Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it
This book literally reads itself and for those people with a short attention span this book is perfect, being a compilation of unbelievably detailed short stories always ending with some sort of twist. I recommend everybody to read this, it is well worth the 15 bucks.
Published on April 25 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Cat Ate My Mouse
Although I am a big fan of Irvene Welsh, I must say this was my least enjoyed read (and indeed a couple of years later a very boring film). But it does have some excellent stories; for example the 'Granton Star Cause' about a dumped football player, an unwanted lover and later that same evening a pesty son! How wonderful!
All in all a good read, and as with all...
Published on June 23 2000 by A Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, April 25 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Acid House (Paperback)
This book literally reads itself and for those people with a short attention span this book is perfect, being a compilation of unbelievably detailed short stories always ending with some sort of twist. I recommend everybody to read this, it is well worth the 15 bucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Acid burns, Nov. 18 2001
By 
This review is from: The Acid House (Paperback)
Like all of Welsh's books, Acid House is a far from pleasant read. That said, like a car accident, this book is difficult to look away from. The characters are stunningly well developed, and painfully human in their failings.
Read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Picture of Humanity, Aug. 10 2001
By 
Terra Bell (Bellingham, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Acid House (Paperback)
Irvine Welsh is amazing! This collection focuses mainly on the experiences of people familiar with the world of drugs, but you'll relate to them to a frightening extent. Welsh is an absolute master of the language; his work with words is beautiful. And the stories themselves are unforgettable.
He goes into the characters minds and draws out pieces of them we don't like - but recognize - and forces us to look at the implications of our thoughts, feelings, and actions. These short stories have made Irvine Welsh my new favourite author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant short story collection., June 23 2001
This review is from: The Acid House (Paperback)
Wow,what can I say about the talents of Welsh as a writer...Start reading and you 'll find yourself immersed in a bizarre world of surreal fantasy, scathing wit and black humour that is typically Welshian. You 'll find yourself willing to forgo sleep in order to keep reading and you'll be screaming for more when the book is finished.This writing is trully addictive! As a whole the collection revisits the by now familiar territory of working class slums,pubs and raves of Edinburgh and the themes of despair,violence, remorse and dead-end choices that inform so much of his writing,but it's always done with a brilliant, unexpected narrative twist that will leave you gaping at his genius.Not to mention the fact that some stories are downright exhilaratingly funny. The story "Where the debris meet the sea", for example, had me rocking with laughter.Need I say more? Buy a copy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sorted!, May 16 2001
By 
Nathan (North Hollywood, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Acid House (Paperback)
A young man loses his job, home, and girlfriend, meets God in the pub and turns into a household fly. This is a typical plot outline from this hilarious, disturbing, amoral collection of short stories. Welsh is unflinching in his portrayl of the dissafected working class Scotts, whos appetites for narcotic debauchery is as vigourous as their weather is dull.
Devoid of any tangible ethical stance, the gritty realism of these stories will speak for themselves. And speak they most certainly do with Welshs customary brilliant pen for transcribing the Scottish vernacular. The book sorely needs a glossary though; lines such as "wis ootay order", may estrange American eyes.
The richness and sheer impact of these stories, make them prime candidates for rereading in the tradition of those other fine writers on the British working classes, Orwell and Silitoe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fist Class Scream With Low Class Values, Dec 2 2000
By 
Rob C. (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Acid House (Paperback)
Without a doubt one of the funniest works anyone will ever read, know it is not for the judgmental or the too terribly sane. The humor and ironies not to mention the writing style and the translation of lower-class Glasgow speech into written text will entertain for hours.
The intricately linked stories, really anecdotes, off handed poetry and the genuine angst felt throughout the book, laced with deadpan humor and some of the most uproariously funny situations I can ever recall make for a fantastic escape from the everyday world.
The characters are vivid and true to their own characters throughout the book. The local and behaviors exhibited by everyone depicted are delivered with such wry comedy and wit it is no wonder this book was so well received. Again, this is not humor for children or anyone with issues with profanity or adult situations, be forewarned. It is, however, unexpectedly amusing and gritty to an extreme.
Enter the world of Eurotrash and gain some insight into the drug-singed minds of those depicted in The Acid House. You will never forget your journey there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, July 27 2000
This review is from: The Acid House (Paperback)
Welsh is truly stunning in this work. Only by reading it can one truly appreciate it. There is reference to several other works, but Welsh twists the stories around to prove his point. One short story seems inspired by The Metamorphosis (Kafka), and Welsh displays genius again, with something that's not a parody, but just a somewhat alternate view.
A Must Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars @ the peak of his powers............., July 12 2000
This review is from: The Acid House (Paperback)
Ah didnae think ah'd like this eht fist...
But these stories are pock-marked all over with irony, humour and the infallible bad language and vernacular put into use by Irvine Welsh, author of that classic (which I won't name here). This book should be read without that other book looming behind it with a knife to it's back.
This is a good read, and that should be enough. But there's people out there who think it could be better, that Welshie disnae have a grasp of the short story, etc, etc... but they're all missing the point something chronic. How often do we get the lives of Eurotrash thrust into our face? Not many of us get to witness first hand a drug raid, or indeed, a baby with a dirty mind... but herein lies Welsh's appeal. See, it's funny. It's so sick that it's funny...situations we'll never get into ourselves. It'll make you squirm and grin in revulsion. Come on people, admit it to yourself. You only ever read Welsh for the kick. Don't kid yourself about what is deemed to be literature or Booker Prize material or politically correct... just enjoy it and stop your whining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars glimpses of low-life filth, July 10 2000
By 
lazza (Fort Lauderdale, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Acid House (Paperback)
Irvine Welsh novels are definitely not for everyone. He is the "champion" of the poor, uneducated urban junkies of Edinburgh (Scotland). Since he writes in the first person, his books are, in effect, stories about junkies as told by junkies. The language is vile, the stories are frequently disgusting and depraved. Yet all this shock treatment is not gratuitous; all the stories strike me as oh-too-realistic, as if Mr. Welsh has lived in the gutter with these misfits. After the shock wears off, one is generally left with a feeling of compassion for these poor addicts (there but the grace of God...).
The Acid House differs somewhat from the author's other novels. It is actually a collection of short stories, plus a novella. While remaining true to general cause (ie, the plight of the junkie), some stories are rather weak (fortunately, these stories are very short indeed). Others are most memorable, with very clever endings (..I refer you to Irvine Welsh's masterpiece, Filth, for a really good ending!).
So The Acid House is the perfect read for Irvine Welsh fans. For others, be prepared for vile language, and sometimes incomprehensible language (..Scottish dialect). And parents, don't even THINK about letting your kids touch this or any other Irvine Welsh book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Cat Ate My Mouse, June 23 2000
This review is from: The Acid House (Paperback)
Although I am a big fan of Irvene Welsh, I must say this was my least enjoyed read (and indeed a couple of years later a very boring film). But it does have some excellent stories; for example the 'Granton Star Cause' about a dumped football player, an unwanted lover and later that same evening a pesty son! How wonderful!
All in all a good read, and as with all collections of short stories, it can be picked-up and put down. But the fact that some stories may need to be skipped altogether tells it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Acid House
The Acid House by Irvine Welsh (Paperback - May 28 1996)
CDN$ 21.95 CDN$ 15.85
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews