Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book to start in options trading!
I read dozens books about options. I only came across four, which have a real practical value about real options trading. This one - "Options made easy" - the first one. It's a very good introduction to option theory and practical approach of trading. Three others - "Options Workbook" by Tony Saliba, "Volatility" by Natenberg and "Options: Perceptions and Deceptions" by...
Published on Sept. 18 2003 by Kirill Droujkov

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing fo a Novice
I have very little option investing knowlege but it felt like the book jumped into different techniques before I had a grasp of the basics. It appeared it was wrote for someone with Options experience rather that a novice like myself.
Published 16 months ago by Len


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book to start in options trading!, Sept. 18 2003
By 
Kirill Droujkov (Bellevue, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Options made easy (Paperback)
I read dozens books about options. I only came across four, which have a real practical value about real options trading. This one - "Options made easy" - the first one. It's a very good introduction to option theory and practical approach of trading. Three others - "Options Workbook" by Tony Saliba, "Volatility" by Natenberg and "Options: Perceptions and Deceptions" by Cottle. All other books so far - theoretical garbage by people who want to make money by only selling books and useless services, but not trading options!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No further comment, Oct. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Options Made Easy: Your Guide to Profitable Trading (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
New book with pages missing and out of order.Example:pg.142 follows Pg.172 etc. Did not begin to read the book until some time later and at the time thought it was to late to do anything as 30 day time period had pasted. An additional problem for me was I found what I did read difficult to follow,the title from my point of view is misleading. I have followed Guy Cohen on his Web-free Newsletter and do not think his product his worth what he thinks it is worth.Most of his material is available from other sources at a fraction of the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing fo a Novice, April 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Options Made Easy: Your Guide to Profitable Trading (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
I have very little option investing knowlege but it felt like the book jumped into different techniques before I had a grasp of the basics. It appeared it was wrote for someone with Options experience rather that a novice like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As the title says! - & excellent non-option context chapters, Oct. 22 2003
This review is from: Options made easy (Paperback)
Having read a large number of stocks and trading psychology books and trading stocks/CFDs and moving on to Options I bought and read this and Michael Thomsetts 'Getting started in Options' book. Choose this one. Its an easy read style, clear text and graphs and makes it all understandable. As a bonus, the best thing is for new traders are the excellent chapters on Psychology and Technical Analysis which could stand alone as mini-guide on these subjects.(Intermediate/advanced traders could skip them but they are a useful reminder). There are a couple of references to his software but that is fine (in fact while this is a book review I have also benefitted from his course and using the software). At the end is also a good 'Putting it all together' section to actually DO the option trading as well as a useful strategy summary. I am now successfully trading options, initiated to a large to degree by this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attaining Healthy Life and Happiness by Trading Options, Feb. 4 2009
By 
Denis Maftei (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Options Made Easy: Your Guide to Profitable Trading (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
I like Guy Cohen's approach to the subject. This is the first book on this rather arcane "art" where the author sheds light on the implications of the risks assumed in trading on the trader's own life style and organization. Very interesting!

On the technical side, Cohen does a good job of explaining various alternative techniques of trading options. I suggest that the level of this book is above "introductory" and, anyone who is new at this game should start elsewhere first, to get a good grip on the basics. For people that have already passed the introductory stage, and have dabbled in trading options to enhance their returns, Cohen is an excellent teacher who, not only clearly explains his subject but, as an excellent teacher should, opens the door for additional intriguing ideas that the reader may wish to explore on himself. For such a large and varied field, this is one of the best "mid-level" texts I have read.

The book is covering options trading, rather than adding options trading to stock trading using fundamental or technical analysis but, in the trading world, there are as many systems as traders and it may be a good idea to restrict the presentation to a narrower but clearly defined subject in order to avoid diluting the message. There are many traders that do one kind of trading only and this book is excellent at what it does. I wished to find a chapter on integrating options in other, more general, trading "systems" but, to be fair, in order to satisfy the majority of traders out there, it would have required a multi-volume edition. Instead, the author included chapters on risk evaluation and order-in-thinking-and-life that are of general use and for which I was grateful.

All in all, I found this one a keeper and it stays on my bookshelf for periodic reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Options Book, April 17 2003
By 
Fred Flynn (Singelton, WA Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Options made easy (Paperback)
Having decided to trade options I read every book available on the subject and viewed a number of videos. When I finally caught up with Guy Cohen's's book I thought I do not need another book on this subject, wrong. I quickly realised that the title "options made Easy" was correct it was by far the easiest book to understand the different strategies available with the potential risks & rewards of each trade, His trading symbols are unique.
When I sent a query to Guy's website I was astonished to get an answer in hours, very impressive.
If you want a thorough grounding in options in an easy to understand format I thoroughly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book about options!, Feb. 26 2003
By 
Jose Espana (Guatemala, Guatemala) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Options made easy (Paperback)
This is the best book I've read about options. It explains an EASY way to understanding the concepts of options, strategies, technical analysis and trading psychology, as the title says. It also explains the particular risk profile charts for every options strategy the book teaches. It guides you on about what criteria to use when screening stocks for particular options strategies. The technical analysis section offers an in depth and EASY way to spot chart patterns and gives you information on other indicators to monitor that can confirm the patterns. Everything in the book is explained clearly and understandably and at the end of each chapter there is a summary. Most importantly it talks about the investor psychology, which I think is the most important part of the equation. The best knowledge won't help if you don't have the right mind setting. Buy this book first, and then buy the other books you are considering about options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but a bit dated, June 13 2010
By 
This review is from: Options Made Easy: Your Guide to Profitable Trading (2nd Edition) (Hardcover)
This is one of the better books on options that I have read.

However ...

I ordered Kindle version of book to read on PC and found some sections quite difficult to read as there was no zoom function.

Often Mr Cohen would promote his website or software, which no longer appear to exit on the Internet.

Not much info on volatility, which is one of the most important areas to learn especially of late in the markets.

Finally found that parts of the books were well written, yet other parts were quite unclear without sufficient info. More examples and diagrams would have helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I've read about options, Feb. 26 2003
By 
Jose Espana (Guatemala, Guatemala) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Options made easy (Paperback)
This is the best book I've read about options. It explains an EASY way to understanding the concepts of options, strategies, technical analysis and trading psychology, as the title says. It also explains the particular risk profile charts for every options strategy the book teaches. It guides you on about what criteria to use when screening stocks for particular options strategies. The technical analysis section offers an in depth and EASY way to spot chart patterns and gives you information on other indicators to monitor that can confirm the patterns. Everything in the book is explained clearly and understandably and at the end of each chapter there is a summary. Most importantly it talks about the investor psychology, which I think is the most important part of the equation. The best knowledge won't help if you don't have the right mind setting. Buy this book first, and then buy the other books you are considering about options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The options equivalent of 'Trading for a Living', Dec 8 2002
This review is from: Options made easy (Paperback)
Guy Cohen has made options as accessible as Alex Elder made stocks and commodities. 'Options made Easy' gives a clear, substantially pictorial perspective on this unnecessarily complex world. For all options students this book will function both as a quick reference and a venerated mentor. It is the ideal companion both for the beginner and the experienced trader who seeks clarity and an incisive view of options strategies. An excellent read that will make you money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Options Made Easy: Your Guide to Profitable Trading (2nd Edition)
Used & New from: CDN$ 5.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews