march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars186
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon February 26, 2016
This is a non-fiction mathematical detective story. Very intriguing. I didn't find the book completely evenly paced all the way through. However, the author was good at boiling complex concepts down so that an engaged reader could follow the discussion (only occasionally I found myself wishing there was more detail and technical explanation). A very good exploration of a long-standing mathematical mystery. As someone not well versed in the history of mathematics but definitely interested, it held my attention and didn't let go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
It's a great literature for anyone wishing to know more about the history and evolution of mathematics. Well done research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
Way fun! I love math and reading about math history and puzzles, and this book had everything, including being very readable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2014
A great book on an important, if obscure, moment in the history of mathematics. The greatest talent Simon Singh has is to present complex concepts and an easy way to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I could not put this book down! In clear, lively, captivating prose the author recounts the story of Fermat's Last Theorem and its elusive mathematical proof. The period covered is essentially from the days of Fermat until the theorem's proof by Andrew Wiles in the mid 1990s. Along the way, the reader is treated to the various valiant efforts by brilliant mathematicians through the centuries towards establishing such a solid proof - all in vain before Dr. Wiles. The ups and downs in the history of this seemingly intangible proof are particularly well illustrated.

Throughout the book, the reader is exposed to various mathematical objects that mostly form part of number theory, as well as mathematical techniques that have been developed over time. Because the mathematics is so masterfully described, this book should be accessible to a wide audience.

This amazing book should appeal especially to mathematics/science enthusiasts but any interested general reader could follow it quite easily and enjoy it tremendously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2006
This is the best book I had read about mathematics in last few years. It's beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2004
Simon Singh never fails. This is a great book like all of his others. You really can't go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2003
Singh writes with great skill of suspense, with minimal of math equations to help readers navigate the path to solving the ultimate math riddle of all time by a lone genius..Profoundly absorbing and engaging! Readers will no doubt also find the appendices helpful and intriguing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2002
Never thought I would use the words "Romance" "Suspense" "Thriller" and the History of Mathematics in the same sentence. Great book and worth reading. It is a gripping account of the events leading to the solving of one of the greatest puzzles in Mathematics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2002
Singh and Lynch have successfully presented one of the most abstract subjects in a simple to understand language. For those who put down a Maths book by looking at the complex equations: Fear Not, this one does not go too deep into equations and relies more on plain English to convey the point. I think that Appendixes could have been a bit more descriptive. Overall it was a fun read. I highly recommend this one for Mathematics appetite of Not-So-Mathematical.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse