Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dahl's gem shines on
When encountering dahl's metaphysical view of man and nature it's best to approach his works from a geo-sensitive literary mindset. This I say, of course, with all neo-pretentions aside.
His characters have an opaque luster and that sheen only grows as the character reveals himself through dahl's social-societal inclinations to reveal that which has thus far remained...
Published on March 1 2002 by buster225

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My Uncle Oswald
I think this is one of the inferior books of Dahl. He is a great short story teller but as far as novel is concerned it lacks maturity. Of coarse we should not compare him to Marquez or Proust still he cannot build the canvas. I would say the book is good for one 10 hrs cross atlantic travel or two days of weekend holidays. Too much copulation in too little time and he...
Published on June 27 2001 by Libri Mundi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dahl's gem shines on, March 1 2002
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
When encountering dahl's metaphysical view of man and nature it's best to approach his works from a geo-sensitive literary mindset. This I say, of course, with all neo-pretentions aside.
His characters have an opaque luster and that sheen only grows as the character reveals himself through dahl's social-societal inclinations to reveal that which has thus far remained cloaked.
And the book is cloaked, in a sense. Cloaked with an aged, starched blanket enriching words and breathing life into paradigms once left unexplored save for the recesses of a sharp yet dusty mind. But this you see, of course, and don't you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dahl, the master of children's tales, June 25 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
When I read this book I...knew little about the act of procreation (besides what I had seen in pictures). Dahl exhibits here not a realistic, but an idealistic view of sexuality. Too often, sex is used to demean the woman and to obtain power. My Uncle Oswald makes a mockery of such values and shows what sex could be without the foolish inhibitions of society.
Oswald is a young man at the time of this tale, and is beginning to discover the pleasures that women can provide. What struck me about him was that although he had a rule never to sleep with a woman more than once, he was remarkably equalitarian in his relations with a partner. When he meets the beautiful Yasmin Howcomely, she becomes an equal partner in his ventures. They sleep together twice, but there are no regrets that the relationship does not continue. Oswald never "uses" a woman for pleasure, he merely enjoys the company they give, never forcing more than is desire by the woman.
This book may seem nothing more than a romp through a sexual, historical world filled with geniuses and ridiculous plot twists (it is set in the early 1900's). But looking closer, the reader will notice that it is a brilliant satire of views dearly held by the common man, everything from inherited traits to drug use. And all this is told by one of the most beloved children's writers of our century. Who would have guessed?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick witted, quick read, April 9 2002
By 
A. Whitney (Silicon Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
Roald Dahl is one of the most compelling yet unpretentious writers I have ever read. He is infinitely clever and can master children's books, short stories and erotic novellas. This book is a great example of how crafty he can be with adult subject matter. This is not a book for children, as it deals with sexual matters throughout.
"My Uncle Oswald" is a rollicking story of how a shrewd businessman made his fortune off of powerful men and their enflamed sexual desires. The female character of the beautiful Yasmin Howcomely is a great example of an intelligent and self-aware lady who uses her brains and looks to get somewhere. The book is pure comedy from beginning to end and highlights how Dahl can make any subject funny. If you have enjoyed his short stories, you'll enjoy this short book.
If you aren't prudish, love witty yet accessible writing and have a few spare hours on your hands, you'll love this book. It is short enough for a cross-country flight or a few nights pre-bedtime reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Funniest thing Ever, March 30 2001
By 
Diane VonderHaar (St. Joseph, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
This is the best novel I have ever read. I can't begin to express the genius of this book. Although it seems to be only a simple tale of fornication and insane money making schemes, it is definitely far more than that. This book touched me on a deeper level than anyone could imagine it would. Oswald's conversations with his father made me understand a great amount of the world. One theme brought back time and again by Oswald is the idea that most people take themselves, and the world, too seriously. This is one of the basic beliefs that I have held for many years. Oswald goes about his life with a vitality I could never have imagined. Even when he loses all his money, it only takes him a short time before he is in as high spirits as before. This book will make anyone laugh, a few times I could not stop laughing for half an hour about one part. The only possible fault in the book is it's length, but the greatness of what he did write makes up for that a hundred-fold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars shine on you crazy dahl diamond, March 1 2002
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
When encountering dahl's metaphysical view of man and nature it's best to approach his works from a geo-sensitive literary mindset. This I say, of course, with all neo-pretentions aside.
His characters have an opaque luster and that sheen only grows as the character reveals himself through dahl's social-societal inclinations to reveal that which has thus far remained cloaked.
And the book is cloaked, in a sense. Cloaked with an aged, starched blanket enriching words and breathing life into paradigms once left unexplored save for the recesses of a sharp yet dusty mind. But this you see, of course, and don't you?
Perhaps the most fitting conclusion is one with a circular return, as if a thought is spawning, yearning and yawning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My Uncle Oswald, June 27 2001
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
I think this is one of the inferior books of Dahl. He is a great short story teller but as far as novel is concerned it lacks maturity. Of coarse we should not compare him to Marquez or Proust still he cannot build the canvas. I would say the book is good for one 10 hrs cross atlantic travel or two days of weekend holidays. Too much copulation in too little time and he could have handled that in more subtle ways. These books actually makes the difference between great (read genius) authors and "not so great" ones. If you have to judge Dahl please do not judge with these chronicles of a seducing uncle but with his children's stories and short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dahl's gem shines on, March 1 2002
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
When encountering dahl's metaphysical view of man and nature it's best to approach his works from a geo-sensitive literary mindset. This I say, of course, with all neo-pretentions aside.
His characters have an opaque luster and that sheen only grows as the character reveals himself through dahl's social-societal inclinations to reveal that which has thus far remained cloaked.
And the book is cloaked, in a sense. Cloaked with an aged, starched blanket enriching words and breathing life into paradigms once left unexplored save for the recesses of a sharp yet dusty mind. But this you see, of course, and don't you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everything we would come to expect from Dahl, Nov. 2 2003
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
This is a typical Roald Dahl book, which shows the authors fantasy and imagination at work.
I read somewhere that Dahl was embarassed about this book being published but it is an entertaining read.
The book is quite short, and is a continuation of one of his short stories.
Dahl always gets to the point in his writing, as he does so here with a kind of soft core porno novel. Naturally there is a liberal dosage of black humour from Dahl also.
I would recommend this book, as Dahl is in my opinion a hugely original and exceptional author, the likes of which we will not see again for 100 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Fun, Nov. 10 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
My Uncle Oswald is one of those books that you can never forget. It is shocking, funny, and an adventure for the imagination. For those who feel that there isn't much in life to make you laugh anymore, read this book. Once completed, you feel you can't be shocked again. Sex is put into its simpliest terms, less complicated. Both sex and life seem funnier afterward. Uncle Oswald would be the black sheep of any family, the person everyone in the family wants to know more about. Uncle Oswald is the family member remembered after the "good guys" are long gone. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars don't listen to those people!, April 30 2000
This review is from: My Uncle Oswald (Paperback)
they just aren't explaining the brilliance and wit and fun and wonderfulness embodied by this book! i can't blame them, though...i don't think it would be easy to do.
dahl's style is amazing. what a way with words. and then the ideas that he comes up. unbelievable. the plot on this one is both ribald and hilarious. you'll find yourself thinking a hundred different things while you are reading this book and then getting annoyed with yourself because it's distracting you from the book!
after this, try his "tales of the unexpected."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Uncle Oswald
My Uncle Oswald by Roald Dahl (Paperback - March 28 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews