Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delighting, funny, totally weird story
Those who only knew Dahl as a writer of funny short stories and haunting children's books, should look here. This is one of his more lengthy stories, although it doesn't have much more than 200 pages. His witty and capricious style hasn't changed either: this is a book as funny as you'll seldom read them. It's not for the youngest kids though, mainly because of its main...
Published on Feb. 5 2004 by hjonkers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My Uncle Oswald
I think this is one of the inferior books of Dahl. He is a great short story teller but as far as novel is concerned it lacks maturity. Of coarse we should not compare him to Marquez or Proust still he cannot build the canvas. I would say the book is good for one 10 hrs cross atlantic travel or two days of weekend holidays. Too much copulation in too little time and he...
Published on June 27 2001 by Libri Mundi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delighting, funny, totally weird story, Feb. 5 2004
By 
hjonkers (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
Those who only knew Dahl as a writer of funny short stories and haunting children's books, should look here. This is one of his more lengthy stories, although it doesn't have much more than 200 pages. His witty and capricious style hasn't changed either: this is a book as funny as you'll seldom read them. It's not for the youngest kids though, mainly because of its main subject. For there is just one thing this whole book depends on: sex. Not the kind of it you meet in most books, though: the story is rather a caricature of all sexual values that have ever existed. The story's main person, Oswald Cornelius (who is called 'uncle' because the whole story is quoted from his 'diaries' by a nephew), is, according to Dahl, "the greatest rogue, bounder, connoisseur, bon vivant and fornicator of all time". He seems to get every lady, not regarding age or whatever else, into bed with utmost ease. This gentleman comes across a lot of absolutely ridiculous adventures that are all described in this wicked book.
This story takes place around 1912, when Oswald is barely seventeen. In spite of his young age, he is already a great diplomat and communicator. When he hears about a mysterious African beetle that, when stamped to powder, increases a man's potency highly, he's the first to go on expedition to Africa and get hold of some of these beetles. He accomplishes his mission and gets back to Europe where he sells his 'high-potency pills' at exorbitant prices to noble people from all over the world. But then he realizes there's much more (money) to get. Oswald then develops an ultimately ridiculous plan. Take a look at the cover if you're curious about it, I'd say. Anyway, to execute this plan he needs help. He picks out two people as his sidekicks: a chemist called A.R. Woresley and his schoolmate Yasmin Howcomely, "a girl absolutely soaked in sex" as Dahl describes it. And off they go for their mission...
While Oswald is presented as a great bon vivant in the beginning, I need to say that his person changes during the story. At the start he's an audacious boy who fears nobody and even dares to challenge older ladies, but during the second part of the story Oswald is mainly a witness of Yasmin's actions. He has become a businessman who lets others do the work for him. And as with real businessmen, not everything goes as they had planned it... But in the end any kind of character development doesn't matter all that much, for this novel is just a very humorous story that made me laugh as I'd seldom did before with any book. The undertaken actions, and especially the way Dahl describes these, are incredibly funny. You're really in for a (hopefully positive) shock if you haven't read anything like this before. I can absolutely recommend this book for anyone who likes a very lucid and deliciously weird read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dahl's gem shines on, March 1 2002
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
When encountering dahl's metaphysical view of man and nature it's best to approach his works from a geo-sensitive literary mindset. This I say, of course, with all neo-pretentions aside.
His characters have an opaque luster and that sheen only grows as the character reveals himself through dahl's social-societal inclinations to reveal that which has thus far remained cloaked.
And the book is cloaked, in a sense. Cloaked with an aged, starched blanket enriching words and breathing life into paradigms once left unexplored save for the recesses of a sharp yet dusty mind. But this you see, of course, and don't you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars laugh out loud, deliciously sexy..., Feb. 22 2011
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
This book is sexy but not pornographic, an adult book which is clever, funny and ironic. If you liked any of RD's children's books and you are an adult now, who possesses a raunchy sense of humour and an appreciation of subtlety, you will LOVE this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everything we would come to expect from Dahl, Nov. 2 2003
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
This is a typical Roald Dahl book, which shows the authors fantasy and imagination at work.
I read somewhere that Dahl was embarassed about this book being published but it is an entertaining read.
The book is quite short, and is a continuation of one of his short stories.
Dahl always gets to the point in his writing, as he does so here with a kind of soft core porno novel. Naturally there is a liberal dosage of black humour from Dahl also.
I would recommend this book, as Dahl is in my opinion a hugely original and exceptional author, the likes of which we will not see again for 100 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Uncle Oswald, Jan. 7 2003
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
As a child I was a huge Roald Dahl fan. When my sister told me that he also wrote Adult books, I was so excited. I read this one a few weeks ago, and it was so entertaining! Really a great, funny, story. I recommend that anyone looking for a clever, hilarious novel pick up this one. Right now I'm buying copies for all of my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dahl, the master of children's tales, June 25 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
When I read this book I...knew little about the act of procreation (besides what I had seen in pictures). Dahl exhibits here not a realistic, but an idealistic view of sexuality. Too often, sex is used to demean the woman and to obtain power. My Uncle Oswald makes a mockery of such values and shows what sex could be without the foolish inhibitions of society.
Oswald is a young man at the time of this tale, and is beginning to discover the pleasures that women can provide. What struck me about him was that although he had a rule never to sleep with a woman more than once, he was remarkably equalitarian in his relations with a partner. When he meets the beautiful Yasmin Howcomely, she becomes an equal partner in his ventures. They sleep together twice, but there are no regrets that the relationship does not continue. Oswald never "uses" a woman for pleasure, he merely enjoys the company they give, never forcing more than is desire by the woman.
This book may seem nothing more than a romp through a sexual, historical world filled with geniuses and ridiculous plot twists (it is set in the early 1900's). But looking closer, the reader will notice that it is a brilliant satire of views dearly held by the common man, everything from inherited traits to drug use. And all this is told by one of the most beloved children's writers of our century. Who would have guessed?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick witted, quick read, April 9 2002
By 
A. Whitney (Silicon Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
Roald Dahl is one of the most compelling yet unpretentious writers I have ever read. He is infinitely clever and can master children's books, short stories and erotic novellas. This book is a great example of how crafty he can be with adult subject matter. This is not a book for children, as it deals with sexual matters throughout.
"My Uncle Oswald" is a rollicking story of how a shrewd businessman made his fortune off of powerful men and their enflamed sexual desires. The female character of the beautiful Yasmin Howcomely is a great example of an intelligent and self-aware lady who uses her brains and looks to get somewhere. The book is pure comedy from beginning to end and highlights how Dahl can make any subject funny. If you have enjoyed his short stories, you'll enjoy this short book.
If you aren't prudish, love witty yet accessible writing and have a few spare hours on your hands, you'll love this book. It is short enough for a cross-country flight or a few nights pre-bedtime reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars shine on you crazy dahl diamond, March 1 2002
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
When encountering dahl's metaphysical view of man and nature it's best to approach his works from a geo-sensitive literary mindset. This I say, of course, with all neo-pretentions aside.
His characters have an opaque luster and that sheen only grows as the character reveals himself through dahl's social-societal inclinations to reveal that which has thus far remained cloaked.
And the book is cloaked, in a sense. Cloaked with an aged, starched blanket enriching words and breathing life into paradigms once left unexplored save for the recesses of a sharp yet dusty mind. But this you see, of course, and don't you?
Perhaps the most fitting conclusion is one with a circular return, as if a thought is spawning, yearning and yawning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dahl's gem shines on, March 1 2002
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
When encountering dahl's metaphysical view of man and nature it's best to approach his works from a geo-sensitive literary mindset. This I say, of course, with all neo-pretentions aside.
His characters have an opaque luster and that sheen only grows as the character reveals himself through dahl's social-societal inclinations to reveal that which has thus far remained cloaked.
And the book is cloaked, in a sense. Cloaked with an aged, starched blanket enriching words and breathing life into paradigms once left unexplored save for the recesses of a sharp yet dusty mind. But this you see, of course, and don't you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing but Inferior Dahl, Dec 27 2001
By 
Chris Ward (Costa Rica) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
For completists, a necessity, but not his best work. He clearly had some fun writing it-- you'll have fun reading it. Best to stick with his short-stories, though-- they represent the cream of his adult fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Uncle Oswald
My Uncle Oswald by Roald Dahl (Paperback - March 28 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews