Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Enterprise Architecture
Overall I was impressed with the quality of this book. The authors took a fresh look at enterprise architecture as traditionally practiced.
I would only recommend this book if you are an experienced architect. If you don't have a few large-scale type projects under your belt, you won't think many of the suggestions are useful, applicable, or even necessary. If you...
Published on July 5 2004 by Ramesh Sadagopan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Major disappointment
I purchased this book because Scott Ambler was listed as a coauthor. What I received is a book that is uneven in editing and content, and next to worthless as a "Practical Guide". There are some areas in the book that are worthwhile, but on the whole this book is out of touch with contemporary practices in enterprise architecture and how to approach it...
Published on June 15 2004 by Rachel Tozier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Enterprise Architecture, July 5 2004
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Enterprise Architecture (Paperback)
Overall I was impressed with the quality of this book. The authors took a fresh look at enterprise architecture as traditionally practiced.
I would only recommend this book if you are an experienced architect. If you don't have a few large-scale type projects under your belt, you won't think many of the suggestions are useful, applicable, or even necessary. If you do, though, reading this book will be well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Major disappointment, June 15 2004
By 
Rachel Tozier (Brea, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Enterprise Architecture (Paperback)
I purchased this book because Scott Ambler was listed as a coauthor. What I received is a book that is uneven in editing and content, and next to worthless as a "Practical Guide". There are some areas in the book that are worthwhile, but on the whole this book is out of touch with contemporary practices in enterprise architecture and how to approach it.
My advice is to avoid this book. A more realistic, realworld and practical approach to architecture can be found in "IT Architecture Toolkit" by Jane A. Carbone, ISBN 0131473794.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enterprise Architecture without the hype, June 9 2004
By 
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Enterprise Architecture (Paperback)
The text covers several EA topics and issues in a simple, relatively non-technical manner. This book is aimed at architects and executives who need to wrestle with the demands of actually building an enterprise architecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, March 29 2004
By 
Martin Omander (Mountain View, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Enterprise Architecture (Paperback)
This is a good introduction to the field of enterprise architecture. It generally doesn't go into technical detail, so anyone should be able to get something out of it. Also, it is to the point and so mercifully short. The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars is that the book has six authors and it shows. There is no red thread running through the chapters, even if the chapters themselves are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely helpful, March 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Enterprise Architecture (Paperback)
This book was extremely helpful in grappling with company wide information architecture issues. A must have for all IT managers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable for non-technical managers of technical people!, Jan. 23 2004
By 
O. Brown (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Enterprise Architecture (Paperback)
Confused about getting your message across to the geek next door? Confused even about what (s)he does? Wonder why it takes six months to change the color of a button on a web page, or how to get data from one part of your business to another? Then this book is for you!
Enterprise Architecture is not going to make you into a developer (and why would you want to be one, in the first place? For the pizza and sugar-filled drinks?) but the book provides a congent explanation of the tasks that should go behind the development of enterprise-wide systems. This is of particular value if your work requires that you interact with architects and technical leads - you can gain a solid understanding of their concerns, the technical pressures with which they live, and their goals.
Of course, there's the caveat: the book describes ideal development, or at least what its authors believe to be ideal development of large-scale systems. Too many of my experiences have been in businesses that would have profited from their CTOs having read Enterprise Architecture - perhaps if more do, there will be fewer late nights!
I give this book 5 stars as a review, and as a value to the manager. Were I in the trenches, I might reconsider - the work concentrates on breadth, not depth. To the authors' credit, of course, they make that fairly clear from the start, and there are guidelines as to where to search for more. Who knows how long they'll last, or how long this book will remain current, but for now, it's the best book I've found on the subject, and instead of using it to prop up a shaky table, I have it as reference when I'm speaking to engineers by phone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great review of the field, Jan. 20 2004
By 
Eoin Woods (Hertfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Enterprise Architecture (Paperback)
This is one of the few books available that attempts to make sense of enterprise architecture (as opposed to the software architecture for individual information systems). It sets out to be a guide to the main themes in the field and largely succeeds in this aim.
The book provides well written, practical, accessible overviews of a number of topics important to enterprise architecture, including infrastructure architecture, software architecture, service oriented architecture, data architecture, product line architecture and architecture for the presentation tier, as well as a set of extensions to RUP (known as "EUP" - see [...]) and sets of practices to help make architecture and modelling "agile".
There's a lot here of value and the book is one that's easy to recommend to those interested in developing into the role of enterprise architect.
The limitations of the book are probably inevitable, given its fundamental form (covering a wide range of topics and being written by six authors) but it does have some.
Each of the subjects covered is described in a single chapter, leading to a relatively shallow degree of explanation and you're often left with a lot of questions - particularly how to apply this knowledge. Having said this, the text provides plenty of suggestions for further reading to address this problem.
The wide range of subjects also leads to a certain degree of fragmentation, and the book could do with a stronger introduction to provide a "roadmap" to its content and to explain why these are the critical subjects to cover.
Finally, there is also a certain amount of variation in style and depth between the different subjects, a problem that is probably inevitable where six authors and ten subjects are involved. An example of this is where software product lines are really just introduced (with little guidance as to their application - which is actually quite tricky), while in contrast, the sections on agile modelling and SOA contain a lot of useful advice to guide their use.
These relatively minor gripes aside though, this is certainly a book to have on your bookshelf, if you are involved in the development of enterprise system architectures.
I'd also echo a previous reviewer's comment that the book is well produced, albeit with a few missing references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Agile Architecture: How and Why, Jan. 4 2004
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Enterprise Architecture (Paperback)
According to the authors of "A Practical Guide to Enterprise Architecture", many organizations are "still in the cottage industry stage of industrialization" and IT application development is the least computerized part of that organization.
This group of distinguished software architects have compiled an omnibus of enterprise architecture standards and practices to try and put some order into this chaotic situation. McGovern et al define what they call "agile architecture".
Traditional forms of architecture have been overly complex, expensive and inextensible. Agile methods hope to cure that problem by using minimalist forms of the standard tools described in the book. The authors warn that their primary audience is composed of experienced software developers and architects, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the book to newer entrants to the field. This makes a very good overview of modern IT architectural practices.
Various chapters contain thumbnail sketches of such techniques as: SOA, web services, UML, SEI/CMM, the Zachman Framework, MDA, and RUP. Most importantly, they examine the benefits and drawbacks of these techniques and how they can be modified to fit the "agile architecture" model.
On a minor note, the book is beautifully produced on high-quality paper, using a clear font and just enough diagrams to add meaning to the text. Considering how much information has been packed into one book, the clear layout really helps to make it usable both for reading from beginning to end, and also for referring to later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enterprise Architecture, July 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Practical Guide to Enterprise Architecture (Paperback)
I have been waiting for a book like this for several years. There are many books on enterprise architecture that cover the Zachman framework and reiterate principles from SEI, but none that look at enterprise architecture from a practical perspective. This book provides a framework for thinking about how software development should occur within the enterprise and presents strategies and techniques for improving individual and team performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa82140d8)

This product

A Practical Guide to Enterprise Architecture
A Practical Guide to Enterprise Architecture by Elias K. Jo (Paperback - Oct. 28 2003)
CDN$ 71.50 CDN$ 45.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews