Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars children of the flames-a must read
if you are ready to have some real insight on what it was like- you have to read this book.this book is written in a fascinating style. the way both views are combined deserves utmost respect. i read this book in just about one afternoon. i couldn't put it away until finished. the most important aspect was to see the children's lifes unfold after the war and also that of...
Published on Oct. 31 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty Good Read
This is a factual, readable, and thought-provoking book about Mengele's twin experiments at Auschwitz. I was VERY frustrated that in all of the photos in the book, there was not one of Mengele himself. There was a lot of description about his appearance, but no picture of the man. Also, while the post-war stories of the twins was fascinating, the actual...
Published on June 22 2001 by mwatchingw8


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars children of the flames-a must read, Oct. 31 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Twins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
if you are ready to have some real insight on what it was like- you have to read this book.this book is written in a fascinating style. the way both views are combined deserves utmost respect. i read this book in just about one afternoon. i couldn't put it away until finished. the most important aspect was to see the children's lifes unfold after the war and also that of Mengele. i am somewhat, but not completely gratified about how Mengele lived out the rest of his life, solitary and haunted. i wish he would have been brought to justice, it would have given more closure to a lot of people; but knowing how he spend the rest of his life separated from family, stripped of his titles , ridden by ailments etc. , gives some gratification (not enough 'though!)what troubles me is the the fact that he never had regret for the things he'd done- justified by pseudo-science. i'm sure he's burning in hell himself now. for "his twins" life was hard and difficult- how can someone live with such memories? but defying it they built lifes for themselves and had families, although somwhere, somehow a part in the puzzle is always missing.
having read many books concerning WW II, and living the war through my parents' eyes - i have to say that this one touched me very deeply.
i was born and raised in germany and grew up with the history of my country. my parents were both children during the second world war, so i carry their memories of the war as mine.my mother herself is a fugitive from hungary - it is hard for her to talk about that. her family lost everything as well, when the russians came. i live with their accounts of what life was like for them, now i can add memories of others to that -it is heartwrenching and very hard to conceive that all this happened, but it did. my heart aches and bleeds, but we all must deal with it and make certain that it will not be repeated. as we must remember all the victims of this war and any other war, we must teach our children about the past. it should never be forgotten.
we have to know history in order for us to not let it be repeated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True but Gruesome stories, Dec 15 2003
By 
alexandro yee (SMHS bay, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Twins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
This book is definitely a fiery book, containing gruesome stories, accounts of horrid crimes, and documents of the life of Dr. Josef Mengele. This book is very deep and goes into detail of the life before the Holocaust, during the Holocaust, and after the Holocaust. This book is a must read, but may be very inappropriate for children under 13. I rate this book a 4 out of 5, due to the content and graphic images painted into my head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty Good Read, June 22 2001
By 
"mwatchingw8" (Fulton, Missouri USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Twins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
This is a factual, readable, and thought-provoking book about Mengele's twin experiments at Auschwitz. I was VERY frustrated that in all of the photos in the book, there was not one of Mengele himself. There was a lot of description about his appearance, but no picture of the man. Also, while the post-war stories of the twins was fascinating, the actual "experiments" performed were not described in any detail. The horror of the man and his actions is real, but why he was so horribly depraved is glossed over or never mentioned. Why did some of these twins die? What had he done to them? The author never says, probably in an effort to appeal to a wider audience. What is here is good, but there is just not enough here. Some of the photos of twins in the book are never connected to text telling their stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Children Of The Flames, Dec 14 2003
By 
alexandro yee (SMHS bay, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Twins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
Dr. Josef Mengele had a pleasant and peaceful childhood in a friendly environment. In his early years, he was known as the playful Beppo, but in his prime years, he was feared and known as the Angel of Death. As the story unravels, stories collected from survivors Mengele's gruesome experiments give an insight about the horrors and crimes committed by the Angel of Death. These real holocaust stories teach the meaning of treasuring what you have, because one day it's here and the next day, gone. There are many holocuast stories out there, but this book is dedicated to the 160 survivors of Mengele's experiment, and the life of Dr. Josef Mengele.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remembering that 'science' can be used to hurt others..., Jan. 25 2003
By 
K. L Sadler "Dr. Karen L. Sadler" (Freedom, Pa. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Twins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
This book confused me at first, I am afraid. It took me a while to figure out what the authors were doing in jumping from information about Mengele at particular times in his life, to the words (spoken or written) of the children who suffered so much under his hands (also at that particular point in their lives). By the middle of the book, I figured out the author's use of comparison between Mengele and the children's groups to illustrate the great differences between the children growing up as adults and overcoming their past/dealing with it, while Mengele dwindled into the nothing that he really was in South America.
Of course, I'd heard or read some things about Mengele, but it was in the process of reading information about bioethics that I was introduced to this book, and decided I should read it for background on some work I'm doing, as per science and medicine and those least able to protect themselves against unethical practitioners of these 'arts'. The book does not dwell on the horrors that Mengele practiced on these children, and also on dwarves and giants and any other 'misfits' he was interested in. What information there is in the book (it was in story form, rather than professional paper format with numbers marking footnotes or endnotes...but there was additional information at the back of the book based on pages), indicates that Mengele was less of a scientist or a doctor, and more of a technician. His ideas for the experiments were quite often not his own, and he was extremely sloppy in keeping records that even had Germany won the war, would have provided genetic information of use to anyone else. I doubt sincerely any other scientist/physician could have copied his work and gotten the same results...and this is an absolute law in science now. Most often Mengele's work seemed to be done to satisfy his own curiosity as well as his obvious need to be in control and to hurt others.
The story of Mengele's exile is an living record of the book "The Picture of DOrian Grey." Though Mengele did not lose his good looks or his vanity, he did suffer from problems of his own making, both familial and psychological and physical. I am sure it is of no relief to those families and children who suffered at his hands that he was never brought to account (and I suspect the U.S. as well as other countries are all a bit guilty of blinding themselves), but the man did spend the rest of his life undergoing demeaning circumstances, losing his degrees, total alienation from his family, and numerous real and hypochondrial diseases/pains.
Perhaps the most outstanding thing about the book, other than the need to remind the world of the story of these children, is how many of them went on to create lives for themselves that were of great worth, in spite of never forgetting their deceased twins and families, or the horror of what was done to them. My heart broke for the girls who became mothers in their own right, only to suffer from extreme panic and anxiety due to their own past concerning their children. It was and is totally understandable that they should fear constantly, yet so many were able to overcome and be successful in their lives. A story of courage on their parts, a story to be remembered and not forgotten on our part.
For once again, the specter of eugenics and genetic manipulation is raising it's head throughout the world, with the passage of laws that allow others to make decisions for the individual concerning what constitutes a life of worth, what defines brain death, and even what type of children people should be able to bear...for the good of society of course. Those same words were spoken and used by Hitler, his cronies, and the physicians and scientists who so willingly followed his orders...all in the name of genetics and science. Those who forget (or do not read about their history), will be condemned to repeat it...
Karen Sadler,
Science Education,
University of Pittsburgh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Auschwitz Doctor of Death, Sept. 19 2002
This review is from: Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Twins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
Children of the Flames relates the true story of the twins of Auschwitz and the famous Nazi doctor of death, Josef Mengele. Upon entering Auschwitz, one of the first sights Jews saw was Dr. Mengele in his crisp uniform, cheerfully directing them to the left or right-to life or death. He was especially fascinated with twins, triplets, dwarfs, giants, and other human phenomena; any twins or other unusual children that came into Auschwitz were taken to the "Twins' Barracks;" there they lived with other children selected by Dr. Mengele and were subject to his pseudoscientific "experiments." In the operating room, he had a horrible fascination for the morbid, doing terrible things to them. However, he acted very kindly to them in their barracks, by visting them often and bringing them presents of food and clothing; some of his victims firmly believe that he really loved them as he would his children. Many of the twins lived through their years at Auschwitz, and, in this book, they tell their story of life with Dr. Mengele.
... Children of the Flames is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mengele, June 2 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Twins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
I recomend that everyone reads this book because it is so important to remember and know what this man did. It tell the story of Mengeles early life leading up to Auschwitz and the horrible experiements that he preformed on the twins and gypies there. Its one of the few books that talks about the experiences of the twins and it shows what happened to them very well. Read it with openness and an ability to understand what happened and why its so important we dont forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brutally intense!, Dec 6 2001
By 
Fiona (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Twins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
I read this book straight through because I was too drawn in to put it down. The voices of the twins and other Holocaust victims--who faced Mengele daily--are brutally matter of fact, despite the inexpressably horrific conditions they convey. This is a detailed, historical account of Mengele's "science" experiments including the emotional impact on the victims. Admittedly I had terrifying nightmares and a fear of the dentist for months afterward, nothing compared to actually living it with no end in sight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A SAD ACCOUNT BUT, NONETHELESS, A TRUE ACCOUNT, June 18 2001
By 
Sandra D. Peters "Seagull Books" (Prince Edward Island, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Twins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
Both my parents served in the armed forces overseas during World War II, and it was through them, as a young adult, I heard of the "children of the flames" and the horrors of the concentration camps. When the book was first published, it caught my attention for that very reason. "Children of the Flames" is not an easy book to read simply because of the subject matter. However, the authors have managed to relate the story in a way that tells of the evil acts committed but in as diplomatic a manner as possible. The attrocities are almost too bloodcurdling to conceive. For me, it was impossible to read "Children of the Flames" in one sitting, especially the interviews which actually describe life and the experiments at Auschwitz.
This is the story of Josef Mengele and his "children of Auschwitz". Selecting primarily twins (or others who caught his eye) from the multitudes of Jews headed for the gas chambers, Mengele used these innocent children to satisfy his own perverse needs, all in the name of research, as human guinea pigs for his own horrendous experiments. The book is based upon interviews with survivors of Mengele's twins, and the reader will quickly discover, there are few survivors. The interviews tell the life of survivors before capture, during their time at Auschwitz and after their release. Almost all victims have had a lifetime of horrific, unending nightmares except those who cannot remember. Those who cannot remember, and there are few, are perhaps blessed with the body's unique defence system to block out that which is too unbearable and too painful to remember.
It has been over fifty years since the Holocaust, but it will forever remain a part of our history. Perhaps we owe it to the survivors of the Holocaust, and the families of those who did not survive, to honour their memory by a book such as this. For those of us who were born after World Ward II, the book will give the reader a deeper appreciation of the freedom we have today in North America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better one on the subject..., Feb. 7 2001
By 
Matt Jachyra (Brooklyn, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Twins of Auschwitz (Paperback)
Well-written book, easy to read. Actually one of the better ones about subject of Mengele and Auschwitz. No lengthy boring descriptions or statistical speculations. Just good writing mixed with moving quotes of survived victims. I've read many books about Mengele and all of them were dry and filled with assumptions. This book states simple facts supported by eyewitness accounts. A lot of times I had to put this book away to digest all the evil that was done to those poor children. Reading "Children of the Flames" is like being on the emotional roller coaster. This book will grab you by your heart and deeply move you. There are not enough words to describe the pain and suffering that happened. Very accurate account. If I could read only one book about Mengele this would be the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa09ef08)

This product

Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Twins of Auschwitz
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews