Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be a professional
If you want to be inspired to be a true professional programmer, Clean Code is a great book. A variety of topics are covered including naming, comments, formatting, exception handling, testing, and concurrency. Once you've read the book, the reference chapter on smells and heuristics is probably what you'll return to the most.

The common theme that runs through...
Published on Sept. 20 2008 by Nicholas Roeder

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, not great
This book is an OK collection of coding tips, but is not in the same league as Steve McConnell's God-like "Code Complete". This is illustrated by comparing how the two books broach the topic of "how long should a function be?".

Martin writes things like "Functions should hardly ever the 20 lines long ... This is not an assertion that I can justify. I can't...
Published on April 11 2010 by gyas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be a professional, Sept. 20 2008
By 
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Paperback)
If you want to be inspired to be a true professional programmer, Clean Code is a great book. A variety of topics are covered including naming, comments, formatting, exception handling, testing, and concurrency. Once you've read the book, the reference chapter on smells and heuristics is probably what you'll return to the most.

The common theme that runs through the book is the push to be a true professional when programming. More often than not we get something working and then move on, saying that we'll write the tests or refactor it later. A professional will clean up the mess immediately before moving on to the next task. In this sense the book is inspiring if these goals are in line with yours.

In some ways the book reminds me of Code Complete, but if you already have read that you will still find new content, in particular with the exhaustive examples that show various clean ups including a portion of JUnit. A couple of the examples feel like they go on too long, including an Appendix of 60 pages of a replacement Date class for Java. I just find reading that much code in a book to be more difficult than on-screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Changed Me, June 17 2009
By 
Chris Maguire (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Paperback)
I'd been programming for eight years in various languages and technologies when I read this book so I wasn't an absolute beginner; but after I read this book my coding completely changed, and I think for the better.

What impressed me most about this book was the many examples: "Uncle Bob" gave practical before and after examples of applying the principals of clean code. The examples were realistic and worthwhile: he'd take a piece of code, iteratively apply different principals and by the time he was done the code looked, well, clean, both in design and readability.

From what I've heard, what people remember most is the principal of "self-documenting code". Now I too had heard all of that before and I'd seen some terrible "self-documenting" code; however, when Martin explained it--and gave examples--it began to make sense and I've been doing it ever since. Trust me, when _he_ explains it, it makes sense.

The book goes well beyond self-documenting code. I would recommend this book for anyone who codes, but especially for someone with a couple years of, not just writing code, but also reading other people's code; often it's hard to pin down just what is so difficult and clumsy about the code we write and Martin shows us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read for those who want to learn better programming practices, April 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Paperback)
This book was well written and easy to follow, and it helped me to overcome many of my programming issues simply by teaching me how to write cleaner code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Important book, Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Paperback)
It is a very important book for every developer. A lot of valuable information in the book. It did teach me new way to have a clean code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read it, July 9 2013
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Paperback)
Nice book! Easy reading before bed time. Has lots of similarities with 'Code Complete' though I would say is better and gives deeper knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, not great, April 11 2010
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Paperback)
This book is an OK collection of coding tips, but is not in the same league as Steve McConnell's God-like "Code Complete". This is illustrated by comparing how the two books broach the topic of "how long should a function be?".

Martin writes things like "Functions should hardly ever the 20 lines long ... This is not an assertion that I can justify. I can't provide any references to research that shows that very small functions are better." On the same topic McConnell doesn't merely make unjustified assertions, he states that the optimal function size is 100-200 lines then *does* provide citations to 7 actual studies referenced in a massive 20 page bibliography(!) to affirm his position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great rules for long lasting code, Oct. 29 2010
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Paperback)
I am part way into this book and it's a great guide with specific examples on some best practices and recommendations on how To do and Not to for small and large code projects.

The writing style of the book is very easy to follow, and does not dry out with a sprinkle of geeky humor and real-life stories. The suggestions are based on the modern programming world today, and how the life of your code may last longer and go through more hands than you may expect.

I have already started to change my coding patterns based on some of these recommendations.. and I know shifting my mindset over whatever period of time towards cleaner code, will benefit me and those to come after me.

Clean Code should be standard for all programmers/architects/engineers in any position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth to buy as you will read it often, Dec 30 2011
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Paperback)
I do not buy a lot of books, but this one worth it. Good book to read when in the first months of learning to code as you will start will good practices. It is easy to read and does not go too deep in each concept. It will make you aware of how to ... code clean...
There is a chapter at the end that summarize all the concepts so you can read this chapter often to remember them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Precise and valuable, Nov. 22 2009
By 
Xiaonuo Gantan "programming geek" (Saskatoon, SK Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Paperback)
This is the book that every programmer should read at least twice. Reading this book is enjoyable and fruitful. It won't tell you a specific technique, but a bunch of guidelines on how to write readable code for others and (especially) for your future self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, June 22 2009
By 
Dale Fukami - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship (Paperback)
This book is for the serious software developer.

Add this to Fowler's Refactoring to make a great 1 - 2 punch.

While Fowler's Refactoring demonstrates techniques for moving code from one state to another, this book identifies lower level examples of what needs to be refactored (or written correctly the first time).

Read it, code for a month, and read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9e994c8)

This product

Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship
Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship by Robert C. Martin (Paperback - Aug. 1 2008)
CDN$ 51.99 CDN$ 32.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews