Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lovely companion to the bbc miniseries, April 8 2002
By 
audrey (white mtns) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Making Of Pride And Prejudice Bbc Tie In (Paperback)
There is no denying that Sue Birtwistle's production of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice is an exquisite adaptation of one of the finest novels in English literature. The cast is magnificent, the script knows when to be faithful and when to adjust, the music is lovely, and the settings are lush perfection. Knowing all this, one does wonder about the many other people who brought this fine work to fruition. (If you have the DVD Special Edition, you may have met some of these individuals in the featurette "The Making of Pride and Prejudice".) This book is absolutely loaded with pictures and photographs that cover every aspect of the work behind-the-scenes and in front of the camera, from location scouting to casting, music and choreography, costumes, makeup, filming and post-production. I especially enjoyed the long conversation with Colin Firth (Darcy), the head shots of the actors (who sometimes look very different than one expects -- Jennifer Ehle with blonde hair comes to mind!), the typical day's schedule, and the locations map. I learned a lot about this production and filmmaking in general.
This book is interesting, informative and very entertaining. If you like the book or the miniseries, you should enjoy this volume very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Book...., May 3 2004
This review is from: Making Of Pride And Prejudice Bbc Tie In (Paperback)
First, I have to say that I have NEVER bought a "Behind the Scenes" book on ANY movie. I stumbled across "The Making of Pride and Prejudice" on Amazon. Sue Birtwistle's adaptation of "Pride and Prejudice" IS probably my favorite movie of all time, but the previous reviews on Amazon convinced me that I would like the book as well.
If you truly enjoyed the movie, I hope that you will take a chance and read, "The Making of Pride and Prejudice" by Sue Birtwistle and Susie Conklin - even if you don't normally read this type of book. It is FASCINATING. It isn't just all the wonderful pictures (and how DIFFERENT the actors looked!); it is that this book methodically explains the concept behind the movie, the writing, the casting, the houses ("Pemberley" is actually at Lyme Park), the costumes, the wigs (Jennifer Ehle is a BLONDE!) and so many more interesting facts.
I was particularly amazed that Colin Firth originally TURNED DOWN the role of Darcy - because he didn't feel that he could do justice to the part. (Most of us can't imagine ANYONE except Firth playing the role!) Sue Birtwistle had to convince him to do the part. (And he was so nervous that he was physically ill initially.)
This is a terrific book, which chronicles the process of making a truly magnificent movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have Behind-the-Scenes Companion Book!, Sept. 9 2002
By 
Tiggah "the Anglophile" (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Making Of Pride And Prejudice Bbc Tie In (Paperback)
For anyone who has enjoyed the outstanding rendition of Jane Austen's classic novel starring Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle, this delightful, informative, eye-opening (and often humorous) behind-the-scenes book is a must have. I for one had no idea of what is involved in successfully adapting a classic period novel, and I am grateful to producer Sue Birtwistle and script editor Susie Conklin for taking us through the entire process.
Chapters include "The Script," which deals with the many difficulties that had to be overcome in adapting a novel effectively to an entirely different medium, while "Pre-production" deals with casting the actors and finding and securing suitable locations (no mean feat in itself!). We also discover what many senior behind-the-scenes personnel do. "Production Design" deals with the hands-on task of getting the locations ready--whether it's designing and creating a set or stripping a real-life location of all its 20th century trimmings (from unsuitable flowers, antennae and phone lines on the exterior to central heating pipes, light switches, electric light bulbs, and inappropriate furnishings on the inside). Tremendous research was involved in both "Production Design" and "Costume, Make-Up, and Hair Design". The latter chapter deals with decisions that had to be made concerning the palettes and styles of costume and hair for each actor. One also learns about the expensive and painstaking wig-making process and discovers that not only were the costumes made, but so were the fabrics!
The chapter entitled "Filming" chronicles the steps to be taken and the difficulties often incurred on the day of filming--things like checking the weather (and having contingency plans for rainy days) or requesting local air force bases not to fly over the location. With 12- to 16-hour workdays per person, the filming day is long indeed. For the actors, it's two-hours in make-up followed by 10 or 11 hours of actual filming. After filming, the crew must then prepare for the next day--with chores like washing and setting wigs, cleaning costumes, and packing up props and horses! Finally, "Post-production" deals with the months of work involved in editing, inserting sound tracks, and so on, to get the final product ready for the screen.
It's always nice when the authors of behind-the-scenes' books have the full support of all involved in the production (from cast to crew), and such is most certainly the case here. In fact, the book is rife with their many quotations and anecdotes, with certain members of the crew even contributing paragraphs describing the work they do and the process by which they achieve their goals. Last but not least, there is a full nine-page "Conversation with Colin Firth," set in question and answer format, wherein Firth provides an insight into how he went about capturing what he felt was the essence of Darcy and the difficulties he experienced along the way.
This is a beautiful 9 3/4" x 7 1/2" 117-page softcover. Good quality paper is used, and it is simply filled to the brim with lovely fine-quality colour photos--stills from the series, posed photos of some of the actors in full costume, photos of the actors being made up and the sets being prepared, photos of the filming process and of various crew members, and so on. A nice touch was the tiny b/w studio photos of the actors' faces--how they look in real life (which is very different in most cases!)
In conclusion, I found this to be a simply fascinating book, and one that without a doubt increases one's appreciation of this (and indeed all period dramas) tenfold. It's a book to be treasured, and I highly recommend it. If I have but one word of advice, it is this: Get this book now--before it goes out of print (as companion books so often do)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for P&P fans, May 22 2004
By 
K. Kraus "mskraus2u" (Pleasant Prairie, WI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Making Of Pride And Prejudice Bbc Tie In (Paperback)
This book is a must-have for serious Pride and Prejudice fans. It's loaded with beautiful color photos. There are pictures of the actors on the set, the English countryside where the miniseries was set, and scenes taken from the miniseries. The book gives behind the scenes information on how several of the actors were chosen for their roles and how the locations were chosen. I especially like the publicity photos of the actors as they look when not in their costumes. Some are barely recognizable! It's a great book to have if you love the miniseries as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it.A great background for the mini-series., Sept. 9 2003
By 
Mary Collette List (Kalamazoo, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Of Pride And Prejudice Bbc Tie In (Paperback)
I just received this today&I truly loved it.I loved
the background info about the making of such a wonderful mini-
series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, Aug. 9 2003
By 
This review is from: Making Of Pride And Prejudice Bbc Tie In (Paperback)
If you love the mini-series Pride and Prejudice, you MUST get this book!! It gives a lot of behind the scenes info that adds a whole new dimension to the series. Get it! You'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Making Of Pride And Prejudice Bbc Tie In (Paperback)
If you're a Pride and Prejudice/Jane Austen fan, or even just a Colin Firth afficionado, get this book. Informative, entertaining and a good companion to the P&P tv series on DVD or on video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For The Obsessed P&P Fan, Dec 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Making Of Pride And Prejudice Bbc Tie In (Paperback)
This book is truly for the person who cannot get enough information and like me have to know know every possible bit of information about P&P. How was it made? who did the casting? I promise you will have a glimpse into the inner workings of how a production of this size is layer by layer built upon. I found it very interesting. If you love detail this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the movie...., July 29 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Making Of Pride And Prejudice Bbc Tie In (Paperback)
This is a great addition to the movie. I am in love with Colin Firth and loved the interview with him in the book. There are neat pictures in it and I liked seeing the actors and actresses at work behind the scenes. It is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have for any P&P fan, July 28 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Making Of Pride And Prejudice Bbc Tie In (Paperback)
Great book, filled with lots of pictures, and gives interesting information on everything related to Pride and Predjudice. So much research and behind the scenes work went into this beautiful production, this book is certainly worth purchasing. My only wish would be to have larger pictures of Mr. Darcy! Maybe a whole chapter of just Mr Darcy pictures! The chapter in which Mr Firth discusses how he acted in some of the more dramatic scenes was definitely a favorite. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Of Pride And Prejudice Bbc Tie In
Making Of Pride And Prejudice Bbc Tie In by Sue Birtwistle (Paperback - Dec 1 1995)
CDN$ 25.00 CDN$ 15.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews