Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need tp pass the Architect Certification
Not only it's one of the best overviews of Java Archtitecture issues I've ever seen, it's the only you need to pass the first part of the architecture exam. I read the whole book in less than 2 hours the morning before the exam which was enough to get 100% on the majority of the test sections. It's a real art to write succinct, brilliant tech books, and this one...
Published on Sept. 27 2002 by Jurgen Kaljuvee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok book, with a few typos and UML errors.
This book is not too bad for preparing the SCEA.
However, there are some typos and errors:
Typos:
1) Page 14, section 2.3, "the standalone programs than (? that) runs inside the Application Client container". And "The following APIs are required for the Application Client container: J2SE, JMS, JNDI, RMI-11OP (?IIOP), and JDBC. This container is provided by...
Published on Aug. 11 2002 by David Zuo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need tp pass the Architect Certification, Sept. 27 2002
This review is from: Sun Certified Enterprise Architect for J2EE Technology Study Guide (Paperback)
Not only it's one of the best overviews of Java Archtitecture issues I've ever seen, it's the only you need to pass the first part of the architecture exam. I read the whole book in less than 2 hours the morning before the exam which was enough to get 100% on the majority of the test sections. It's a real art to write succinct, brilliant tech books, and this one definitely succeeds at it. And the design pattern section is absolutely superb, up-to-date, relevant, intuitive examples!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Superficial, Oct. 1 2002
By 
"dr-ralph" (Dallas, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sun Certified Enterprise Architect for J2EE Technology Study Guide (Paperback)
I didn't find in this study guide, what I've expected (based on my experience with other study guides): (1)Precise explanations of the basic concepts, (2) Quizlets to test the important and hard to understand concepts, (3) Providing solid answers for the quizlets including the Why's and the Why Not's, (4)Concrete discussions of at least a few intricacies in each topic, (5)A thorough set of multiple choice questions at the end of each chapter, (6) A thorough explanation of the right and the wrong answers, (7)A Test Simulator CD, etc. The coverage of the topics and the multiple choice questions is "very sketchy."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok book, with a few typos and UML errors., Aug. 11 2002
By 
David Zuo (Shanghai, China) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sun Certified Enterprise Architect for J2EE Technology Study Guide (Paperback)
This book is not too bad for preparing the SCEA.
However, there are some typos and errors:
Typos:
1) Page 14, section 2.3, "the standalone programs than (? that) runs inside the Application Client container". And "The following APIs are required for the Application Client container: J2SE, JMS, JNDI, RMI-11OP (?IIOP), and JDBC. This container is provided by the application server vendors"
Errors:
2) Page 36, Collaboration? It is not standard UML.
3) Page 37, Active class? It is not standard UML.
4) Realization page 41, diagram is wrong!
5) P49, activity diagram is wrong. The activities between fork and join are not right. Activity4 can only go to activity6 via join.
The author should consult some UML books, or the UML 1.4 document from ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Overview for Exam For the Experienced, June 24 2002
By 
This review is from: Sun Certified Enterprise Architect for J2EE Technology Study Guide (Paperback)
I found this book almost PERFECT for my needs. Short, concise, and focused on the exam. The sample questions were also very reflective of the exam. If you pass the sample questions, you are probably ready for the exam. With what you learn from the sample questions, content as well as question style, you should actually do a bit better on the exam. That was my experience- about 75% on the book questions, 87% (42/48) on the exam, with no extra study after my initial reading.
And considering the purpose of architect certification is to certify someone with 5+ years experience and deep understanding of design and architectural issues, then a more detailed book would be a thick painful experience. Also, a more detailed book would commit the authors to exposing more of the exam content, and devalue it as a fair measure of an architect. The fact that it requires a wide professional background with some core reading is excellent. If you struggle with the exam, enjoy the honest feedback! You have more reading to do, and experience to gain.
With sufficient experience in Java, UML, design patterns, security, general IT and web knowledge, and basic architectural principles, the book more than suffices. Basic EJB knowledge is sufficient since the book doesn't expect a programmer's knowledge of APIs and such.
If you are new to architecture, my recommendations are similar to another reviewers:
UML Distilled, Martin Fowler
Design Patterns, Gamma et al
Mastering Enterprise Java Beans, Roman, Amber, Jewell
EJB Design Patterns, Floyd Marinescu
And if you don't know enough about design patterns and UML to pass those chapters before even reading the chapters, you may be taking the exam a bit prematurely.
I will agree with one statement- the book lacks chapters on some of the objectives. But, considering that they might be considered fair prerequisites for someone qualified to take the exam, I'm not complaining. Though, in looking over my exam results, most of my wrong answers were from the sections without corresponding chapters...common architectures, legacy connectivity, messaging :(. I think my proclivity for screen-scraping did me in.
All-in-all, a masterful book and exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Extensive, May 24 2006
This review is from: Sun Certified Enterprise Architect for J2EE Technology Study Guide (Paperback)
As peer reviewers said the book doesnt cover all the objectives. But as far as it covers, its very crispy. This book needs to be definitely supplemented with some other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book, but not a good study guide., March 3 2003
By 
Ajith Kallambella (JavaRanch.com) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sun Certified Enterprise Architect for J2EE Technology Study Guide (Paperback)
Writing a certification guide poses some serious challenges to the author. Having co-authored a guide my self, I understand how tricky it is to decide how much to cover. It is not unusual to attract criticism from both sides of the aisle - too much detail or too little detail. A test like SCEA that covers such a broad ground makes the job even tougher.
The first ever SCEA guide met most of my expectations. It is concise, covers most of the exam objectives and most importantly, maintains the focus on the test without digressing over to J2EE trivia. Every chapter attempts to cover a set of objectives, and has a review section followed by some sample test questions. The accompanying answers not only explain why an answer is the correct answer, but goes a step further to elaborate why other answers are not correct, or not-so correct. The book also introduces a case study that introduces the reader to skills essential for solving the part II assignment.
I said the book covers "most" of the objectives. That's where it falls short of expectations. Any study guide should, at the least, cover all the test objectives. Some test objectives such as Legacy connectivity and Messaging have been totally left out which made me question the seal of approval from Sun Education! It is one thing not to cover an objective in detail, but totally dropping a couple of them is inexcusable. The editorial bragging "..in-depth coverage of every exam objective.." is simply a prevarication when the guide itself totally drops a few objectives. A good reader can easily point out some spottiness too - such as not including the state diagram for entity beans along with that of stateful and stateless session beans.
In summary, this guide will help you prepare for the test but you will need to supplement it with other study resources and notes. They badly need to fill some gaping holes, and to the extent possible, work towards completeness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Covers most but not all...., March 24 2004
By 
Ajith Kallambella (JavaRanch.com) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sun Certified Enterprise Architect for J2EE Technology Study Guide (Paperback)
Writing a certification guide poses some serious challenges to the author. Having co-authored a guide my self, I understand how tricky it is to decide how much to cover. A test like SCEA that covers such a broad ground makes the job even tougher.
The first ever SCEA guide met most of my expectations. It is concise, covers most of the exam objectives and most importantly, maintains the focus on the test without digressing over to J2EE trivia. Every chapter attempts to cover a set of objectives, and has a review section followed by some sample test questions. The accompanying answers provide explanation of correct, incorrect and not-so correct choices. The book also introduces a case study that introduces the reader to skills essential for solving part-II assignment.
I said the book covers "most" of the objectives. That's where it falls short of expectations. Any study guide should, at the least, cover all the test objectives. Some test objectives such as Legacy connectivity and Messaging have been totally left out which made me question the seal of approval from SunEducation! It is one thing not to cover an objective in detail, but totally dropping a couple of them is inexcusable. A good reader can easily point out some spottiness too - such as not including the state diagram for entity beans along with that of session beans.
In summary, they badly need to fill some gaping holes, and to the extent possible, work towards completeness.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not enough to pass the exam, March 8 2004
By 
mobile_review (Plano, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sun Certified Enterprise Architect for J2EE Technology Study Guide (Paperback)
You can get through this book in a few days, but the material here is not enough to pass the exam.
You would definitely want to read the GoF Design patterns book, along with a good book on EJB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Mistakes, errors, typos, Sept. 19 2003
By 
This review is from: Sun Certified Enterprise Architect for J2EE Technology Study Guide (Paperback)
Reading all the other reviews I just HAVE to warn everybody else about a big problem with this book: it's full of mistakes. Not just simple ones, but some fundamental ones as well. ONLY read this book to get an idea of what the exam will tell you, but get the real information somewhere else. The "review questions" were even worse. Many were more an exercise in your understanding of the english language than a question on the subject, especially those of chapter 2. But the most unforgivable mistake is a question where the answer starts with "We can assume that...". Pardon me? Anybody who calls himself an experienced architect knows Rule One: NEVER make assumptions. Making assumptions is the single most effective way of screwing up a project. To make a long story short, just read the index. That should help enough, and will at least not hurt you either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't trust this book, July 9 2003
This review is from: Sun Certified Enterprise Architect for J2EE Technology Study Guide (Paperback)
Not everybody rates this book very highly (and so do I with 3 starts) I might as well take a different road. Granted the book is not a great one but I strongly recommend your buying if you want to have a quick understanding on what is all about J2EE architect exam.
Well this book is not written for a new programmer, or someone with little knowledge of JSP and Servlets. It requires a solid experience on J2EE to understand the book content and samples. You will not guaranteed to pass the exam only by reading this book,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sun Certified Enterprise Architect for J2EE Technology Study Guide
Sun Certified Enterprise Architect for J2EE Technology Study Guide by Simon Roberts (Paperback - March 11 2002)
CDN$ 57.99 CDN$ 36.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews