Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am a huge Jodi Picoult fan.
I have now read three novels by Jodi Picoult and have loved every one. This is a good book about relationships, motherhood and the choices we make. The book centers around Paige and Nicholas Prescott. Paige is a co-dependent mother who has recently given birth to a son, but who seriously doubts her abilities as a parent. So, she leaves her son with his father for a...
Published on April 4 2003 by J. N Sandell

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars novel of codependency
After reading the many glowing reviews of this book, i feel compelled to say "i disagree". I found this book disturbing and unsettling and feel Paige, the story's protagonist, was treated very abusively by her husband. What unfolds throughout this novel is a tale of co-dependency,despite the appearance of recovery at the denouement--motherless young woman runs...
Published on Sept. 20 2002 by karen mulhern


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am a huge Jodi Picoult fan., April 4 2003
By 
J. N Sandell "So many books, so little time" (Maplewood, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvesting the Heart: A Novel (Paperback)
I have now read three novels by Jodi Picoult and have loved every one. This is a good book about relationships, motherhood and the choices we make. The book centers around Paige and Nicholas Prescott. Paige is a co-dependent mother who has recently given birth to a son, but who seriously doubts her abilities as a parent. So, she leaves her son with his father for a time and goes off in search of answers about herself, her mother and her life. As we as the reader travel with Paige throughout this journey of self discovery, we find out that Paige is indeed a strong woman in her own right. Nicholas Prescott is a Cardiologist at the top of his game, he is very stoic however and has a bit of a God complex. He goes through a transformation of his own and soon we are able to get a glimpse at what at his good qualities as well and also see what agood father he is. This is a good book to curl up with on a rainy Sunday afternoon. Ms. Picoult is a masterful writer who gets the reader involved in the lives of her characters and really makes you care about them. More than once since finishing this book, I have wondered how Nicholas and Paige are doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars novel of codependency, Sept. 20 2002
By 
karen mulhern (Vero Beach, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Harvesting the Heart: A Novel (Paperback)
After reading the many glowing reviews of this book, i feel compelled to say "i disagree". I found this book disturbing and unsettling and feel Paige, the story's protagonist, was treated very abusively by her husband. What unfolds throughout this novel is a tale of co-dependency,despite the appearance of recovery at the denouement--motherless young woman runs away from home after an abortion only to marry and becomes pregnant by a stoic surgeon. When post partum depression strikes, she abandons her child and husband and sets off to find her mother. the two reconnect during a 3mo visit in which paige develops self respect and realizes she has to love herself if she is to truly love others.
Armed with new self awareness, she returns to her baby and husband, but is rudely rebuffed. at this point, i felt the character development COMPLETELY fell apart on ALL LEVELS making me lose interest in how the book would end; however, i kept slogging through, hoping she'd see the light (and a lawyer) to file for divorce and custody...Unfortunately, neither happens---she allows herself to be treated EXTREMELY disrespectfully by her husband, who slams doors (both literal and figurative) in her face, speaks harshly, and is emotionally abusive. In short, he is the same person he was before she left, while she is not. A real woman, armed with newfound self esteem would NOT tolerate these things, or say "i'll do whatever it takes to make him love me again",
that a female author would write this type of ending, disturbs me. harvesting the heart COULD have been a wonderful piece of women's literature--the writing style was excellent and structurally it was sound--but it sunk to romance novel level with this very weak cliche-ridden ending.
not at all what i've come to expect from penquin press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am a huge Jodi Picoult fan., April 4 2003
By 
J. N Sandell "So many books, so little time" (Maplewood, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvesting the Heart: A Novel (Paperback)
I have now read three novels by Jodi Picoult and have loved every one. This is a good book about relationships, motherhood and the choices we make. The book centers around Paige and Nicholas Prescott. Paige is a co-dependent mother who has recently given birth to a son, but who seriously doubts her abilities as a parent. So, she leaves her son with his father for a time and goes off in search of answers about herself, her mother and her life. As we as the reader travel with Paige throughout this journey of self discovery, we find out that Paige is indeed a strong woman in her own right. Nicholas Prescott is a Cardiologist at the top of his game, he is very stoic however and has a bit of a God complex. He goes through a transformation of his own and soon we are able to get a glimpse at what at his good qualities as well and also see what agood father he is. This is a good book to curl up with on a rainy Sunday afternoon. Ms. Picoult is a masterful writer who gets the reader involved in the lives of her characters and really makes you care about them. More than once since finishing this book, I have wondered how Nicholas and Paige are doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am a huge Jodi Picoult fan., April 4 2003
By 
J. N Sandell "So many books, so little time" (Maplewood, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvesting the Heart: A Novel (Paperback)
I have now read three novels by Jodi Picoult and have loved every one. This is a good book about relationships, motherhood and the choices we make. The book centers around Paige and Nicholas Prescott. Paige is a co-dependent mother who has recently given birth to a son, but who seriously doubts her abilities as a parent. So, she leaves her son with his father for a time and goes off in search of answers about herself, her mother and her life. As we as the reader travel with Paige throughout this journey of self discovery, we find out that Paige is indeed a strong woman in her own right. Nicholas Prescott is a Cardiologist at the top of his game, he is very stoic however and has a bit of a God complex. He goes through a transformation of his own and soon we are able to get a glimpse at what at his good qualities as well and also see what agood father he is. This is a good book to curl up with on a rainy Sunday afternoon. Ms. Picoult is a masterful writer who gets the reader involved in the lives of her characters and really makes you care about them. More than once since finishing this book, I have wondered how Nicholas and Paige are doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have become a huge Jodi Picoult fan., April 4 2003
By 
J. N Sandell "So many books, so little time" (Maplewood, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvesting the Heart: A Novel (Paperback)
This is the third book I have read by this author and I have loved every one. This is a good book about relationships, motherhood and the choices we make. This paticular story centers around Paige and Nicholas Prescott. Paige is a young co-dependent mother who is very unsure about her abilities as a parent. After she gives birth to a son, depression sets in and she leaves the baby with his father for three months. Paige becomes desperate to find answers about her mother and about life. Nicholas Prescott is a Cardiologist who is at the top of his game. He has a bit of a God complex and is very stoic, but we soon discover what a good father he is. The same can be said for Paige. She becomes a very strong woman in her own right and it was a very interesting journey to watch her get to that point. This book had a very satisfying ending and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a good book for a rainy Sunday afternoon. Ms. Picoult is a masterful writer that gets us involved and caring about her characters. More than once since finishing the book, I have caught myself wondeering how Nicholas and Paige are doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely perfect, Sept. 17 2001
By 
Theresa Mcdonald "Terri McDonald" (new orleans) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvesting the Heart: A Novel (Paperback)
Harvesting the Heat is a fantastic book by a fantastic writer. The story is a simple one; 18 year old page flees her hometown after an abortion leaving behind the Irish Catholic father who raised her alone and her beloved boyfriend. She quickly finds a job and makes friends in another city and even manages to fall in love with and marry Nicholas Prescott, a well bred high society medical student. When Paige becomes pregnant with Nicholas' child she begins to panic. When the baby is born and she does not innately know how to care for him she panics further. One day she leaves her husband and child to go to the grocery and just keeps driving.
Her journey takes her back to her hometown, her father and Jake her first love. Eventually she tracks down the mother who abandoned her 20 years before. The two get reaquainted and Paige learns enough about herself to know she does not want to abandon her husband and child the way her mother does. The rest of the book is about her fight to get back her husband and child with help from some very unexpected sources.
It was a touching and beautiful story. Several times while reading this book I had to brush away tears. I have given great praise to the other books Ms. Picoult has written, but now this is by far my favorite and would make a wonderful introduction to those who have not read any of her other works.
I do think I need to include a special note to the squeamish like me. The character of Nicholas is a heart surgeon. There are three or four heart operations GREATLY detailed in this book. The descriptions are GRAPHIC. I was absolutley shocked when I came across the first one, and then learned to skip those parts in the subsequent operations. Other than that, it was a perfect read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Women and Men Thinking of Having a Baby, Aug. 3 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Harvesting the Heart: A Novel (Paperback)
The Pact by Jodi Picoult was one of my all time favorite books. I try to read everything I can by Picoult, but never expected to find another The Pact, I mean how often do favorite books come along. With one of her older novels, however, one I am not sure how I missed before, Picoult has done it again! Harvesting the Heart is another favorite!!!! Harvesting the Heart is one of the most touching books I have ever read. It is a must read for anyone with a baby or anyone thinking of having a baby. And wives - make your husbands read this book. One of the themes of this book (and there are many) that really hits home for me is the love that a mother and father can have for a baby. This twist is how scary it is to have a baby for first time parents. How first time parents doubt their abilities to parent, how they are surprised by their lack of freedom, how different the roles are for husbands and wives, and how a baby changes the relationship between a husband and a wife. Telling you any more about the story would give too much away. Just take my advise and read this book!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Picoult's best work yet, June 9 2001
By 
Diane "dianemax" (Newfoundland, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Harvesting the Heart: A Novel (Paperback)
This is the fourth book that I've read by Jodi Picoult and it is my favorite so far. This is a beautifully written story about self-doubt, the chance to find yourself, and the bond that exists between a mother and child.
The novel begins in the present with Paige locked out of her own house pleading with her husband Nicholas to see their child,Max. The story continues from there, shifting from Paige's perspective to Nicholas'. We learn that Paige has been abandoned by her mother, then flees from her hometown after dealing with a traumatic incident at a young age. She soon falls in love with Nicholas, a soon to be doctor who's own star is on the rise. Paige is an artist at heart but abandons her own dream to help support the career of her husband. She soon becomes a mother herself and tries to be a loving one but doubts her ability to do so. She carries the burden of her mother's desertion. In order to stand on her own she has to go back to her past, to the mother who left her. From there she has to learn how to love.
This book differs from her others in that there is no mystery to be solved here, there is no court room scenes. There is just the tender story of two people, two souls that are meant to be together, and the journey that their lives take them on. Jodi has an incredible way with words and her storytelling here is absolutely superb. It is a book to be savoured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant novel by Picoult, April 2 2001
This review is from: Harvesting the Heart: A Novel (Paperback)
This is my absolute favorite novel by Jodi Picoult. The way she portrays each character in such an objective light whether or not they deserve it is absolute brilliance. Her writing is style is, as usual, perfect. And this story is one that I'll be thinking of for a long time to come.
Eighteen year old Paige, having left home after high school graduation, waits tables in Massachusetts and falls in love with Nicholas, a doctor headed up the surgical career ladder and the son of extremely wealthy parents. They marry, despite his parents' disapproval, and begin a new life together.
Nicholas is too busy at the hospital to pay much attention to Paige, who has worked multiple jobs at a time to pay for his medical school. A fabulous sketch artist with no means to get any training, her skills fall by the wayside. When she discovers that she's pregnant, she is forced to deal with the abandonment by her mother and the termination of her first pregnancy all at once.
The book is a tremendous page-turner, and with the narratives switching between Paige in first-person and Nicholas in third-person, there won't be a chance of losing interest. This book is well worth your investment of time and money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved All Of The Characters!!!, Sept. 26 2000
By 
This review is from: Harvesting the Heart: A Novel (Paperback)
A great story about a young girl growing up, maturing and chasing memories of a mother that left her at a young age. Very, very good story. Paige grows into a sweet and talented woman from the average everyday family that marries into a very wealthy family, much to her shagrin.She carries the burden of her mother's unexplained desertion by always thinking she's the cause of anything negative that happens in her life. This is a great story about a young, first-time mother and her uncertainty. Boy, I sure can identify with Paige when she's questioning where "her" life went. She's either Dr. Prescot's wife or Max's mom.Paige worked hard to get her husband through Harvard, then unexpectantly gets pregnant. During this time span is when she realizes she has lost her own identity. There's way more to this story than all of this.....when you decide to read this book, you definitely will not be disappointed. WONDERFUL, MEANINGFUL, RELATEABLE STORY....Don't miss the chance to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harvesting the Heart: A Novel
Harvesting the Heart: A Novel by Jodi Picoult (Paperback - May 3 1995)
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews