Customer Reviews


493 Reviews
5 star:
 (283)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (50)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow the dotted line . . .
This book first appeared in 1957---I read it in 1976, and have now re-read it in 2006. Strange, but it holds up well, yet is dated. A time capsule really, this is a throw back to the "beat" days and a first stab at autobiography. Sald Paradis sis the narrator of this journey, and it covers everything from reform school to hitchhiking. Full of beautiful and disturbing...
Published on Oct. 6 2006 by Strange fiction fan

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much meandering
I read this book because a friend said it was her favorite book. About a hundred pages in I was completely bored, and I was only able to finish it through sheer will power. Only a few gems of insight into the human character are scattered throughout an endless stream of "and then, and then, and then" escapades. I did not relate to anyone in the book; characters...
Published on June 5 2004


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow the dotted line . . ., Oct. 6 2006
This review is from: On the Road (Paperback)
This book first appeared in 1957---I read it in 1976, and have now re-read it in 2006. Strange, but it holds up well, yet is dated. A time capsule really, this is a throw back to the "beat" days and a first stab at autobiography. Sald Paradis sis the narrator of this journey, and it covers everything from reform school to hitchhiking. Full of beautiful and disturbing "music" this has now become a classic. So many writers can be connected with Jack K., and certainly Salinger's "Holden" comes to mind with his wacy takes on life and his own "journey." Must also recommend the excellent novel, "Katzenjammer" by Jackson McCrae, for another excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much meandering, June 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: On the Road (Paperback)
I read this book because a friend said it was her favorite book. About a hundred pages in I was completely bored, and I was only able to finish it through sheer will power. Only a few gems of insight into the human character are scattered throughout an endless stream of "and then, and then, and then" escapades. I did not relate to anyone in the book; characters are restless, aimless, without direction, eager to go somewhere just for the sake of going, unable to commit to anything or anyone, including each other, always sure that the best thing is just around the bend. They're like kids in an amusement park who want to ride everything, but shortly after they get in line for one ride, they decide to get in line for another ride, and they repeat this until the park is closed. So I felt little sympathy for them when they would inevitably find themselves down and out somewhere, wondering why they hadn't arrived at the mirage, and wondering which mirage to chase next.
My personality is just not at all suited to this kind of aimless wandering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On the Road (Kindle Edition)
A classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, April 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On the Road (Paperback)
Yeah, y'know, good book, good quality, cheap, what more do you want. I'd buy again. Might buy it for a friend. Absolute must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Real Adventures of America, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: On the Road (Paperback)
The first psychedelic book. Required reading for any serious student of the world. One of the great books of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting, Breathless, Attempt to "Seize the Day!", May 23 2005
By 
This review is from: On the Road (Paperback)
Jack Kerouac wrote this novel about several escapades he took across the country in the late 1940's. He used characters from his real life, such as Allen Ginsburg the poet and author; and Neal Cassidy, Kerouac's idol, and changed their names to use in the story.
In "On The Road", Sal Paradise(Kerouac), a young writer from New York City, ventures to cities around the country, staying with old friends, making new friends, and doing everything he can to stay alive and move on. His mentor and friend, Dean Moriarty(Neal Cassidy), often travels with Sal, always talking, laughing, and being his insane self. Now let's stop and take a brief look at the fascinating life of Dean Moriarty: Throughout the story, Dean plays several different women, has 3 wives and 4 children, half of whom he can't account for ever meeting. He was born in Salt Lake City, and grew up going to reform schools and jail. Dean was an infamous hustler in Texas and Denver who was always stealing cars and money, but never for more then $10 or just when he needed a quick ride. He was insane, always laughing and having a great time, and always getting the most he could out of life. Sal and Dean experienced some great high's and low's of travelling together, seeing such cities as Chicago, Denver, San Francisco, and Mexico City. Throughout the book you get to know the fascinating personalities of Sal, Dean, and several other characters.
Just as important as the story and the characters is the STYLE in which the book is written; it's this style, which gives the book its vibrant, breathless, spontaneous intensity. And, yes, this is where the book really earns its legendary status, because few other books are able to convey the exhilaration and excitement and fun of a mad attempt to "seize the day." On The Road is truly a life-affirming, free-wheeling experience. Along with On The Road, I'd also like to recommend "The Losers' Club: Complete Restored Edition" by Richard Perez, a strange little beat-influenced romance and, weirdly, the second best book I read so far this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True yesterday, true today, true tomorrow, May 9 2005
By 
Tomra Dale (Nashville, TN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On the Road (Paperback)
Sal Paradise is a writer just like Kerouac who decides to 'see America'. He hitches rides, washes dishes, works on farms, sleeps on floors and under the stars, experiencing new flavors of life and meeting different kinds of people he never thought existed. It is a kaleidoscopic journey across this country, not some plastic trip on flying tin cans, staying in gaudy hotels, hobnobbing with phony people and walking through tourist traps in line with the flock. He meets other writers just like himself coming and going 'On The Road' who convey their own experiences and enrich Sal's ever more in the process.
The conflict comes in the figure of Dean Moriarty, a hustler and con man who the beatniks first embrace as one of their own, but eventually identify for what he is after patterns begin to emerge in his relationships with his peers. Sal at first sees Dean as a hero, a role model, but slowly grows disillusioned with broken promises, threadbare lies, irresponsible behavior, and eventual deceit and betrayal. The whole story is focused on Sal and Dean, and just as the two go off on a tangent down into Mexico and on into Central America, it seems analogous as to how Sal's vision become blurred and misdirected in following an agenda he mistakenly believes to be his own.
This is probably the best book written on the Beat Generation, capturing the essence of the times and the spirit that established what became the underground culture of America. Teens and young adults having trouble articulating their deepest feelings may find that Kerouac did it for them almost a half century ago. Don't miss it! Along with this great novel, I'd also like to recommend, "THE LOSERS' CLUB: Complete Restored Edition" by Richard Perez
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overrated and overhyped, Jan. 14 2004
By 
Krystyna Kouri "legaleagle101" (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On the Road (Paperback)
After reading this book twice, I still have no clue as to why it is still being hailed as the "beatnik" generation bible. I mean, puh-leaze..... if I want to read about a bunch of idiotic, hormonal men driving around in a primitive attempt to get laid, I'll just stop by the fraternity house. This is proof that men who dream of getting laid read about other men who dream about getting laid, and then praise them for being so gosh darn smart. What a waste of money... it does however make good toilet paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars canadians ripped off, Aug. 21 2013
By 
B. Hopkins (Tobermory, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On the Road (Kindle Edition)
I am fortunate enough to live in the USA for part of the year, and thus have an account with Amazon.com.
I purchased the book "On The Road" for 3.99 (kindle edition) and see that it is sold for 13.99 on the Canadian site.
What is the justification for this unfair pricing?? Not to mention, there is NO tax charged on books on the .com site!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hey Man, its the prose, Jan. 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: On the Road (Paperback)
Take away the story behind the book, take away the cult of personality, take away the romantic notions about "Beat", and take away the cool. What you got left is not a lot. This book does not stand as a work of literature without the mythology surrounding it and its author. We are told this is great revolutionary important because it was written spontaneously (on a scroll, wow). I do not care whether a writer composes in his sleep, on the toilet, on drugs, in one day, or over 20 years. Just is it any good? I was bored silly by this novel. It is exactly what one would think it is: a chronicle of a road trip back and forth across the country. In 1940s this might have been a new and exciting thing to do but practically everyone nowadays does this nowadays within a year of getting their drivers license. There is no structure to the book and there is nothing in the prose anyone could not write given the same experiences. The road trip experiences themselves are not very interesting or unique, even for the time, and the characters are infatuated with themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Road
On the Road by Jack Kerouac (Paperback - Jan. 1 1976)
CDN$ 17.00 CDN$ 12.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews