Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great depiction of life on the streets
I thought this was a fantastic novel providing an excellent unglamorised vision of life on the streets. There are certain passages that describe the main character's day-to-day life that seem so realistic that you feel uncomfortable just reading it. The naivety of Link (the main character) as he sets out to survive in a hard new world provides Swindells with an excellent...
Published on Oct. 7 2002 by Justin Winton

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, NOT!!
This book was a bit boring. The switch between the two narrators was not at all confusing. Using bad language was a good writing technique because it emphasize that Shelter (the murderer) was mad. It includes big words like; scrounger, circumstances and distinctions. This may cause difficulty for the younger generation and may also be disturbing.
The author writes...
Published on June 30 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A great depiction of life on the streets, Oct. 7 2002
By 
Justin Winton (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stone Cold (Audio Cassette)
I thought this was a fantastic novel providing an excellent unglamorised vision of life on the streets. There are certain passages that describe the main character's day-to-day life that seem so realistic that you feel uncomfortable just reading it. The naivety of Link (the main character) as he sets out to survive in a hard new world provides Swindells with an excellent tool to show just how tough an existence this can be. Swindells also deals with broader issues concerning community attitudes to the homeless. The way people react to being approached by homeless people.
This is made exciting through the use of a thrilling story about an ex-soldier who is stalking and murdering homeless people. A sort of one-man mission to rid the streets of this "filth". When Link becomes his tartget the reader is swept along to a thrilling conclusion. This combination of suspense and social comment make for an entertaining and thought-provoking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stone Cold, June 30 2004
By 
I thought Cold Stone was a good book,it could have been better in places. I found the "Daily Routines" rather amusing because the are writen in an whitty way by the auther, Robert Swindells. The "Daily Routines" are about a murder called shelter. A quote from Daily Routine Orders 4:
"I have aquired a cat. this was my finishing touch.I can't abide the arse-licking, hair- scattering beasts myself, but you have to admite that there's something reassuring about a homewith a cat in it. A cat speaks of warmth, comfort, placid domesticity. A man who owns cat can't possibly mean anybody harm, can he?"
This probable one of the most amusing parts of the book. As shelter is a murder who owns a cat. i would recommend the book to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, NOT!!, June 30 2004
By A Customer
This book was a bit boring. The switch between the two narrators was not at all confusing. Using bad language was a good writing technique because it emphasize that Shelter (the murderer) was mad. It includes big words like; scrounger, circumstances and distinctions. This may cause difficulty for the younger generation and may also be disturbing.
The author writes the book in a style that I've never met. He changes narrators often. This helps the reader to understand how both characters feel about the situation.
To conclude I feel that this book was relatively boring, but I have learned how hard it is to live on the streets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars bed time anyone?, March 12 2005
By 
me (sydeny AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Puffin Essentials Stone Cold (Paperback)
i thought that this book was great! (IF YOU WANT TO FALL ASLEEP) i just finished reading this book for school (what a surprise that its boring, as all things for english are) not only was this book BORING its was so pradictable. like "oh i could have never guessed that was going to happen" like who calles themselves "link" or "shelter" like hello if your going to change your name at least make up a good one. TOTAL RUBISH!!! although im really not surprised as this smelly old book is like 50 years old (or 12 or sum thin like that but 50 sounds betta!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars a new genre!, March 19 2004
By A Customer
this is quite a good read, although i disliked the genre.
i read a lot of books, but i have never come across a book like this. it seems that a school assignment can bring you to a new type of book. i think that the two person narration is confusing! i had no idea what the two people were going on about!
but in the end, it was worthwhile- it is an interesting read even though i couldnt read it all in one sitting- it was too boring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Stone Cold, Sept. 17 2002
By 
Nick (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stone Cold (Audio Cassette)
Stone Cold is a book about a boy living on the streets called Link and an ex - army guy called shelter is looking out for any homeless person and kills them. When Links only friend, Ginger, goes missing link is frightened that he msy be taken away too.
This book is an ok book but in some places it can b really borin!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars its a good book, June 30 2004
By A Customer
i liked the book. it had this thing that some books aint got. it would be a good film. abit short but it could be one of those short, good films. maybe with special features like in lord of the rings. anywho, i liked the book. im 14 really. i read it in my english lessons. it was fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!! this book rocks., July 6 2004
Stone cold taught me how to kill you just club someone over the head with a tin of food when there not looking and they just keel over dead!!! it really works!! EVESCUM sucks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Puffin Essentials Stone Cold
Puffin Essentials Stone Cold by Robert Swindells (Paperback - Feb. 1 2005)
CDN$ 8.99
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews