Customer Reviews
Eon


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of only two fully-realized masterpieces by Bear.
I have read all of his books at least once but this is the only one I keep coming back to. Maybe I'm a stiff for post-holocaust scenarios, but the scene that still sends chills is where Vasquez discovers the secret of the Seventh Chamber - BAM! Never one for consistantly strong characterization, when Bear finds a sympathetic set of characters he can feel something about,...
Published on May 18 2001 by flippypog

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed, confusing, but hardcore SciFi
The absolutely blatent plagerizing of Arthur C. Clarke's "Rendevous With Rama" series aside, this book is a fairly healthy mix of harcore science fiction (heavy on the physics) and absolutely random tangents of plot that go nowhere.
I found the book unsatisfying in story development and resolution, but interesting enough in theoretical creativity to balance it out.
Published on June 21 2004 by tj2k


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed, confusing, but hardcore SciFi, June 21 2004
By 
tj2k (Issaquah, wa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eon (Mass Market Paperback)
The absolutely blatent plagerizing of Arthur C. Clarke's "Rendevous With Rama" series aside, this book is a fairly healthy mix of harcore science fiction (heavy on the physics) and absolutely random tangents of plot that go nowhere.
I found the book unsatisfying in story development and resolution, but interesting enough in theoretical creativity to balance it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Eon Enigma. Great SF or complete bollocks?, Nov. 16 2003
This review is from: Eon (Mass Market Paperback)
Something inbetween perhaps. The ideas in Eon earn 9/10, however Bear's writing style gets a 4. For starters, he describes the different locations in overtechnical geometric language. Sentences like "Patricia stood parallel to the vortex so that she formed a toroid at 90 degrees to its summit" tells the average reader nothing. I made this sentence up but its not an overexageration. The book is full of these sort of descriptions. Great for a hard geometry test, terrible for anything but. In my opinion Larry Niven's geometric descriptions in Ringworld are about as far as a writer should go. Its a shame because if Bear had used simpler language I probably would have been amazed by the pictures my imagination formed. I think Bear's characterisation is ok. I disagree with other reviews in that I didn't find his characters akin to carboard. Neither does the book fall apart at the half way mark. The story develops nicely. The problem is that Bear spends too much time describing some things and not enough entertaining. I am not asking for a shorter book or for his characters to do a tap dance. I was simply hoping that Bear's characters would play more of a key role in the events that shape the 2nd half of the book rather than just being the unwitting cause of what unfolds. If you think about it, only Patricia actually does anyhing, and only right at the end. More involvement, less babble is required. It could have been a 5 star earner. This is the first book I have read by Bear and it is worth reading. I will check out Blood Music as I have heard its pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, Aug. 2 2003
By 
not4prophet (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eon (Mass Market Paperback)
"Eon" may pose more of a challenge when it comes to selecting a rating than any other book I've ever read, since it consists of one half of a solid, well-written SF epic, and one half of a piece of incoherent junk. The story starts out like this: a gigantic asteroid arrives from outside the solar system and moves into an orbit around earth. The United States sends teams of scientists to explore it, and they soon find that the asteroid was a gigantic spaceship of sorts that appears to have come from our own future. Investigations into a library found on board soon reveal that the world is moving towards a massive nuclear showdown. This is the good portion of the book. It is written with intelligence, clarity, and an almost nostalgia-inducing dose of Cold War paranoia. The cast of characters is what most people have come to expect from hard science fiction: not extremely deep or dynamic, but believable nonetheless.
However, it all breaks down about halfway through the book. The story makes a wide turn involving alien invasion, parallel universes, alternate geometries, and some other stuff. The problem, simply put, is that this part of the book is too confusing. The explanations are cryptic and difficult to follow, and keeping track of all the new concepts that get introduced becomes quite a chore. Also, the characterizations collapse during the second half of the book. All of the major characters seem too ready to forget and ignore their previous lives and to accept all of the weird stuff that happens to them. One might, of course, make the argument that some enigmatic writing is acceptable and that "Eon" is a novel one that requires multiple readings, somewhat like William Gibson's "Neuromancer". The problem is that Bear doesn't have the literary style to pull such a stunt off, and I really have no desire to pour through this book time after time trying to fit the puzzle together. While I have great respect for some of Bear's other works, this one could have used some more planning and rewriting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling drivel, Dec 30 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Eon (Paperback)
This is one of the worst books I have ever read in any genre. You could go on and on about the flaws in Eon, cardboard characters, stupid, old fashioned ideas (the cold war is still raging) and odd, out-dated ideas about women, despite the attempt to make a female scientist one of the main characters (she is even more cardboard than the rest)
The fact is this is a boring book, poorly written, without any characters you can like or even empathise with. Yes, the plot sounds great in the blurb on the back...but all in all reading this book is less fun that watching paint dry. What a waste of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Two deadly secrets., Dec 10 2002
By 
Warlen Bassham (Bothell, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eon (Mass Market Paperback)
This book contains two deadly secrets.
Deadly secret number one has to do with what the book's major characters will discover when they travel down the time-tunnel that forms one endless end of the interior of The Store, an asteroid that suddenly appears in our solar system one day and which contains relics of the future. Think 'Rendezvous with Rama' with the science ramped up several notches and the interest level ramped down by a similar amount.
Deadly secret number two has to do with the fact that this book was written at all: It probably shouldn't have been!
There are so many 'major' characters that all of them end up getting short shrift, with a consequent two-dimensionalism that makes them of no interest whatsover. We're never allowed to care about them.
There is so much 'hard science' that the speculations about possible anomalies in the space-time continuum overwhelm whatever small story idea was present in the first place. If I do say so myself, I am not an unintelligent reader. I'm no physicist, but I do know enough physics to enjoy the aforementioned Clarke book, and other hard science authors such as Larry Niven. But the physics in this book are so far over my head that I can't tell whether they're above or below me. In fact, I suspect they're a bit over the author's head, too.
My final complaint has to do with this author's fascination with
The End of the World as We Know It. In this and other books, he seems absolutely obsessed with the idea of blowing the world up in one way or another. If you don't mind, I think I'd rather blow up the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big disappointment, Oct. 10 2001
By 
Jerry Ball (Dexter Circle) (FOB Hughie, Jalalabad, Afghanistan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eon (Mass Market Paperback)
Friends and colleagues had hyped this book for years, so I finally bought it and slogged through its 500+ pages.
The book suffers from a common failing of "hard" science fiction: a lack of humanity. Bear does try by providing a three-dimensional heroine, but focus on her is constantly lost in anachronistic machinations of Cold War politics and nearly unintelligible Thistledown politics.
Also: Thistledown is never fully explained and never fully presented to us as an understandable place where humans or their descendents live; characters like the Jarts seem thrown in only to goose the plot; the explanation of time and universe travel was inadequate (how can a divining rod be the mechanism for finding Patricia's proper space and time?); and the romantic scenes, although appreciated by my prurient and adolescent mind, seem to be tacked on as an afterthought and unrealistic insofar as who chases whom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of only two fully-realized masterpieces by Bear., May 18 2001
By 
flippypog (Greenville, SC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eon (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read all of his books at least once but this is the only one I keep coming back to. Maybe I'm a stiff for post-holocaust scenarios, but the scene that still sends chills is where Vasquez discovers the secret of the Seventh Chamber - BAM! Never one for consistantly strong characterization, when Bear finds a sympathetic set of characters he can feel something about, you can tell it. Only MOVING MARS comes close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many notes, June 29 2000
By 
Christopher (Cincinnati, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eon (Mass Market Paperback)
Well, I can't fault Greg Bear for his imagination. He clearly has tons of ideas, many of which are wild and intriguing. His mistake was cramming them all into one novel, producing a hopelessly cluttered work in which so many threads are competing for attention that none of them is allowed any real development or substance. Early on, the book drops hints about the far-out ideas it contains, but devotes way too much attention to Cold-War squabbling which is boring and mundane in comparison, and hopelessly dated in retrospect. When it finally gets into the far-future stuff, the culture and technology are exotic to the point of caricature, more silly than awe-inspiring. It feels a bit like "Gulliver's Travels," but without a trace of Swift's satirical purpose. In fact, it's hard to see any real purpose underlying this story, other than to let Greg Bear unload his wild speculations. I read this book because I was interested in the physical concept of the Way and the technology of sculpting with spacetime; but this, like every other aspect of the story, is never explored with the detail it deserves. The characters have the same problem as the concepts: there are simply too many of them, and none is really given depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading..but Rama was better., June 7 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Eon (Mass Market Paperback)
Bear does an exellent job in this book however, it does suffer a couple of flaws. First, as others have pointed out it has aged badly. Written in 1985 the early parts of the book (which focus on earth in 2000-2004)simply don't match up with real history. This flaw is less noticable in the second half of the book but still hurts Eon badly. If you have not read Rama by Clarke I would suggest it as a better book. The secon major problem with this book is the length. To much time is spent developing detail that does not pertain directly to the main plot. It's worth reading, just don't expect another RAMA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts off good but ends up in left field, April 6 2000
By 
This review is from: Eon (Mass Market Paperback)
This book started out promising, with a great premise. A huge asteroid is discovered near the moon that has huge cities and advanced technology on the inside. It is left to a select group of Americans to discover all the secrets of the Stone. It is a great beginning to what could be a great story.
The first two-thirds of this book kept me up at nights devouring each page. However, the book takes a sharp turn into left field when it turns to the culture who actually built the Stone. If you are not a hard-core sci-fi/fantasy reader, this is where you'll start to get completely lost in all the jargon and trying to keep up with the myriad of technological wonders that are introduced. For example, the author throws about 20 complex names of people at you (that are all similar in their makeup) over and over that you try to keep up with thinking they might be important to the story. Alas, it turns out that 19 of them weren't pivotal or even necessary to the flow of the story. It's as if the author wanted to see how many esoteric names he could come up with.
Also, alot of the technology is hard to grasp and yet is covered in the book as if it were common knowledge. I'm sure this is a great book for the really hard-core sci-fi fans, but I would caution the casual sci-fi readers to stay away and instead read a book by Stephen Baxter, such as Moonseed or Titan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eon
Eon by Greg Bear (Paperback - Nov. 17 1988)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews