephone wires, and so on. It's interesting because the city is so old and the land thereabouts has been occupied by humans for so long, but the details are likely only to be of interest to Londoners or others who are intimately familiar with the city; to someone who's only visited there a few times, like me, the information concerning the exact location of certain items is meaningless because I have no idea where those locations are. Still, there's a certain fascination in the realization that the many streets, alleys and roads in London that have "spring" or "well" in their names are, in fact, marking an area where once a spring or well existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Peter Ackroyd, Jan. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: London Under (Paperback)
Gripping, intelligent, informative and well crafted, as are all of Peter Ackroyds books. An excellent read from a skilled historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweeeeeet, April 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: London Under (Paperback)
Small volume packed with information. Left me searching for more. Will continue to read Ackroyd. Very entertaining histories. I will look for the Lost London rivers on my next trip "over ome"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Under
London Under by Peter Ackroyd (Paperback - May 7 2012)
CDN$ 14.95 CDN$ 10.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews