Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!
Other than a few 1st edition errors and too small of an anwer key, the book is definitely worth the money. It has a very down-to-earth style which is great if you're using the book on your own like me. I'm using this book for the Siemman's Westinghouse Scholarship Competition, and I think it is a great book for anyone interested in Cryptology, whether they like math or...
Published on April 26 2003 by rob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Has potential but needs alot of work
Had this book for an introductory cryptography course. While this book has alot of potential, it was found to contain many, many errors (typographical and mathematical). I would also encourage the author to include many more examples when introducing new concepts. The theory is provided but every section seems to lack any sort of application of the learned theory...
Published on Dec 9 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!, April 26 2003
By 
rob (Cedar, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Making, Breaking Codes: Introduction to Cryptology (Paperback)
Other than a few 1st edition errors and too small of an anwer key, the book is definitely worth the money. It has a very down-to-earth style which is great if you're using the book on your own like me. I'm using this book for the Siemman's Westinghouse Scholarship Competition, and I think it is a great book for anyone interested in Cryptology, whether they like math or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Actually 4.6, April 26 2003
By 
rob (Cedar, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Making, Breaking Codes: Introduction to Cryptology (Paperback)
I like the book quite a bit because of the actual down-to-earth language Garrett uses. It is very nice since I'm using it on my own time. There some errors in the book, however. He also selects only about 25% of the questions to anwer in the key. He could show about 50% and give an explanation on how to find the answer. Other than that, there is nothing wrong with the book and those problems shouldn't keep you from buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on cryptology, April 15 2003
By 
Yuan J. Son (sunnyvale, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making, Breaking Codes: Introduction to Cryptology (Paperback)
Very good book. His explanation is very clear.
I recommand to anyone who wants to learn cryptology.
I think computer scientist will get the most benefits from
this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good approach, Feb. 23 2003
By 
L.W.H (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Making, Breaking Codes: Introduction to Cryptology (Paperback)
This is a math book. It tells you cryptography-related abstract algebra, number theory, etc. The good thing is it doesn't assume you have much math background.
On the other hand, it has a lot of errors. Some are just typos, some not. Personally, I think if a math book has a single math error (wrong lemma, incorrect logic, ...), it is not a qualified math book. Unfortunately, this book has more than one.
The reason I still give it four stars is that I like its approach. Without math, cryptography is not cryptography. If you don't have enough math background, this book really helps you get started. There are simply not many choices on the market of this kind. After reading this, you can go to more rigorous, advanced ones, such as Koblitz's series. An alternative (more rigorous, less abstract algebra) is Bauer's. All Koblitz's and Bauer's are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A down to earth book!!, Dec 12 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Making, Breaking Codes: Introduction to Cryptology (Paperback)
I can't belive how much I like this book. It has great down to earth language and very helpful examples. If you are interested in cryptography but don't know where to start, then this is a book for you to pick up. Seriously, without the math, cryptography won't be the same. This is the book that has the math to help you dive into cryptography and build a good fundation before you swim toward the big ocean!
Paul is a very funny guy when he lectures, if u get a chance to go to his lecture, don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for everyone !!, Dec 11 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Making, Breaking Codes: Introduction to Cryptology (Paperback)
I liked the book very much. In fact, I think you should read it if your math is a bit rusty. Lots of simple examples are provided to support the ideas presented in the book. If you are new to cryptography or don't know where to start, I think this is the book for you. Paul is a guy that can make you laugh when he lectures boring math theory!!! If you get a chance to go to his lecture, don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Has potential but needs alot of work, Dec 9 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Making, Breaking Codes: Introduction to Cryptology (Paperback)
Had this book for an introductory cryptography course. While this book has alot of potential, it was found to contain many, many errors (typographical and mathematical). I would also encourage the author to include many more examples when introducing new concepts. The theory is provided but every section seems to lack any sort of application of the learned theory. Finally, there are some weak solutions in the back to a selection of exercises, it would have been nice to see complete solutions as opposed to the numbers. The numbers mean nothing if one cannot figure out how to draw a similar conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for anyone just starting to learn about codes, Aug. 27 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Making, Breaking Codes: Introduction to Cryptology (Paperback)
This book is great for anyone just starting to learn about cryptology. It doesn't expect you to understand large amounts of mathematics, and goes through the necessary mathematics to understand the subject and problems presented. Additionally, this book has an answer key for selected problems (not just a few, but many problems), which makes it great for the person wanting to teach themselves the subject at their own pace. Also, it makes for a good reference for the person already familiar with cryptology. Finally, it is a great book for the experienced mathematician that wants to see modern/abstract algebra applied to a modern day subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making, Breaking Codes: Introduction to Cryptology
Making, Breaking Codes: Introduction to Cryptology by Paul Garrett (Paperback - Aug. 9 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 23.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews