Customer Reviews


343 Reviews
5 star:
 (207)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May be unethical, but it's true and it works
I am not earning over a million bucks a year so I might not be qualified to judge the value of the book. However, as somebody in his late thirties and always stuck in the middle of world class big corps, I can tell just knowing the laws can greatly improve your ability to defend against arrows shooting at your back.
For your easy reference, the laws are:-
1...
Published on April 28 2004 by ServantofGod

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Negative strategies to attain success...
In our world of political correctness and appearances, where society is depicted as fair, democratic, at times altruistic and transparent, the reality of the situation is far different. And as Greene proposes, no one wants to be seen as power hungry, and those that do, are generally scorned. Power is a game. And to play this game successfully, duplicity is the key: to win...
Published on July 4 2004 by C. Middleton


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May be unethical, but it's true and it works, April 28 2004
This review is from: The 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
I am not earning over a million bucks a year so I might not be qualified to judge the value of the book. However, as somebody in his late thirties and always stuck in the middle of world class big corps, I can tell just knowing the laws can greatly improve your ability to defend against arrows shooting at your back.
For your easy reference, the laws are:-
1. Never outshine the master
2. Never put too much trust in friends, learn how to use enemies
3. Conceal your intentions
4. Always say less than necessary
5. So much depends on reputation - guard it with your life
6. Court attention at all cost
7. Get others to do the work for you, but always take the credit
8. Make other people come to use - use bait if necessary
9. Win thru your actions, neer thru argument
10. Infection: Avoid the unhappy and unlucky
11. Learn to keep people dependent on you
12. Use selective honesty and generosity to disarm your victim
13. When asking for help, appeal to people's self interest, never to their mercy or gratitude
14. Pose as a friend, work as a spy
15. Crush your enemy totally
16. Use absence to increase respect and honor
17. Keep others in suspended terror: cultivate an air of unpredictability
18. Do not build fortresses to protect yourself - isolation is dangerous
19. Know who you are dealing with - do not offend the wrong person
20. Do not commit to anyone
21. Play a sucker to catch a sucker - seem dumber than your mark
22. Use the surrender tactic: transform weakness into power
23. Concentrate your forces
24. Play the perfect courtier
25. Re-create yourself
26. Keep your hands clean
27. Play on people's need to believe to create cultlike following
28. Enter action with boldness
29. Plan all the way to the end
30. Make your accomplishments seem effortless
31. Control the options: get others to play with the cards you deal
32. Play to people's fantasies
33. Discover each man's thumbcrew
34. Be royal in your own fashion; act like a king to be treated like one
35. Master the art of timing
36. Disdain things you cannot have: ignoring them is the best revenge
37. Create compelling spectacles
38. Think as you like but behave like others
39. Stir up waters to catch fish
40. Despise the free lunch
41. Avoid stepping into a great man's shoes
42. Strike the shepherd and the sheep with scatter
43. Work on the hearts and minds of others
44. Disarm and infuriate with the mirror effect
45. Preach the need for change, but never reform too much at once
46. Never appear too perfect
47. Do not go past the mark you aimed for: in victory, learn when to stop
48. Assume formlessness
I hope you wont find the above "laws" too repugnant. Anyway, this book is well written with plenty of lively and interesting examples or stories. An excellent read for both leisure and self improvement, I must say. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Only thing you cannot get in life..., July 12 2004
By 
Shola Abidoye (Stockholm, Sweden & East Coast, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
...is something for nothing.
Yes, it is possible to achieve financial success and political power using the laws in this book, but at what cost? I have read extensively on the principles that successful, powerful people both past and present have used to access power. The greatest people of all time have realized that unlike what Mr. Greene suggests, real, sustainable power comes from within--it cannot be had be had through the manipulation of external conditions, i.e. effects not causes. The most powerful people (some who used their power for good, others for not so good), accessed the power we all have WITHIN us.
My analysis has demonstrated to me that the only people who are able to become very powerful in business, politics and socially and yet still have excellent health, great relationships and above all PEACE OF MIND, accessed the power within.
I believe that all those who want to rise to positions of power and authority (and enjoy the associated benefits of such) yet still maintain good friendships, good marriages, have good health and peace of mind, should spend more time accessing the power within because this is the only power than enables one to "have it all".
This book was good because it enables those who live by certain ethical principles to identify and protect themselves against those ideas that are discussed (and very likely used) by many readers of this book.
I would recommend reading Joseph Murphy's book Power of The Subconscious Mind for a better understanding of the true source of power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read in spirit of the "Screwtape Letters", March 15 2004
By 
Buck Rogers (Framingham, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
In one's life, you're better off following the teachings of Moses, Jesus, or Buddha to gain long-term happiness. But the sad fact is, many people live by a very different set of rules, and while most of these folks eventually self-destruct, they can inflict severe damage on our personal and professional lives in the process.
48 Rules of Power is a good primer for learning how these people think. I've spotted a number of similar books in the Business section (like "Career Warfare" and classics like the "Art of War") of my local bookseller, but none put things quite as succinctly as this one. In today's predatory work culture, with good jobs (read: jobs that let you own a home and pay all the bills month to month with a little left over) becoming harder and harder to find, you almost certainly will be the target of these techniques at some point. A friend once made an innocent and extraordinarily minor faux pas at an office Christmas party, and had a homicidal CEO attempt to destroy his future using methods as varied as slander and identity theft, all done through middle manager proxies to keep his own hands clean. You need to read books like these to know how too many people at the top think. But don't live out some of these rules in real life (e.g., crush your enemy completely) - there'll always be someone who does it better, and you will get crushed. Martha Stewart got hers, so don't think you're going to smash people and live to tell the tale. Reality simply doesn't work that way - and even if you survive professionally, the spiritual rot and personal decay will leave you an isolated, paranoid wreck. Read this book in the spirit of C.S. Lewis' Screwtape Letters, in which a master demon gives advice to a protege on how to destroy mortals. Learn how to spot people who live like this - and then stay very, very far away. Jesus said, "Be wise as serpents but innocent as doves." This book, read in the right spirit, will help you with both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Negative strategies to attain success..., July 4 2004
By 
C. Middleton (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
In our world of political correctness and appearances, where society is depicted as fair, democratic, at times altruistic and transparent, the reality of the situation is far different. And as Greene proposes, no one wants to be seen as power hungry, and those that do, are generally scorned. Power is a game. And to play this game successfully, duplicity is the key: to win power, we must, on the surface, at least appear to be fair, altruistic and transparent, however we must scheme, manipulate, deceive, charm and seduce, if we are to get what we want...to achieve power, as Napoleon suggested, we should use an iron fist with a velvet glove, smiling as we stab our opponents in the back. Attaining power is war, though according to Greene, a civilized war.
Any person with an essential good nature should find this book a little disturbing. The message from Greene is clear - living the virtuous life is the road to failure and powerlessness. Appealing to the better angels of our natures is a lost cause and will get us nowhere but the bottom of the food chain. In other words, "nice guys finish last." The only way to the top is through treachery, seduction, observing others' weaknesses to then play on those weaknesses to your advantage. Greene's advice is basically a negative strategy to power and success. And to be sure, there are other positive strategies out there to attain power and success without resorting to deception and covert manipulation. But none are presented here.
That said, understanding the 48 laws presented here, at least will make us aware of the depths some people will go to in order to get what they desire. In this regard, this text is worth the time, energy and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money!, March 12 2003
By 
This review is from: The 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
This must have been my most disappointing buy of these last few years. Greene's techniques are all focussed on using people's weaknesses, on creating confusion and being selective with the truth (lying). I find his approach negative and the book depressing. To create win-win situations and be a lasting leader, better read 'Getting to Yes' by Roger Fisher and William Ury. Follow Greene's advice and you might be in power but not admired and with very few friends...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT BOOK FOR THOSE ALLOWED TO BEHEAD SUBORDINATES, Jan. 1 2004
This review is from: The 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
Robert Greene has done an excellent job of distilling how power works at the macro level, among great generals, statesmen, larger-than-life seducers, and even top CEOs at Fortune 500 companies. But most of us do not experience power in the way that is presumed by these examples. Most of us experience a much more fluid, shifting, and consensus-based form of power among people whom we must work with over and over again over many years and cannot afford to treat as disposable. This book is of limited value for understanding power in such normal, everyday situations where those exercising power lack the ability to behead, poison, or even to fire those with whom they work.
The book works very well as a history of how absolute power has been accumulated, preserved, and lost. It works much less well as an set of instructions for how to exercise influence in a world where power is much more diffuse and unstable than it is in almost any of the examples that the author relies on as the basis for his "laws."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cynical, yes...but Realistic, too., Feb. 17 2004
By 
Wallace Depp (in the California High Desert) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
If gaining power means using trickery, cunning and deceipt, then this book is the roadmap. In reading other reviews, I see that many are struck by the 'evil' that is obvioius in much of what Greene advocates here. He uses fascinating historical examples and quotations in support of his philosophies; like them or not, they lessons are hard to refute. It's just that they are distasteful. This is a cynical book. But there is a fine line between being cynical and realistic: this book is both. Five stars for depth, research, and an interesting take on the darker side of humanity; that doesn't mean you have to adopt it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must own business title, Aug. 10 2007
This review is from: The 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
This title makes you pump your fist and feel like Caeser in his prime. An alternate title could be the Devil's Guide to Success. Anyone who has ever felt tired of being manipulated and played by smooth words (and discovering it far too late), will tear through these pages. It is a clear bombshell into analyzing effective influence and deception, via lessons learned from recent to centuries past. Psychological warfare in the business world is a very real thing, and you can either uses the tools to your advantage, or get taken to the cleaners. The choice is yours, and this book will break down every facet in great detail. The author writes with good intentions, and arms you with protecting yourself from being a victim, and selectively using the skills to your advantage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as scientific as taxonomy, May 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
People seek power for many reasons - furthering their own cause, to claim a name among those around them, just as a game, whatever. That the authors have taken power seeking as a task that is discussed without touching upon whether or not you should do it shows how objective the authors have been in dealing with this topic. Thousands of areas of the universe we live in have previously been dealt with like this and have matured into sciences. Anybody wants to bring up the why's of nuclear science here?
The individual laws themselves are mostly readily apparent to anyone who gives things two seconds of thought. But the way in which they are discussed makes this book a classic. Time and again I am stupefied by books which simply take the 3000 years or so of recorded history and dig examples form them to show how we can learn from it. This book is typical of them. The examples bring out the essence of the laws very well, though, occasionally you might wonder why the authors bring up the same characters repeatedly. It doesn't really matter however, since the point is not how different people observed or transgressed the different laws of power but the observance and the transgression themselves.
One brought up to believe in the "moral" principles taught by the various religions of the world may find the laws completely "amoral". However, like quite a few examples in the book illustrate, the road to glory is always lined in red. Whatever your causes are, you need power to further them. Just like the proverbial knife that can be used to cut a finger or a cake, use the laws at your discretion.
Take a look at the 48 laws(posted in one of the other reviews or by taking a look at the book). If you can spend 2 minutes on, say, 5 randomly selected laws, figure out why the law could work and not feel guilty about applying it in your pursuits, then this book is for you. It really drives home the points by way of examples and further explaining of why the laws work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 49th law, March 21 2004
By 
David A. Robertson "drob29sn" (Joliet, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
First, I am buying four more copies of this book for the children I work with. They all believe they have the power to become CEO because their university degree in Engineering and 6 Sigma black belt makes it so. My disparaging and sarcastic chortles only serve to confuse and frighten them. These copies will be my "25th anniversary being a Dilbert idiot" gift. I enjoyed Robert Greene's book very much and found the pro and con fable format of the laws very interesting. This format added greatly to the depth of the explanations. The bottom line of the book - this is the way humans have been, are, and will be - here are the examples - deal with it. The 49th law should be to willingly experience the other 48 (as an instigator or target). Even if you only experience a handful you will obtain profound knowledge to help define your morals and ethics (well OK chief, what is good and evil anyway? Are we born with it?). Or, if nothing else, get a good dose of common sense. How does someone get the exposure to have the experiences? How does someone handle fire without being burned? Krikey! Believe as I did twenty some years ago that all they wanted me to do as a wet nosed, farm fresh, aerospace engineer was design and test parts. I thought I was going to work with Einstein but got Edison instead (law #7 so true). In any event Robert Greene's book has been a good, but belated, scolding for me. By not understanding (just) law #1 cost me one job in my career and significant personal grief - with no long term value or benefit. Your brain is wired up to make you act human - Mr. Greene's book is appendix A to the instruction manual. Anyway, the three laws of thermodynamics - well there's laws for yah smarty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 48 Laws of Power
The 48 Laws of Power by Robert Greene (Paperback - Sept. 7 2000)
CDN$ 24.00 CDN$ 17.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews