Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Nemeth et al shine again!
I have owned several editions of Nemeth's 'UNIX System Administration Handbook' (USAH) and I have always been highly impressed by the quality of writing and instruction. In that book, Nemeth et al brilliantly (and humorously) packed material into 853 pages where other lesser authors (J. Winsor comes to mind) have needed several (dry) volumes. Most Unix System...
Published on April 19 2002 by Fred

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy their Unix book instead
The first edition of Unix System Administration was a classic. The updated versions have been split into a linux-only version and the original, pan-Unix treatment (including Linux--just not as many variants of Linux as this book covers). I bought the Linux one, but now I wish I had the updated pan-Unix book. The authors' strength is their knowledge of Unix...
Published on July 10 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Buy their Unix book instead, July 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
The first edition of Unix System Administration was a classic. The updated versions have been split into a linux-only version and the original, pan-Unix treatment (including Linux--just not as many variants of Linux as this book covers). I bought the Linux one, but now I wish I had the updated pan-Unix book. The authors' strength is their knowledge of Unix fundamentals, not the (ever-changing) details of various Linux distros. You're better off learning from them how vendor Unices are different in major ways from each other and from Linux. Finally, the authors don't seem nearly as well informed about Linux as they do about the older Unices. While their older book's advice was bulletproof, in this one they miss some important information. The most serious example is their recommendation to use 'dump' for filesystem backups, when Linux Torvalds has explicitly announced that it's not safe to use. 90% of this book is the same as the Unix book, so it's not a loss either way, but I'd recommend you get your Linux info fresh off the net, or in some other book series that's updated more frequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I don't like it much, Feb. 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
I see all nine readers rate this book five stars, may be they are used to books written in such style, or this is similar in structure with other books they are familar with.
I found it is useful. It is a bit old, as Redhat Linux now is v8.1 rather than 7.2, at least the installation part has much difference. I found other info like the booting sequence, or direct copy of 1st 512B of Linux boot sector to allow Linux bootable from a Win2K boot menu, these info are not in this book.
When I tried to set up NIS or network in Redhat V8, they can be done much easier than decribed steps in this book - I know many Unix admin may like the console mode or direct editing style anyway.
The main thing I don't like this book, or many other such books in similar style, is that the useful info are hidden in pages of undirect or less technical statements. At least 50% of the statements are not useful for me. May be the author like to use a chat style of writting, may be mnay of readers like it and feel more relax in reading, but I just want clearly strcutured, easy indexed, technical step by step book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nemeth et al shine again!, April 19 2002
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
I have owned several editions of Nemeth's 'UNIX System Administration Handbook' (USAH) and I have always been highly impressed by the quality of writing and instruction. In that book, Nemeth et al brilliantly (and humorously) packed material into 853 pages where other lesser authors (J. Winsor comes to mind) have needed several (dry) volumes. Most Unix System Administration books merely regurgitate or re-word 'man' pages and are entirely useless.
So, being as familiar as I am with their past performances, I did not hesitate to buy this their latest work from Amazon. Understand that there are a lot of similarities between Unix and Linux and as such, this book doesn't really differ that much from USAH. There is still the same highly informative prose, the same humorous approach to instructing via the written word. I think this is an attempt by the authors to capitalize on the popularity of the Linux Operating System and in any other author, this would be gauche. Not so with Nemeth and her team of writers. Here, they have again done an extra-ordinary job of instructing both experienced and novice sysadmins in the fine art and science of being that most noble of professions: a Unix/Linux System Administrator.
Good job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should cost more!, June 12 2002
By 
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
The Linux Administration Handbook covers everything you could possibly want a handbook, or two, to cover about linux. If you have any desire to become a unix or linux system admin, GET THIS BOOK. Everything from booting to web hosting is covered in a completeness that obviously comes only from sheer experience.
Note that the handbook does require you to have basic linux knowledge, so I'd pick up an decent intro book (Like UNIX for Dummies), also, it helps if you know a bit about cabling (for the serial port chapter) & c (for kernel programming).
Some people have bashed the handbook for being a bore to read. Personally, if you want a boring book, check out Beginning Direct3D game programming!!! The jokes the authors tell in this book are actually funny.
It's a CRIME that the handbook sells for [that price]. There's so much information in here it's unbelievable. Pick it up now while it's still cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warning -- not for dummies, April 12 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
Want to understand how a Linux system works? Want to understand the considerations in the care and feeding of a Linux system? Want to see how it all comes together underneath the covers? Then buy this book.
Finally, a book on Linux system administration that does not start with explaining command prompts, the vi and emacs editors, and more mind-numbing descriptions of common utilities like ls.
I wished that there would be a chapter on the setup and administration of X, KDE and GNOME, but alas, the authors did not deem it necessary.
The "Dummies Unleashed in 21 days" crowd will find this book too full of serious material for their liking. And horror of horrors, they will find that there is no CD at the back of the book with a Linux distribution. For the others, this is a delightful book that treats you like an intelligent person. Worth the money you spend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book for the Professional, Nov. 13 2002
By 
Steve Merrill (Los Altos, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
This is an excellent book on the subject; it is comprehensive and very well-written. The authors explain not only how things work, but in many cases they include historical background to explain why things work as they do.
The book is clearly targeted at professional system administrators. There is little discussion of the GUI-based administration tools that come with most Linux distributions, nor are there enough examples to simply use the book as a cookbook.
The book is primarily concerned with server rather than client administration; it won't tell you how to get your sound card to work or configure your desktop environment.
For the amateur trying to configure a home Linux system, this may be the wrong book, but for a professional systems administrator, or a developer curious about the mysteries of system administration, this book is a five-star must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for admins, not your mom, Dec 4 2002
By 
Kip Perkins (Mt Juliet, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
I picked up this book because I have used the 2nd and 3rd editions of UNIX Administration Handbook for years. This book is easy to read and provides some entertainment with the authors' insight into Linux administration. As with it's brother the UAH, this book follows the same format but IS updated to reflect the Linux specifics. I picked it up also because it covers RH 7.2 and the UAH only covered 6.2. This book is a must for people who admin linux servers for large corporations, small businesses, or simply are running their own mail/dns/web server from their DSL connection at home.
If you are looking for a book that gets you setup on KDE or GNOME, this is not the book. If you want to learn and use the power of a networked Linux server, this is for you.
I have worked with UNIX for 6 years, Linux for 5 and recommend this book to anyone who will admin it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book by our friends, Evi, Garth and Trent., April 5 2002
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
Just got this book and opened it to the security chapter with the purple, Unix System Admin Handbook opened to the same chapter. The new Linux Admin Handbook follows the exact same, time-tested layout as the Unix book. Fans will feel right at home. However, it has lots of new info for Linux users.
This is a great overview of the useful and important things you need to know.
If you are new to Linux, I recommend this be your second book. Your first book should teach you how to install Linux and get your system up and running with an overview of all the basics.
My two favorite things about this book is that it is very easy to read compared to other tech books and it gives you what you need very quickly without diving into a "rabbit hole" of impractical information.
Thank you Evi, Garth and Trent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In-depth, concise, interesting., June 12 2002
By 
Hargun Khanna (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
Hands down, the best book I've read on Linux System Administration. Nemeth et al. explain everything you need to understand Linux from the ground up. They don't just tell you things, they explain WHY it is that way and things relating to it. They give a great list of references at the end of each chapter and sometimes RFCs relating to it. Though not for the absolute beginniner, anyone with semi-rudamentary knowledge of Linux (if you know what kernel modules, bash, and init are) you will keep this handy reference and bedtime read by your side at all times.
One thing that is not included is the X Windowing System. Tough unnessecary for a server configuration, that is one aspect of Linux I would love to have explained with the clarity and voice of this book. Aside from that, this book is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should cost more!, June 12 2002
By 
This review is from: Linux Administration Handbook (Paperback)
The Linux Administration Handbook covers everything you could possibly want a handbook, or two, to cover about linux. If you have any desire to become a unix or linux system admin, GET THIS BOOK. Everything from booting to web hosting is covered in a completeness that obviously comes only from sheer experience.
Note that the handbook does require you to have basic linux knowledge, so I'd pick up an decent intro book (Like UNIX for Dummies), also, it helps if you know a bit about cabling (for the serial port chapter) & c (for kernel programming).
Some people have bashed the handbook for being a bore to read. Personally, if you want a boring book, check out Beginning Direct3D game programming!!! The jokes the authors tell in this book are actually funny...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Linux Administration Handbook
Linux Administration Handbook by Trent R. Hein (Paperback - April 4 2002)
CDN$ 59.99 CDN$ 47.99
Usually ships in 12 to 14 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews