Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Before it was cool
Ted Simon rode an old Triumph around the world. Well, it wasn't old at the time, it was just a long time ago. He proved that you don't need a big touring bike to get around. Nor much experience. It does help if you are a little clever, curious and very genuine. This book is packed with adventure and insight.
Published 28 days ago by Jeremy L. Kroeker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jupiter's Travels interesting, but not always to the point
As someone who managed to put 36000 miles on his BMW motorcycle in two years I was interested in the story of a man who took it beyond the "next level". I enjoyed the book, but thought that Ted did not always get to the point and got sidetracked in his thinking process. Ultimately it boils down to his style of writing and a matter of personal taste... I...
Published on Oct. 6 2000 by Michael Schelb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jupiter's Travels interesting, but not always to the point, Oct. 6 2000
By 
Michael Schelb (Boca Raton, FL United States) - See all my reviews
As someone who managed to put 36000 miles on his BMW motorcycle in two years I was interested in the story of a man who took it beyond the "next level". I enjoyed the book, but thought that Ted did not always get to the point and got sidetracked in his thinking process. Ultimately it boils down to his style of writing and a matter of personal taste... I recommend the book, but keep in mind that there will be pages one has to just chew through...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Before it was cool, March 21 2014
By 
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Kindle Edition)
Ted Simon rode an old Triumph around the world. Well, it wasn't old at the time, it was just a long time ago. He proved that you don't need a big touring bike to get around. Nor much experience. It does help if you are a little clever, curious and very genuine. This book is packed with adventure and insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book is as described, Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiters Travels (Paperback)
Thanks for the book, one of the best reads I've had in a long time. Should be required reading for anyone planning a long, multi-country trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A trip though consciousness and space., Dec 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Kindle Edition)
Way more than expected. Mr. Simon asked questions that cannot be properly answered. Any one can ride around the world but very few can bring it back with them. His book Dreaming of Jupiter exposes the truths that change with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ride, Oct. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiters Travels (Paperback)
I rode a 650 triumph in the early 70s and always thought about a long ride, this ride is something else, a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars skippy, Aug. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Paperback)
Overall I liked the book, I didn't care for the "forward" I didn't think it invited one to keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Read, June 12 2013
By 
SFriedman (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Paperback)
This is a very interesting and inspiring book to read. Just to think that at the age of 42 (I wonder what Douglas Adams would say about that), with no riding experience, no cell phones, Internet, GPS, not to mention using one of the less reliable machines in motorcycles history, the author sets out on a motorcycle journey around the world. Considering those facts alone made me want to do it as well, right now! :)
The descriptions of the world that was are lively and realistic and I have identified with many of the writer opinions.

I recommend this book to any motorcycling and / or adventures enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jupiter's Travels revisited, Dec 7 2009
By 
E. R. Wootton (Brampton On. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Paperback)
Having been a motorcycle rider for most of my life, (many years of it spent as a Motorcycle Patrolman,) I was naturaly interested to see what Ted Simon originally had to say about his long ride.
The book kept me fascinated throughout, - his calm, unhurried 'matter of fact way' of relating his adventures kept me absorbed for many an hour. His story was read and read again, and often shared with others. I also decided to purchase a copy for a friend and give it as a gift. To my surprise and delight, although still in paperback format, it was a larger size, and even contained more photos than the original. An enjoyable read, and well worth the time and money spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!, April 16 2005
By 
Steve Harris (Victoria, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Paperback)
I've read a few travel books - Miles From Nowhere (a brilliant book in its own right), 10 years on 2 wheels etc... but there is something my limited vocabulary will simply fail to explain about this book - something intangible. Perhaps it's something that cannot really be put into words - more of a feeling - how finishing the book makes you feel (almost as if you were there with Ted).
Anyway - make your own mind up but don't pass this book over it is truly great.
Good travels - Steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Trip of a Lifetime, Nov. 11 2000
By A Customer
This book is the next best thing to being there, all over the world. Another good one, with great, coffee-table sized photos though less text: 20 Years On Two Wheels, by Helge Peterson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1adc54c)

This product

Jupiters Travels
Jupiters Travels by Ted Simon (Paperback - Feb. 27 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews