Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Context and Censorship
The key to understanding "Haroun and the Sea of Stories" is to look at the context during which it was written. Salman Rushdie was in hiding, and on the run, after a fatwa had been placed on his head for writing the Satanic Verses. He was away from his wife and child (the latter for whom the book was written).
Essentially, "Haroun and the Sea of Stories" is...
Published on Feb. 8 2004 by Artnet Project

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but a little too fanciful.
I've heard about Salman Rushdie. Both good and bad. The only way to find out the truth for myself was to read one of his books. Being the naturally lazy man that I am, I grabbed the smallest book of his I could find. Little did I know that this book was a fairy tale, and not something that would rouse Islamic fundamentalists.
Anyway, I already purchased it and...
Published on Nov. 7 2002 by sporkdude


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Context and Censorship, Feb. 8 2004
By 
The key to understanding "Haroun and the Sea of Stories" is to look at the context during which it was written. Salman Rushdie was in hiding, and on the run, after a fatwa had been placed on his head for writing the Satanic Verses. He was away from his wife and child (the latter for whom the book was written).
Essentially, "Haroun and the Sea of Stories" is a story about censorship. The protagonist participates in a war between the forces of speech and the forces of silence. There are two events which precipitate this war: 1) Princess Batcheet, of the land of storytellers (Gup), is kidnapped by the armies of the land of silence (Chup), and 2) the Ocean of the Streams of Stories, the source of all the stories in the world, is poisoned by the ruler of Chup.
The people of Gup are faced with a major decision. They only have resources to fight one battle and the question is often asked: "What is more important? The Story? Or the Storyteller?" Is the story more important than the ability to tell it and the person who is communicating it?
What is even more poignant in this tale is that Rushdie has made the Princess an unlikable character: she is ugly, has a screechy voice, and makes improper, invaluable, or disrespectful comments when she speaks. Rushdie was Princess Batcheet at the time this book was written. The price on his head was placed over improper, invaluable, or disrespectful comments (as viewed by some populations in the world) he had written in the Satanic Verses.
In the end, both the person and the stories are saved and Rushdie makes his crucial point: one could not exist without the other. Even though the princess is disliked, she is saved because all ideas must have the chance to be expressed- even ideas that have been deemed "bad" or "dangerous". Censorship kills the story and will eventually kill mankind.
Rushdie illustrates that freedom of speech is integral to the survival and evolution of our human culture. In a time when our world is becoming increasingly paranoid about expression and is enacting stricter laws to regulate the dissemination of ideas (perfect example: the fallout over Janet Jackson's Superbowl appearance), Rushdie's "Haroun and the Sea of Stories" stands out as a beacon to those who believe in freedom. This is such an inspirational book for children, and adults, to read. Rushdie is a man who risked his life to share his thoughts with the world- and he lived to tell a story about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reading for Pleasure, July 10 2004
By A Customer
I had to read this book for a humanities lit class. I found myself really enjoying it. It is a really excellent book. It kind of made me feel like a little kid. It is such a fantasy story, but it isn't written for kids. It was quite inspirational too, it made me feel like everything would be ok. I have recomended this book to two other people, they loved it too. I don't want to tell you any of the plot because it suprises you as you read it, but it is a really good book. One that I would recomend to anyone who asks what to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The dark forces of humanity can be defeated, Dec 17 2003
By 
This is a tale for all kinds of public. It sure is for children but to teach them in the most attractive way imaginable what grown-ups will understand at once. Society is divided between the people who want to be happy and the leaders who want to control them into unhappiness because unhappiness makes people controllable. Hence the fight of a child and his father to restore happiness in the world, and happiness comes from stories, tales, sagas, and all other imaginative adventures that help people be free in their minds and then strong enough to impose their freedom in society. In other words it is a tool to make people strong and satisfied. Of course one could see an allusion to the moslem world and the dark forces who try to control the minds of the people in that part of the world. But it is a universal story too because it is not much more different in our own part of the world where politicians are just comptrollers in chief of our spirits and brains and imaginations and creativities for their own selfish interest. Brilliant and to be read by all those who believe there is a possible world beyond the world of the narrow and selfcentered and egocentric and bureaucratic interest of the few who use the many to satisfy their greed for power, money and cannibalistic domination.
Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure for Un-Grownups, April 13 2003
By 
Tucker Lieberman (Waltham, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first Rushdie I have ever read. I had no idea what I was missing. Blending fantasy, science fiction, and satire in a visually stunning landscape, he gives us a blue-bearded Water Genie named Iff, a Hoopoe named Butt, and a range of people, places, and events governed by P2C2E (Processes Too Complicated To Explain).
Haroun bitterly asks his storyteller father, "What's the use of stories that aren't even true?" To compensate for this offense, he embarks on a fairytale journey where he learns how precious, rare, and powerful the human imagination is. The plot is similar to the movie The Never Ending Story, coupled with the literary traditions of Alice in Wonderland, the Phantom Tollbooth, and Willy Wonka.
The book was diverting enough to read on the bus yet underlying its entertainment value is a deadly serious subject. A boy's mother has just left him; his father has fallen from grace; the world is weeping and warring; and the little boy, Haroun, must decide "to be or not to be." He can bring peace to the planet with his powers of imagination. Can you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haroun and the sea of stories, March 11 2003
By 
Kenny (Washington D.C) - See all my reviews
The book I read was Haroun and the Sea of Stories. It was written by Salman Rushidie. The main characters in the book were Rashid Khalif(The Shaw of Blaw), Haroun Khalif, Iff, Butt the Hoope, Khattam Shud, Mali the Gardener, Bagha and Goody the Plentimaw fish, Prince Bob, Princess Batcheat, The Chupwalas and Blabbermouth. The book was very simple and I like Rushdie's style of writing. It flowed very smoothly. What I found quite appealing was how sometimes the sentences would rhyme, for example "All this bad taste! Too much dirt! Swimming in the ocean starts to hurt! Call me Bagha, this is Goopy, excuse our rudeness we feel rather droopy. Eyes fell rheumy! Throat feels sore! When were better, we'll talk some more. (Pg. 85) The use of humor, allusions, and satire throughout the book kept my attention for instances. "In it was a young woman with long, long hair with a circlet of gold and singing, please excuse, the ugliest soundest singing I have ever heard. In addition her teeth her nose..." (Pg. 102) I assume he was implying that her singing was as ugly she was .
In my opinion the theme of the book is "Stand up for what you believe in no matter what it takes." Ever since Haroun found out that his dad had lost his story telling powers, he never gave up on finding ways to make him get his powers back. He used extreme measures to retrieve the story telling powers for his father, like fighting a war for people he had just met because the Chupwalas were the ones who were polluting the sea of stories. He also fought this war so Iff the Water Jeannie would turn back on the story telling water and Rashid could tell his stories once again. Being a person who believes in the principle of chasing after your dreams and what you believe in, applaud Haroun for his actions. I think the author did an excellent job in portraying the theme of this book. I could relate and identify with Haroun because I would have done the same thing and would have made some of the same choices. Such as the choice to split up, Haroun took the shadow Khattam Shud and Rashid took the real one.
I would undoubtedly recommend this book. This charming masterpiece has the potential to be a timeless classic. It's a book for anyone who loves a good story. From the very beginning it pulls the reader in and engages them in the story. There is never a dull spot in this story it's funny and there's a battle between good and evil. What more could a reader want. I would recommend this book to readers from ages 14 and up, it's written in such simple terms anyone would understand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Celebrating the magic of fiction, Jan. 19 2003
Literature often transcends pre-set boundaries of category or genre. Prime examples include the chronicles of Alice and Gulliver originally conceived to satirise society and later metamorphosed into children's classics, and more recently the popularity of the Harry Potter novels among adult readers. 'Haroun and the sea of stories' could be placed in a similar category. It can be read as a fairy tale or as a satire that addresses everyday problems, narrates social conditions and broaches political issues.
Regarded by readers and critics alike as one of the master storytellers of the present day literary world, it is not surprising that Mr.Rushdie has conjured up a fantasy based on the world or rather the ocean of stories, named after the ancient Indian treatise Kathasaritsagar.
The protagonist Haroun Khalifa is a young boy who leads a happy middle class life distinct from the rich, poor, 'super-rich' and 'super-poor' people inhabiting a nameless sad city.
Haroun's father Rashid Khalifa is a famous story teller - the Shah of Blah with fabled oceans of notions, who often refers to the streams of story water he drinks to keep up the supply of wondrous tales that pour forth from within him. Haroun takes this as an eccentric statement by his father, and soon discovers that the ocean of stories indeed exists, and that only he could save it from total annihilation.
Haroun's world is suddenly taken apart when his mother elopes with their neighbour Mr.Sengupta, a mean clerk who had forever questioned the significance of Rashid's tales ('What's the use of stories that are not even true?') and Rashid loses his gift to spin wondrous yarns. When Rashid is summoned by a politician to campaign through his stories in the Valley of K, the two decide to risk taking the trip which turns out to be both hilarious and fascinating.
On board a peacock-shaped houseboat on the 'Dull Lake', Haroun discovers to his surprise and horror that his father is going to cancel his subscription to the streams of the Story Ocean. After a squabble with the water genie Iff who has come to disconnect the story tap, Haroun manages to get a ride on the machine-hoopoe Butt to Kahani, the second moon of the earth that contains the ocean of stories.
Kahani also contains two diametrically opposite worlds, the land of Gup characterised by perpetual light inhabited by the Guppies who love to talk, and the land of Chup that is permanently dark and cold and is home to the Chupwallas who worship Bezaban, the prince of silence. The Guppies and the Chupwallas are mortal enemies, and when Haroun lands on Kahani, there is a terrible crisis looming on Gup - The cult master of Chup, Khattam-Shud has kidnapped the Guppie princess Batcheat intending to sacrifice her to Bezaban and worse, has started polluting the story ocean to destroy it completely.
Accompanied by Iff, Butt, Mali the floating gardener and a pair of loopy fishes called Goopy and Bagha, Haroun sets forth to save the ocean. The rest of the story deals with how he succeeds in this endeavour and is rewarded with a 'synthesised' happy ending courtesy P2C2E (Processes Too Complicated To be Explained).
The text sparkles with witticisms concealing thoughts, and thoughts that evoke spontaneous laughter. There is a lot of wordplay as can be expected from a Rushdie novel. The dialogues are characteristic of Mr. Rushdie's works, with the characters speaking peculiar dialects of Indianised English - Oneeta Sengupta's consoling words to the Khalifas, the conversation of Butt/Buttoo, the rhyming banter of Goopy and Bagha, the foolish babble of Prince Bolo, the songs of Mali and the petty quarrels between the mud-men and mud-women in Buttoo's bus are sure to evoke laughter in even the most curmudgeonly reader.
A beautiful passage describing the dance of the shadow warrior Mudra who speaks through gestures (Abhinaya) conveys that duality exists even in Kahani, and that creatures of silence and darkness could be as charming as the children of light and speech. So is the abstraction describing how emotions influence the atmosphere, with miserable thoughts causing the atmosphere to stink and brighter ones clearing out the smog. The ridiculous antics of silly Prince Bolo to save Princess Batcheat seem justifiable when he is described as being just like love - dashing, gallant and a little foolish.
Above all these, the main theme of the book is brought forth implicitly - That story-tellers cannot be silenced, and the ocean of stories would continue to surge with its many threads mixing and intermingling perpetually to generate fresh stories that would keep flowing. Looking a little deeper, it conveys that the magic of fiction has the power to soothe, restore, edify and sustain the harried, quotidian protagonists of everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Fairy Tale for All Ages, Dec 18 2002
By 
A.B. (Tulsa, Oklahoma) - See all my reviews
This was the first Rushdie book that I have read, but I am very impressed. He has an amazing knack for storytelling. It was evident that he had a plan in mind when he began writing the book rather than just letting the story meander without purpose like some authors are prone to do. This is the story of a boy named Haroun who tries to help his father, a storyteller, regain his ability to tell stories. His father had always told him that his storytelling abilities came from something called the "Sea of Stories". Haroun was surpised to find that this was, in fact a real sea located on the earth's elusive 2nd moon. Haroun travels there and is acquainted with magnificent characters such as the Water Genie, the flying mechanical bird the Hoopoe, the Shadow Warrior (who's shadow has a personality of it's own), Pages that look like pages. The book wouldn't be complete without a villain: Kattam Shud. It's the age-old story of good versus evil with a new twist. It's also a fanciful explanation of where good stories come from and how good stories get tainted. The book is quick-paced and can be read in 3 to 4 short sittings. It's not so much suspenseful as it is refreshing and enjoyable. However, why does Rushdie use apostrophes instead of quotation marks during dialogue?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beatiful Modern Fairy Tale for All Ages, Dec 13 2002
By 
A.B. (Tulsa, Oklahoma) - See all my reviews
Haroun's father, a storyteller, loses his ability to tell stories. For years, Haroun's father has told him that the wonderful stories came from drinking water from "the Sea of Stories". A faucet for this water (invisible to the naked eye) is installed exactly 6 inches above the basin of the sink. However, this seemed to be yet another fanciful story. Upon a chance run-in with his father's Water Genie, Haroun finds that the "Sea of Stories" does actually exist on the earth's second moon (that has eluded detection by being very fast). He goes on an amazing adventure to this second moon in search of a way to restore his father's ability to tell stories. This moon is full of colorful characters like the Shadow Warrior (who's shadow has a personality of it's own), the flying Hoopoe, Pages who are actually shaped like pages, and an ugly princess with a doting fiancé. And the story wouldn't be complete without a villain: Khattam-Shud. The story that Rushdie tells is the classic story of good versus evil (with a refreshing twist). It's a story about stories. The book is tightly crafted; everything has meaning. This was the first Rushdie book that I have read, and I vow to read more. He writes with beautiful simple prose. Although not suspenseful, this book was highly readable. It is pleasurable for it's simplicity and well-told story. It can easily be read in 3 to 4 short sittings. HAROUN & THE SEA OF STORIES is destined to be a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sea of Imagination, July 3 2002
By 
"Haroun" was truly delightful and imaginitive, filled with witty puns and odd characters, plus loads of humor. Its warm-hearted, quirky, fun tone reminded me of Norton Juster's "The Phantom Tollbooth." I especially enjoyed the (hilarious at times) diction, choice of words, and imagery that made Haroun and his companions-- Iff the Water Genie, the Plentimaw fishes, and Mali the floating gardener, among others-- come alive, however strange they may have been. The intertwined storylines seem like many age-old tales spun together, (figuratively, in much the same fashion as the book's fantastic Streams of Story where stories are 'stored,' mingling and bubbling and twisting to create new), yet it is all refreshingly different and exciting! I was also surprised at the depth of interesting symbolism far transcending the normal good vs. evil and superficially-seeming wordplay. This is definitely a wonderful story, whether you would like to make exciting connections and revelations about symbolic theory, or are just in the mood for a bit of energizing light reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From seclusion and heartbreak, a joyous tale, July 24 2001
By 
Algernon D'Ammassa (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This delightful story becomes indomitable when you consider it was written while the author was in seclusion, constantly moved from one dwelling to another by British security in order to protect him from assassins.
In 1989, THE SATANIC VERSES came out and was answered with riots in several countries and a death sentence by the Ayatollah Khomeini, who was then the spiritual leader of the Islamic Republic of Iran. Rushdie spent several years in hiding. His marriage did not survive, and in the separation and divorce, Rushdie (an unwilling hermit) lost contact with his young son, Zafar. This novel, his first novel after SATANIC VERSES, is dedicated to his son.
The story is about a celebrated storyteller ("the shah of blah") who loses his talent for improvising stories when his wife leaves him. Haroun, his son, is unwillingly pulled into an adventure involving an arduous journey to the sea of stories to vanquish a powerful enemy and reclaim his father's gift of gab.
What is the force of evil in this story? Silence. An enforced silence. The quashing of language, fantasy, satire - even the truth itself. Something Rushdie was experiencing in an episode much darker and more terrifying than any of the events in this joyful fable.
There are plenty of allegories and light-hearted commentary woven into the tapestry. The braying and strident Princess Batcheat is a bit much to put up with - as are the people we must sometimes defend on principles such as freedom of expression.
Written beautifully, with a masterful feel for language punning in English and Hindustani. Try reading it out loud. This is suitable for the young dreamers in your family, but that is not to underestimate the maturity of this work. It could only have come out of Rushdie's experience at that time, an incomprehensible event with severe personal costs. Out of that sadness, he opened his mouth and something joyful and indomitable appeared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haroun And The Sea Of Stories
Haroun And The Sea Of Stories by Salman Rushdie (Paperback - Sept. 27 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews