Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Running River
I happened upon this series by accident. I enjoy historical mysteries and thrillers so the book was a good bet. I don't like reviewing plots as I hate having the story given away and won't do that for others. I will tell you that the book is well and smoothly written, a real pleasure to read. The plot is engaging and the mystery continues even after the killer is...
Published on July 14 2010 by Dave and Joe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great historical setting with the interwar years as a backdrop to a serial murder's canvas.
This was my first Rennie Airth novel and it was an engaging read. I enjoyed the author's detailed and crafted writing and plan to pick up another of his books in the near future.
Published 9 months ago by Rickjcross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Great historical setting with the interwar years as a backdrop to a serial murder's canvas., Sept. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was my first Rennie Airth novel and it was an engaging read. I enjoyed the author's detailed and crafted writing and plan to pick up another of his books in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Running River, July 14 2010
By 
Dave and Joe (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I happened upon this series by accident. I enjoy historical mysteries and thrillers so the book was a good bet. I don't like reviewing plots as I hate having the story given away and won't do that for others. I will tell you that the book is well and smoothly written, a real pleasure to read. The plot is engaging and the mystery continues even after the killer is revealed. I enjoyed the book right to the last page. If you like mysteries, history and a thrill ride - I think you'll like the book. I've already moved on to the next in the series, I came to care for the characters and was please to know that I could meet them again in the pages of the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Survival takes many forms, Sept. 17 2007
By 
Jennifer Cameron-Smith "Expect the Unexpected" (ACT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: River of Darkness (Paperback)
The setting for this novel is a post World War I Britain: still reeling from the combined effects of war and the influenza epidemic of 1918.

A local family in Surrey has been massacred in what appears to be a robbery gone wrong. Enter Inspector John Madden, a veteran of the trenches, who has lost his wife and young daughter to in the influenza epidemic.

This is Rennie Airth's debut novel, and provides an insight into the emotional after effects of war and personal loss together with an exploration of then contemporary psychiatric theory to try to understand, explain and predict the killer's behaviour.

Well developed characters and tight plotting make this an enjoyable, albeit suspenseful, read.

Highly recommended

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars River Of Darkness/A Friendly Favorite, Sept. 3 2001
By 
"friendly3220" (Whitehall, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: River of Darkness (Mass Market Paperback)
I was captivated by John Madden of Scotland Yard, a damaged
veteran of WWI, the sinister killer and most especially Madden's
love interest, Dr. Helen Blackwell. Fine romantic descriptions
of their passion for each other amidst the sinister deceptions
of the villain. Indeed, John Madden was a lucky dog! I'm trying
to locate the author's two earlier works, Snatch, and Once a
Spy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious river of tedium, May 26 2004
By 
Peter LaPrade (worcester ma) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: River of Darkness (Mass Market Paperback)
Rennie Airth's "River of Darkness" is an ambitious book. it wants to be a good psychological thriller while also being a good post World War I novel. Well, that fails. The psychology is sound, as the hero, John Madden, learns of what could be driving the killer. Madden is a haunted widower who is also scarred mentally from war. His love interest is also scarred in her own way, and she is also unconviningly forward with Madden. It seems so out of place. The history here is the best part. Airth does get the zeitgeist of 1920s Britain right. His characters, on the other hand, are flat and boring. The killer, who we meet early, is a one-trick pony. That really isn't interesting. Predictable maiden-in-distress as climax, and very predictable ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine English Crime Novel, March 28 2002
This review is from: River of Darkness (Mass Market Paperback)
Well-plotted with romantic characters. Set after the First World War in rural England without being stodgy. Would make a great A&E Mystery mini-series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical English Mystery, Aug. 17 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: River of Darkness (Mass Market Paperback)
I have been reading mysteries for over 35 years and happened upon this one at Amazon.com through a book list recommendation. After finishing this book I'm looking for anything else this author has written. I want to know more about Inspector Madden's past, present and future. His setting in post WWI England is a window to a time not so long ago but forgotten in this techno-world we live in today. While I am quite comfortable living in today, I am curious about this period of time and the attitudes of a people who survived being bombed in two major wars. One has to respect the courage of a people who picked up their lives and "got on with it". So you're getting more than an English whodoneit...but you won't be disappointed in the mystery either. There is more than the usual graphic detail but in order to be truly appalled and terrified by the mind of the killer, you need to look through Madden's eyes and see the horror of a man turned monster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Mystery - Well Done, July 6 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: River of Darkness (Mass Market Paperback)
Superb characters, excellent atmosphere, and fine writing highlight this wonderful English mystery. The shadow of WWI hangs heavy over this story of psychological suspense and the pain of the survivors is thoughtfully addressed. A sensitive, exciting, and immensely interesting novel that will not disappoint. First Rate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Book., May 28 2001
By 
Patrick M. (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: River of Darkness (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book because I was looking for something a little different from the action/suspense novels I typically read. Post WWI England setting, a Scotland Yard inspector, I figured I could expect a modern Sherlock Holmes or some stuffy intellectual mystery scenario.
Boy, was I wrong. If you are a fan of action, this book has more than enough for your tastes. There's violence, sex, intrigue, and one truly haunting psychotic killer. And memorable characters. From inspector Madden to the young constable Billy Styles and Dr. Helen Blackwell, all with fantastic little personal quirks that make them all the more human.
If you are squeamish, you might want to skip over some of the murder scene depictions. The language doesn't bother me but there's some pretty graphic stuff here. It helps to reveal the depravity of the killer, but if you can't take it, just turn the page.
One odd observation is that Airth is rather fond of the exclamation point. I've never seen so many in one book. They're everywhere. It works though. Keeps the tone strangely jovial, even with the undercurrents of theoretical criminal psychology and the brooding inspector Madden's determination to find his man. Lots of subtle humor in the narrative as well.
If you're an adreneline junkie, you shouldn't let this book pass you by, but it should appeal to readers of all kinds. Its one of those stories that you get really involved in. You never want it to end. And when it does, you want more. Can't wait to see what Rennie Airth comes up with next, and I hope he keeps his promise to bring back the character of Inspector Madden. I strongly suggest you buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surpasses Anything Else Published in 1999, May 17 2001
By 
P. Bigelow (St. Louis, MO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: River of Darkness (Mass Market Paperback)
This Debut is set in 1921 Surrey. When a family and their servants are killed in their home in the Surrey countryside, Detective Inspector John Madden of Scotland Yard is assigned the task of finding the killer(s). The entire country is shocked at the multiple murders, a virtually unknown event at the time. Madden is baffled because he can't find a motive, the murderer left no clues at the scene and the press and his superiors are pressing for a quick arrest. With painstaking attention to every detail, Madden, slowly, but surely, begins to unravel the mystery of who killed the family. As the investigation proceeds, Madden has a sense of urgency because he becomes convinced that the killer(s) will kill again and soon.
This is an excellent read, even for those who don't care for procedurals as being too slow moving, because you'll find yourself staying up late to finish just one more chapter. Madden is a very interesting character - flawed because of his experiences during the Great War - but not so flawed as to be insensitive in either his investigation or his relationship with the other characters in the book. The plot is ever changing with several interesting twists and turns. While the history is present, it is not the main thrust of the story - the solving of the multiple murders before the killer(s) kill again is the story here. There are two engaging minor characters - Constable Billy Styles, assigned to his first murder investigation, and Helen Blackwell, the local doctor who is called in to verify that the family is dead. There is some talk that this is the first in a trilogy featuring these characters. One can only hope this is true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

River of Darkness
River of Darkness by Rennie Airth (Mass Market Paperback - 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews