Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before it was cool
Ted Simon rode an old Triumph around the world. Well, it wasn't old at the time, it was just a long time ago. He proved that you don't need a big touring bike to get around. Nor much experience. It does help if you are a little clever, curious and very genuine. This book is packed with adventure and insight.
Published 4 months ago by Jeremy L. Kroeker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jupiter's Travels interesting, but not always to the point
As someone who managed to put 36000 miles on his BMW motorcycle in two years I was interested in the story of a man who took it beyond the "next level". I enjoyed the book, but thought that Ted did not always get to the point and got sidetracked in his thinking process. Ultimately it boils down to his style of writing and a matter of personal taste... I...
Published on Oct. 6 2000 by Michael Schelb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before it was cool, March 21 2014
By 
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Kindle Edition)
Ted Simon rode an old Triumph around the world. Well, it wasn't old at the time, it was just a long time ago. He proved that you don't need a big touring bike to get around. Nor much experience. It does help if you are a little clever, curious and very genuine. This book is packed with adventure and insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jupiter's Travels interesting, but not always to the point, Oct. 6 2000
By 
Michael Schelb (Boca Raton, FL United States) - See all my reviews
As someone who managed to put 36000 miles on his BMW motorcycle in two years I was interested in the story of a man who took it beyond the "next level". I enjoyed the book, but thought that Ted did not always get to the point and got sidetracked in his thinking process. Ultimately it boils down to his style of writing and a matter of personal taste... I recommend the book, but keep in mind that there will be pages one has to just chew through...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lost in thought around the world, May 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Kindle Edition)
Ted is startlingly open and honest about the hardships of such a trip. His highs are stratospheric, his lows are abysmal, but he doesn't shy away from any of them. Like zen and the art of motorcycle maintenance, Jupiter's Travels is more about an inner journey than a review of what the world looks like from the saddle of a motorbike. The bike is the vehicle, but it isn't the point of the story. I greatly enjoyed this book. It offered moments of deep insight into our roaming selves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The adventurer's handbook, April 27 2014
By 
Boogie (North America) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Paperback)
This book is for anyone who has ever dreamed of leaving it all behind and setting out to see what the world has to offer. This book has inspired countless adventurers and even more dreamers. A well written account of Ted Simon's years on two wheels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book is as described, Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiters Travels (Paperback)
Thanks for the book, one of the best reads I've had in a long time. Should be required reading for anyone planning a long, multi-country trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A trip though consciousness and space., Dec 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Kindle Edition)
Way more than expected. Mr. Simon asked questions that cannot be properly answered. Any one can ride around the world but very few can bring it back with them. His book Dreaming of Jupiter exposes the truths that change with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ride, Oct. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiters Travels (Paperback)
I rode a 650 triumph in the early 70s and always thought about a long ride, this ride is something else, a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars skippy, Aug. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Paperback)
Overall I liked the book, I didn't care for the "forward" I didn't think it invited one to keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Read, June 12 2013
By 
SFriedman (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Paperback)
This is a very interesting and inspiring book to read. Just to think that at the age of 42 (I wonder what Douglas Adams would say about that), with no riding experience, no cell phones, Internet, GPS, not to mention using one of the less reliable machines in motorcycles history, the author sets out on a motorcycle journey around the world. Considering those facts alone made me want to do it as well, right now! :)
The descriptions of the world that was are lively and realistic and I have identified with many of the writer opinions.

I recommend this book to any motorcycling and / or adventures enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jupiter's Travels revisited, Dec 7 2009
By 
E. R. Wootton (Brampton On. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jupiter's Travels (Paperback)
Having been a motorcycle rider for most of my life, (many years of it spent as a Motorcycle Patrolman,) I was naturaly interested to see what Ted Simon originally had to say about his long ride.
The book kept me fascinated throughout, - his calm, unhurried 'matter of fact way' of relating his adventures kept me absorbed for many an hour. His story was read and read again, and often shared with others. I also decided to purchase a copy for a friend and give it as a gift. To my surprise and delight, although still in paperback format, it was a larger size, and even contained more photos than the original. An enjoyable read, and well worth the time and money spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jupiters Travels
Jupiters Travels by Ted Simon (Paperback - Feb. 27 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews