Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 19, 2001
Teenager Betty Kane, bruised and sore after being missing for weeks, claims that she was abducted by two women and coerced into doing maid service for them before she managed to escape. The young girl is very innocent looking and has a spotless reputation. Furthermore, she describes the place of her imprisonment with great accuracy, although the two women, mother and daughter, claim that they have never seen her before.
Robert Blair, suddenly bored with the routine law practice which has been in the family for generations, takes on the case for the two women, the younger of whom becomes more and more attractive to him. He is totally convinced of their innocence and develops a burning passion not only to prove them blameless but also to expose the girl as a brazen fraud. But after a scandal sheet exposes the case to the world, public opinion is so strong against the ladies that they and their property are in constant danger.
There are some weaknesses in the plot. For instance, after long and diligent investigation by a top-notch private detective, the solution just drops in out of the blue from a most unexpected source. But Tey handles the whole thing so well that it seems perfectly plausible. The characterizations are excellent, and the reader will have a strong sympathy for the women and for Blair. The second half of the book is a real page turner. And the ending has a very nice, satisfying touch. This novel is almost as good as Tey's BRAT FARRAR.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 22, 2002
This is not your typical murder mystery; in fact, the crime is not murder, but possibly a worse one: false accusation of a kidnapping and beating. The resolution may be a little disappointing in that a portion of it comes about not as a result of sleuthing, but pretty much out of the blue. Nonetheless, the characterizations are finely drawn, and the suspense maintained to the end. At the end one might suspect that this has not really been a mystery at all, but another kind of fiction in the form of a mystery. My own rereading tends to confirm this idea at least for myself. It also confirms that the mystery elements have been dealt with fairly by the author, including the suitcases, which are explained within a few paragraphs of their introduction. Along the way, the author takes more than a few potshots at "woolly thinking", entertaining in their own right. It's a pity we have only about eight novels from her, since half are outstanding in their own sui-generis way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 9, 2000
I was introduced to Josephine Tey by a friend who gave me a copy of 'The Daughter of Time' which I thought was brilliant! 'The Franchise Affair' is equally so. I spent yesterday in bed reading this. I couldn't put it down until I found out that the odious Betty Kane got her just desserts. I must say that I was a little disappointed. I thought Tey could have made her suffer a little more, or at least depicted her as suffering a little more for the benefit of readers like me who detested her immensely and wanted a revenge you could taste. I was very unsatisfied with the description of her in the court room, a vision of outward calm and passivity. I wanted her raging and carrying on like a pork chop in front of all those newspaper people. But other than that, this is a fabulous book. I am going to be searching for more Josephine Tey books to enjoy on my days off.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 22, 1999
THE FRANCHISE AFFAIR is an unusual detective novel. There is no murder; in fact, the question at the heart of the story is whether there is a crime at all. A young girl named Betty Kane accuses two women, Marion Sharpe and her mother, Mrs. Sharpe, of kidnapping her, beating her, and holding her prisoner at their house, the Franchise. The girl gives a damningly accurate description of the attic in which she was supposedly imprisoned. Inspector Grant makes the barest of appearances in this novel; instead, the detective reins are taken over by a lawyer named Robert Blair, who is convinced that the girl is lying.
Josephine Tey's novels are noted for their unconventional plots, and THE FRANCHISE AFFAIR is no exception. Unlike Christie, who usually withholds her revelations until the very end, Tey pieces the puzzle together step by step, allowing the reader to see the truth come together as the story progresses. And while the plot may lack the brilliance and ingenuity of Christie, it is clever and well-constructed.
THE FRANCHISE AFFAIR is more than just a mystery; it is an incredibly rich and satisfying novel. The characters are well-developed, the story is engaging, the writing is crisp and literate, and there is plenty of social commentary on English life in the early 1900s.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 9, 2000
I have just had a thought. There is no explanation as to how horrible Betty Kane actually found out so much about the insides of The Franchise to be able to describe it in so much detail. They made it obvious that she had never been in the house with the whole view from the attic not including the circular drive thing. But how about all the suitcases and the intimate details about the kitchen and the attic? I was thinking that she may have had some help from the thieving maid, but it would not appear so. So how did she describe everything so accurately? Does anyone have any ideas? Please email me if you do. I am very perturbed, disturbed and frustrated!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 17, 1999
The Franchise Affair introduced me to Josephine Tey. What a wonderful introduction! The characters she created in this wonderful book are well developed, full of life, and complex in so many ways. The flow of the book kept me wanting more, and the final scene made me smile for a very long time. I would recommend this book over and over to all my friends who love English mysteries. A must read!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
It was a good idea to publish again the works of Josephine Tey. She was very popular in her time in the 1920s and 1930s, and even though not all her novels are on the same level, the Franchise Affair is a very good one.
It happens often- the word of one party that a crime was committed, stands against the innocent party, who doesn't have any contra argument. How to prove that it simply didn't happen? The book is not about looking for any perpetrator, but about establishing who is telling the truth. The reader slowly comes to realize that the accusation was false, but, I was most taken by the description of the power of the media and the reaction of the newspapers readers, which made it impossible for those once accused, to continue living in the old village. "The paper said so." How contemporary! How up-to-date!
It is one of the very few books, now published, which warns against the power of public opinion, the easy possibility of influence from the media, the manipulation, the hatred. The minority, the poor, the underprivileged may not always be right, they may be made an instrument of somebody else's interests, as has happened so many times in history.
This important book reminds us that people before us were facing similar problems as we are and they did not always give way to what was considered politically correct.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2014
Josephine Tey is a pen names of Scottish author Elizabeth Macintosh (1896-1952). The Franchise Affair is one of a number of mystery stories she gave us, and it’s a dandy. The crime is not murder, but an alleged kidnapping and torture of a teen-aged girl. At first it seems an open-and-shut case, but we gradually learn that things are not quite what they seem.

Though it’s not nearly as complex a plot as that of Wilkie Collins’ masterpiece, The Woman in White, this book reminded me of it in some small way. Marion, a strong and intelligent woman, is a major character, and it is a lawyer turned amateur detective who becomes obsessed with finding out what happened.

Ms. Tey handles the English language beautifully, and developments in the plot will keep the pages turning. The crime is solved convincingly. And though the ending of the book is left a little ambiguous, but we romantics are able to imagine the outcome. Recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 1998
I enjoyed this story of The Franchise Affair very much. The author does a nice job of describing the various characters and also the British setting, and the mystery is engrossing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2014
A classic mystery, with unexpected outcome. There was a BBC series made in the 60s-70s- watch out for that. Well made.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Man in the Queue
Man in the Queue by Josephine Tey (Paperback - Nov. 29 1995)
CDN$ 15.31

The Singing Sands
The Singing Sands by Josephine Tey (Paperback - Dec 16 1996)
CDN$ 12.25

The Daughter of Time
The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey (Hardcover - May 14 2011)
CDN$ 32.58